Research Subject Guides: Asian American Studies: Get Started

Asian American Studies

UPDATE: Asian American Center has intern positions for the summer. Work study positions will be in person and shifts will take place at the AAC Annex, located in 405 Ell Hall.

Asian American Studies is part of the Asian Studies Program in the Department of Cultures, Societies and Global Studies

Asian American Center -- includes links to Student Groups, Activities and Student Resources
Faculty List by Regional Specialty (scroll down for Asian American)

DATABASE TRIALS
Please take the time to let us know your thoughts on these resources by completing the Evaluation Form. Your input will help us make library resource decisions.

Key Resources

Scholar OneSearch
Use Scholar One to search for books, articles, streaming video, streaming music, government publications, and more. To search only for books, e-books, and other local resources, select the Library Catalogs option.

Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, peer-reviewed articles and professional association publications, Abstracts and links to full text, about half are peer reviewed, covering all academic subjects.
CIAO Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
Courtesy of the Northeastern School of Law
Working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. 1991 to the present.
Economist This link opens in a new window
Weekly international news and business publication, The online edition features content from 1997 to the present.
Edited in London since 1843, The Economist is a weekly international news and business publication, offering clear reporting, commentary and analysis on world current affairs, business, finance, science and technology, culture, society, media and the arts. The online edition features content from 1997 to the present.
Audio and apps are not included in Northeastern's subscription.
Empire Online (Adam Matthew Digital) This link opens in a new window
Original primary source documents relating to Empire Studies, including decolonization, from libraries and archives around the world. Diaries, images, letters, records.
View nature and scope information.
Ethnic NewsWatch (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) full text newspapers, magazines and journals of American ethnic, minority and indigenous communities. Offers additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Use the Advanced Search to filter results to Asian/Pacific Islander or Multi-Ethnic.
Includes the Bay State Banner, an independent newspaper primarily geared toward the interests of Boston's African-American community, and the Boston Irish Reporter.
Foreign Office Files for China, 1919-1980 (Adam Matthew Digital) This link opens in a new window
This collection makes available all British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan between 1919 and 1980. Foreign Office Files is having technical difficulties at this time. If you are located on the Boston campus, please try this link for better service.
These formerly restricted British government documents, consisting of diplomatic dispatches, letters, newspaper cuttings, maps, reports of court cases, biographies of leading personalities, summaries of events and diverse other materials, provide unprecedented levels of detail into one of the most turbulent centuries of Chinese history.
Foreign Policy This link opens in a new window
Global news magazine providing insights and analysis as well as original reporting.
Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Courtesy of the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners and the Massachusetts Library System Current and historic biographies with links to full-text articles from hundreds of magazines and newspapers. Search by name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender. Some obituaries.
Gale In Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Courtesy of the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners and the Massachusetts Library System
Global Issues in Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events.
Gale in Context: U.S. History (Gale Cengage) This link opens in a new window
Courtesy of the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners and the Massachusetts Library System
Scholarly and professional journal articles and news, some encyclopedias and 4,000 primary source documents, covering U.S., colonial, and pre-Colonial times to the present.
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences, 2nd Edition (2015) This link opens in a new window
A source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broad, deep and scholarly. Comprehensive name and subject tagging, signed articles and references.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
One of the most trusted sources for scholarly books and historical journal backfiles. Beginning in 2023, JSTOR also includes Artstor images of art and primary source artifacts.
Most journals include extended historic backfiles and not current issues. The Northeastern Library also purchases individual e-book titles from JSTOR. The books are available chapter-by-chapter as PDFs.

Arts and Sciences IV content is available courtesy of the Northeastern School of Law Library.
Literature Resource Center (Gale Cengage) This link opens in a new window
Courtesy of the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners and the Massachusetts Library System
Provides full text biographical and critical articles about literary authors, together with critical reactions to their works and bibliographies for further research.
Includes cross-search of Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and the Dictionary of Literary Biography. Excellent starting place, but not exhaustive.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Detailed information about 6,000 journals and book series that cover literature, literary theory, dramatic arts, folklore, language, linguistics, pedagogy, rhetoric and composition, and the history of printing and publishing.
Forms the basis for the MLA Bibliography. Useful for finding a publishing venue for your work.
PAIS International plus Archive (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Public Affairs Information Service offers abstracts of scholarship and professional literature from 1915 to present. International in scope, broad range of social science topics. Includes links to full text where available for Northeastern-owned books, journal articles, conference proceedings, and many government publications.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full articles from scholarly journals in the humanities, including religion, literature, philosophy, cultural studies, women's studies, film and the arts. Includes the Journal of Asian American Studies.
Project MUSE Ebooks This link opens in a new window
A leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content. All e-books licensed by Northeastern are listed in Scholar OneSearch.
Project Syndicate This link opens in a new window
A unique source of opinion pages from news outlets around the world. Good for debate and argument essays or to research a range of views on current events.
Social Sciences Premium Collection (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and professional citations and abstracts with full text links in politics and public policy, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, information sciences and education. Professional society databases included.
Journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more, Social Sciences Premium includes

Sociology Database
Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
PAIS Index
Political Science Database
PolicyFile
Criminal Justice Database
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts
Library Science Database
Library & Information Science Abstracts
Education Database
ERIC
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts
Linguistics Database
Social Science Database
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
Web of Science, Core Collection 1975-present This link opens in a new window
Use for citation tracking, finding seminal literature, data visualizations, author alerts, institutional affiliations, and impact factors. LInks to full text for Northeastern-subscribed journals.
Includes:
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Science Citation Index
Social Science Citation Index
Book Citation Index (2005-present)
Conference Citation Index
Emerging Sources Citation Index
Current Chemical Reactions Index
Index Chemicus

Selected Freely Available Resources

News

California Digital Newspaper Collection
The Pacific Citizen with searchable digital archive
Sample: January 1942 issue

Museum of Chinese in America
Go for Broke Educational-- National Educational Center
What it Means to be Asian in America? The Lived Experiences and Perspectives of Asian American in their own Words.
Q&A: A behind-the-scenes look at Pew Research Center’s extensive new survey of Asian Americans
UMass Amherst Guide of Reparations in the United States--Historical Timeline of Reparations Payments Made From 1783 through 2022 by the United States Government, States, Cities, Religious Institutions, Universities, Corporations, and Communities
Reading Sa I Gu Online Archive of news and views of the 1992 L.A. Civil Unrest
Collective Memories Project: Founders of Asian American Studies and the Asian American Movement in Southern California -- interviews

Research Sources

Densho Encyclopedia
Densho Digital Repository
Archives & Special Collections at Northeastern University Library
Library of Congress -- resources include Asian American Pacific Islander Collection
Search the National Archives Catalog
Immigrant Research Library -- searchable collection of news, reports, infographics, briefs and events
sample: iCount: A Data Quality Movement for Asian Americans and Pacific islanders in Higher Education
Pew Research Center with publications such as Key facts about Asian American, a diverse and growing population

Media Resources
The first one is about Boston Chinatown!

Smithsonian Asian Pacific American Center video series:
We are not a Stereotype: Breaking Down Asian Pacific American Bias

be/longing: Asian Americans Now
Profiles of Asian American trailblazers from across the country in five stories of belonging and exclusion; resilience and hope; and solidarity in the face of hate.an Asian Pacific American Center is proud to present We are not a stereotype, a video

Asian American Studies : Get Started

Asian American Studies Librarian

Asian American Studies

UPDATE: Asian American Center has intern positions for the summer. Work study positions will be in person and shifts will take place at the AAC Annex, located in 405 Ell Hall.

Asian American Studies is part of the Asian Studies Program in the Department of Cultures, Societies and Global Studies

DATABASE TRIALS
Please take the time to let us know your thoughts on these resources by completing the Evaluation Form. Your input will help us make library resource decisions.

Key Resources

Selected Freely Available Resources

Asian American Studies : Get Started

Asian American Studies

UPDATE: Asian American Center has intern positions for the summer. Work study positions will be in person and shifts will take place at the AAC Annex, located in 405 Ell Hall.

Asian American Studies is part of the Asian Studies Program in the Department of Cultures, Societies and Global Studies

DATABASE TRIALS Please take the time to let us know your thoughts on these resources by completing the Evaluation Form. Your input will help us make library resource decisions.

Key Resources

Selected Freely Available Resources

DATABASE TRIALS
Please take the time to let us know your thoughts on these resources by completing the Evaluation Form. Your input will help us make library resource decisions.