Skip to main content

History: African History

A guide to Northeastern Library resources in history

Cambridge History of Africa

Specialized Resources

Primary Source Websites

Primary Sources on Africa

Abolition of the Slave Trade (Schomberg Center for Research in Black Culture

Africa: South of the Sahara (Stanford University)

Africa Focus (University of Wisconsin)

African Activists Archive Project (Michigan State University)

African Newspapers, 1800-1920  (NU Only) Over 40 online, full text historical newspapers from many African countries

African Online Digital Library (Michigan State University)

African Studies Center (University of Pennsylvania)

Ancient Egypt (University of Pennsylvania)

Atlantic Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Americas: A Visual Archive (University of Virginia)

Basel Mission Image Archive (University of Southern California)

Colonial History of French West Africa (West Chester University)

Empire Online (Adam Matthew). 

Giza Archives (Museum of Fine Arts: Boston)

History of the African National Congress and its document collections (African National Congress)

Histoire de la Colonisation Belge du Congo (CoBelCo Belgium)

Humphrey Winterton Collection of East African Photographs (Northwestern University)

Images of Empire (British Empire @ Commonwealth Museum via Bridgeman's)

International Historical Statistics   260 years of rich data from around the world.

Internet Africa History Sourcebook (Fordham University)

Memoria de Africa (Universidade de Aveiro)

Sixteenth-Twentieth Centure Maps of Africa (Northwestern University)

Slave Route Project (UNESCO)

South African History Online (Non-profit organization)

Tropenmuseum (Royal Tropical Institute: Amsterdam)

Transatlantic slave trade database (Emory University)

World Digital Library Resources on Africa (World Digital Library)

What are primary sources?

Primary sources are first-hand sources created at the time of a particular event or period.

Learn more about primary and secondary source research