News Sources
The boxes below identify tools for finding national, regional, state, and local news articles, newswires, and blogs. Also, scroll down to see the Westlaw Campus specialty collections on Civil Rights and COVID.
Check the National News box below, for the Washington Post which provides on-the-spot coverage of Supreme Court activities. Also, ProQuest Newsstreams and Access World News provide regional and local coverage in addition to national news.
This illustration from Access World News shows Illinois news coverage of the Amy Coney Barrett Supreme Court nomination.
National News
- Access World News (AWN)Domestic and international news coverage. Dates vary by title, but some sources go back to the late 1970’s. See some special AWN subsets referenced in other resource lists.
- New York Times CurrentFor current NYT articles, use this link.
- ProQuest NewsstreamsSelect "Newspaper Search" from the options above the search box.
- Wall Street JournalTo access WSJ, you'll be prompted to create an individual account.
- Washington PostWashington D.C.'s newspaper, with coverage of the city and region, national events, and coverage of federal government "inside-the-beltway" news. For off-campus access, please create an account and then follow these instructions (Opens in new window) to link our university subscription. Once registered, users can log in directly at www.washingtonpost.com.
Supreme Court News
- SCOTUSblogCurrent coverage of all aspects of the Court's work. Includes a number of useful resources, including links to news sites, blogs, and commentaries.
Legal News
Focuses on four civil rights areas: police conduct, unwarranted criminal prosecution, right to protest, and voting rights.
Provides links to federal and state statutes, federal and state court cases, administrative decisions, regulations, and Presidential proclamations and executive orders.
