Who's Who at Snell Library

  • Brian Greene is the head of our department. Patrons can be directed to Brian for any major policy concerns or if they request to speak to a manager or higher up. 

Data and Technology:

  • James Lee is the person to check with if someone is looking for library data or statistics.

Resource Sharing:

  • Molly Dupere is the head of Resource Sharing and is the point person for any issues regarding ILL.

  • Pamela Diaz is the Lending Coordinator and handles the lending side of Interlibrary loan, the materials we send to other schools. She is also the supervisor for Resource Sharing Assistants.

  • Jonathan Cazeau is the Borrowing Coordinator and handles borrowing materials from other libraries for Interlibrary loan.

Collections:

  • Erin Beach is in charge of reserve materials and Leganto (online reserves lists and links), as well as being our contact person for fines and fees, replacing materials, and any problems with Alma or SOS.

  • Ashley Pierce is the Collections Coordinator and supervisor of Stacks Assistants. She is in charge of the stacks and annex materials.

Services:

  • Steph Barnaby is our IDEAS Librarian. She supervises the evening team and is the point person for service problems or questions that arise during after-hour services.

  • Katie Donnelly is the Evenings Coordinator and supervisor for leads. She is also in charge of supplies at the desks.

  • Jeanine Bell is the Access Point Coordinator and supervises students working at the Access Point. They are the contact for any library account questions or problems. 

  • Alex DeLeon is the Help & Information Coordinator and supervisor of H&I Assistants. She is also the contact for BLC cards and issues.

All the customer-facing positions report to their supervisor as well as whoever is supervising the desk at the time they are working. Any student worker, regardless of position, can check with the supervisor at the desk (whether full time staff or a student supervisor) for direction and assistance. If the desk supervisor gives you different directions than your direct supervisor, follow their instructions but check in with your direct supervisor later. Please check with your direct supervisor for things like scheduling, timesheets, etc.

Part-Time Supervisors: These are experienced student employees who have been trained to act as staff when we cannot be there. They can take care of alarms, patron concerns, and more advanced issues. When part-time supervisors are on duty, they are the person you should go to for help with patrons, questions about tasks, and notify them when taking a break. Student supervisors authority should be respected the same way you respect full time staff members.

Leads: Leads are experienced students who are trained at both service desks and can help answer questions from student employees about either service desk. They can handle intermediate questions labout BLC cards, proxy borrowers, and more advanced research questions. They also help train new students at both service points.

Help and Information Assistants: They help patrons with circulating materials, lost & found, and room bookings. They help patrons with how to search for materials and basic reference questions. Assistants also assist with circulating course reserves and complete tasks as needed.

Access Point Proctors: They monitor the entrance and exit gates, assisting patrons with directional questions, signing in guests, and watching for access violations like piggybacking. 

Resource Sharing Assistants & Leads: They work behind the scenes processing the materials that we lend to other libraries, as well as those that we borrow from other libraries on behalf of our patrons. 

Stacks Assistants: Stacks students work in the lower-level stacks, shelf reading and keeping our collections organized. They process books for the holds shelf and can also assist patrons with finding books in the lower-level.

The library staff that you'll be working most closely with (and reporting to) are in the IDEAS department, but Snell Library actually employs about 80 staff members who do a variety of different jobs. The complete staff directory is searchable by department. 

Archives

The Northeastern Archives and Special Collections are located in the basement of Snell library. They are the home for all of the university archives, like dissertations, as well as a number of special collections documenting local history. The Archives and Special Collections are open by appointment only from Monday through Friday 8:30am to 5:00pm. Questions for the archive can be transferred directly to the Archives queue in LibAnswers, or patrons may be given their contact information: archives@northeastern.edu / (617) 373-2465

DMC Studios

The DMC recording studios are A/V creation spaces available to students, faculty, and staff, located on the library’s second floor. Recording studio staff are available Monday to Friday, 9 AM - 7:45 PM. Questions for the studios can be transferred directly to the DMC Studios queue in LibAnswers, or patrons may be given their contact information: Dmc-studios@northeastern.edu / (617) 373-2351

Research Data Services

Research Data Services offers help and support for data-driven research projects. Their website lists a breakdown of the kinds of work they do, as well as some handy guides they've built for frequently asked questions. They can be reached at library-RDS@northeastern.edu

Digital Scholarship Group

The DSG supports the full life-cycle of digital scholarship, from initial planning to long-term curation. One of the many services they offer is the Digital Repository Service, a digital archive of over 70,000 items primarily created by members of the Northeastern community, like faculty research and dissertations. 

Research and Instruction 

R&I does the work you're most likely to think of when you imagine a typical "librarian." They offer teaching and learning support for faculty who want a librarian to come into their classrooms, and they offer one-on-one consults for patrons looking for individualized research help. Our librarians are specialists in a variety of subjects and maintain a huge list of subject-specific research guides and tutorials to help you wherever you are in the research process. 

And that's not all! There are even more staff who do the important jobs behind the scenes of maintaining the library's technology and things like metadata and e-resource management, though you're unlikely to get questions for any of them. As you can see, it takes a huge group of people to keep the library running smoothly!