Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For additional options, visit our comprehensive list of resources or consult a Subject Librarian or discipline-specific Subject Guide.
NU is now a member of Policy Commons! Use this resource to access reports and other materials from IGOs, NGOs, think tanks, government agencies, and academic research centers.
Use PolicyFile to locate reports from over 350 public policy think tanks, non-governmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups, and other entities.
Web of Science
Web of Science provides access to peer-reviewed articles citation data for a large collection of high-impact journals across the disciplines.
Social Sciences Premium Collection
Includes PAIS, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences, Social Services Abstracts, and a number of full-text journal collections. Databases may be searched individually or as a group.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database useful for searching a broad range of topics in the fields of public policy and related disciplines. Many full-text articles are available; click the PDF or the check for full-text link to locate them!
Materials on sustainability and its connection to health, policy, law, and the environment.
JSTOR archives full-text scholarly articles in a number of disciplines, including public policy and public administration, labor and employment, urban studies, and transportation studies. The collection is now being updated to include articles published in recent years.
Useful for political economy, public finance, and budgetary policy as well as materials on development and globalization.
SIGN UP!! Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and New York Times
Financial Times - Individuals must register with a Northeastern or @nchlondon.ac.uk email address to create a personal account.
New York Times - Current and archival access to the New York Times. Access requires registration with a Northeastern email address. Once registered, users can log in directly at https://www.nytimes.com.
Wall Street Journal - Individuals must register with a Northeastern or @nchlondon.ac.uk email address to create an individual account. After completing the registration form, you will receive an email prompt to confirm the registration. Once you've provided confirmation and signed into the Journal, your account will be active.
For historic WSJ content dating back to 1985, please use Factiva via this link. Click 'Options' then use the 'Source' dropdown menu to limit search results to WSJ articles.
Westlaw Campus Research
Westlaw Campus Research includes primary legal sources (including state and federal cases, the United States Code Annotated, the Code of Federal Regulations, the Federal Register and European Union Law) as well as law reviews, journals, the American Law Reports series and American Jurisprudence. Westlaw Campus Research replaces Nexis Uni.
Access World News
International and domestic news coverage. Dates vary by title, but some sources go back to the late 1970’s. On the Access World News homepage, you’ll find an International Studies portal.
Streaming Video Collections
Academic Video Online (AVON) offers videos of interest to a broad range of disciplines.
Watch complete videos or create playlists and clips in both Kanopy and AVON.
Kanopy provides a broad range of documentaries across the disciplines. See especially the Global Studies, and Social Sciences areas.
Key Data and Statistical Resources
ICPSR is a membership based, non-profit data archive located at the University of Michigan; it is one of the world's largest social science archives. Access to datasets and related studies on a wide variety of topics. NU students may set up a myData account to download datasets and supporting documentation.
This mapping application enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, health, crime, and marketing data variables.
Need more help?
Please e-mail Roxanne Palmatier, library contact for Political Science, International Affairs, and the Policy School.