Instructional Videos and Manuals
- Cambridge Community Television CCTV: Basics of Documentary FilmmakingRecorded June 25, 2020
- Linked In LearningA great source for self-paced instructional videos.
- O'Reilly for Higher EducationIncludes full-length textbooks
Documentary Film Collections
The Library provides access to these collections with documentaries on a range of topics:
Academic Video Online: Premium: A comprehensive collection of more than 69,000 films.
Docuseek 2 Includes over 1600 social issue and environmental films from a variety of vendors.
Films on Demand Includes 13 titles.
A vast African American oral history collection. It includes transcribed interviews with over 2500 people, spanning a range of historical and biographical topics and issues.
Kanopy
Includes titles in film, business, education, global studies & languages; health; media & communications; sciences and social sciences. Films include closed captions.
Beginning in May, Snell Library will be reducing full access to Kanopy videos. From April 27th through August 24th, Kanopy will be a mediated library service and access will be limited to instructional use and research support for faculty and students. Films that are already triggered (licensed because of usage for one year) will appear on the site and In Scholar OneSearch, but other films will have to be requested.
If you have films you know you will use in teaching and research this summer from the Kanopy collection, please notify Erin Beach (e.beach@northeastern.edu) or Amy Lewontin (a.lewontin@northeastern.edu) and we will ensure that the films are activated in ample time for the summer sessions. You can also use the request form on the Kanopy site after April 27th, and if you identify that the film is for class use, we will expedite the activation. Please note that this can take a day or two so be sure to build in adequate lead-time.
If you live or work in Massachusetts and wish to use Kanopy for non-academic or recreational purposes, the Boston Public Library (BPL) offers Kanopy for free, up to 4 films a month. First obtain an e-card. More BPL Kanopy-related info. https://www.bpl.org/faq/online-resources/#kanopy
Thanks for your understanding of this necessary cost-saving effort and please let us know if you have any questions.
Beginning in May, Snell Library will be reducing full access to Kanopy videos. From April 27th through August 24th, Kanopy will be a mediated library service and access will be limited to instructional use and research support for faculty and students. Films that are already triggered (licensed because of usage for one year) will appear on the site and In Scholar OneSearch, but other films will have to be requested.
If you have films you know you will use in teaching and research this summer from the Kanopy collection, please notify Erin Beach (e.beach@northeastern.edu) or Amy Lewontin (a.lewontin@northeastern.edu) and we will ensure that the films are activated in ample time for the summer sessions. You can also use the request form on the Kanopy site after April 27th, and if you identify that the film is for class use, we will expedite the activation. Please note that this can take a day or two so be sure to build in adequate lead-time.
If you live or work in Massachusetts and wish to use Kanopy for non-academic or recreational purposes, the Boston Public Library (BPL) offers Kanopy for free, up to 4 films a month. First obtain an e-card. More BPL Kanopy-related info. https://www.bpl.org/faq/online-resources/#kanopy
Thanks for your understanding of this necessary cost-saving effort and please let us know if you have any questions.