Preserving U.S. Government Data : Environmental Data

The EIA Annual Energy Outlook provides projections of future fuel prices, energy supply and consumption, and carbon dioxide emissions by sector and region.

Nearly 20 years of CDC's surveillance data on HIV, viral hepatitis, STD, and TB as well as indicators on social determinants of health (SDOH) allowing users to view social and economic data in conjunction with surveillance data for each disease.

GitHub repository of the CDC Environmental Justice Index, provided by the Public Environmental Data Partners

EJI County Maps offer summary information and visualizations that can provide insights into patterns and drivers of environmental injustice for the most burdened communities in each county. Preserved by the Public Environmental Data Partners

PLACES provides health and health-related data using small-area estimation for counties, incorporated and census designated places, census tracts, and ZIP Code Tabulation Areas (ZCTAs) across the United States.

Version 2 of the Climate and Economic Justice Screening Tool, released by the Council on Environmental Quality in December 2024. Contains a tutorial on how to use the tool.

An effort led by volunteers at a variety of academic institutions to preserve copies of U.S. federal climate data

The Commercial Buildings Energy Consumption Survey (CBECS) is a national sample survey that collects information on the stock of U.S. commercial buildings, including their energy-related building characteristics and energy usage data (consumption and expenditures).

This is an unofficial copy of the CEJST Tool. The tool has an interactive map and uses datasets that are indicators of burdens in eight categories: climate change, energy, health, housing, legacy pollution, transportation, water and wastewater, and workforce development. The tool uses this information to identify communities that are experiencing these burdens.

Data from the Risk Management Plans submitted by US facilities handling certain hazardous substances through December 2024

An initial reconstruction of Version 2.3 of the EPA's environmental justice (EJ) screening and mapping tool that utilizes nationally-consistent data to highlight vulnerable communities overburdened by pollution

A collection of documented changes to environment-related federal webpages that Environmental Data & Governance Initiative (EDGI) team deems noteworthy.

The National Household Survey (NHS) tracks progress in personal disaster preparedness through investigation of the American public's preparedness actions, attitudes, and motivations.

A rebuilt version of FEMA’s Future Risk Index. The National Risk Index helps illustrate the United States communities most at risk for 18 natural hazards. It leverages available source data for natural hazard and community risk factors to develop a baseline risk measurement for each United States county and Census tract.

The US National Wetlands Inventory (NWI) is a publicly available resource that provides detailed information on the abundance, characteristics, and distribution of US wetlands.

A centralized repository of datasets aggregated from the U.S. Department of Energy’s Programs, Offices, and National Laboratories

Preserves and provides public access to federal environmental data.

The U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA) collects, analyzes, and disseminates independent and impartial energy information to promote sound policymaking, efficient markets, and public understanding of energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment.

Outcomes of investigations spurred by complaints submitted to the USDA’s National Organic Program through early January 2024

Identifies steps taken by the Trump-Vance administration to scale back or wholly eliminate federal climate mitigation and adaptation measures. The tracker is linked to the Columbia Law School's database of climate change regulations, related news, and two previous climate regulation trackers: the Climate Deregulation Tracker covering the first Trump administration and the Climate Reregulation Tracker covering the Biden administration.

Tracks regulations, policies, and other federal actions that affect communities' exposure to environmental pollution, including public health protections for workers, pollution standards for air and water, and environmental enforcement priorities. Also tracks actions that affect the ability of impacted communities to participate in decisions that affect them, including changes in how agencies are structured and staffed, and current opportunities for public comment. Does not track federal funding, legislation, or actions specific to one state, tribe, or territory.

A collection of documented changes to environment-related federal webpages that Environmental Data & Governance Initiative (EDGI) team deems noteworthy.

Compiles information about the climate change-related provisions of the U.S. 2022 Inflation Reduction Act (IRA) and actions taken by federal agencies to implement those provisions.

Developed by Greenline Insights in partnership with Center for Climate and Energy Solutions (C2ES). Illustrates the real-time economic costs of freezing federal energy and manufacturing funding programs.

Tracks government attempts to restrict or prohibit scientific research, education or discussion, or the publication or use of scientific information, since the November 2016 election in the U.S.

Tracking of U.S. federal rollbacks, including cuts to extreme weather preparedness, frozen investments, and blocked pollution protections, and more.