O'Reilly for Higher Education
Previously known as Safari Books Online. Books from industry-leading publishers such as Sam's, O'Reilly, Peachpit, and Que, plus 30,000 hours of video, proven learning paths, case studies, interactive tutorials, audio books, and videos from O’Reilly's global conferences.
- Connect to O'ReillyTo access, select "Not listed? Click here" from the drop-down menu and register with your Northeastern University email address.
- How to create an O'Reilly for Higher Education AccountThis tutorial will guide you through setting up an O'Reilly account with your Northeastern credentials.
Key Resources
- ACM Digital Library (Association for Computing Machinery) This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to most ACM periodicals and conference proceedings and contains a large amount of information on gaming, modeling and simulation. Includes information from ACM groups such as SIGGRAPH and SIGCHI.
- arXiv Computer Science (Cornell University, ACM, NCSTR) This link opens in a new windowOpen access preprint server established in 1998 for the voluntary sharing of professional and scholarly information in computer science. Preprints are usually submitted by authors before publication and may differ from published materials. arXiv is funded by Cornell University, the Simons Foundation and by the member institutions.
- Compendex & INSPEC This link opens in a new windowCombines a comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database with a comprehensive database of physics, computer science and electrical engineering research.
- Computers & Applied Sciences Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowCovers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines. Indexing and abstracts for more than 1,720 academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources. Full text for over 670 periodicals.
- IEEEXplore (IEEE/IET Electronic Library) This link opens in a new windowNU subscribes to the AbstractPlus records and full text published since 1988 and select content published since 1950 from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, and conference proceedings; IEE journals and conference proceedings; and IEEE standards.
- LISTA: Library and Information Science Abstracts (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new windowOver 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports, and proceedings. Topics include librarianship, information management, and more, extending back as far as the mid-1960s.
- Web of Science, All Databases This link opens in a new windowUse this link for access to citation tracking and subject searching of scholarly literature. Data visualizations, alerts, and journal impact factors. Includes the Web of Science Core Collection. One of the largest curated databases of scholarly research, with citations in some subjects from 1900 to the present.
