Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
We are still offering consultation services during the COVID-19 move to online instruction. Please feel free to reach out for virtual appointments! For more information on library services and resources, please click here.
Welcome! For more options, try our comprehensive list of resources or consult a Subject Librarian or discipline-specific Subject Guide.
Scholar OneSearch provides simple, one-stop searching for books, articles, digital media, government publications, and more. To search the NU library catalogs for books, e-books, and other local resources, select the Library Catalogs option in Scholar OneSearch.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database useful for searching a broad range of topics in the fields of criminology, public policy, and justice. Many full-text articles are available; click the PDF or the check for full-text link to locate them!
JSTOR archives full-text scholarly articles in sociology and criminal justice and criminology. One of the premier sources for classic literature in the social sciences, the collection now includes articles published in recent years.
Social Sciences Premium Collection
Combined search of multiple databases; includes coverage of criminology and criminal justice as well as policy, sociology, education, and social services.
Web of Science
Web of Science provides access to citation data for a large collection of high-impact journals across the disciplines.
Sage Research Methods
Supports researchers in every step of a research project, from writing a research question, choosing a method, gathering and analyzing data, to
writing up and publishing the findings.
Use PolicyFile to locate reports from over 350 public policy think tanks, non-governmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups, and other entities.
Westlaw Campus Research
Westlaw Campus Research includes primary legal sources (including state and federal cases, the United States Code Annotated, the Code of Federal Regulations, the Federal Register and European Union Law) as well as law reviews, journals, the American Law Reports series and American Jurisprudence.
Research Tip - Also consult Nexis Uni for legal materials: law review articles, cases, laws, regulations, etc.
Access World News
International and domestic news coverage. Dates vary by title, but some sources go back to the late 1970’s. On the Access World News homepage, you’ll find an International Studies portal.
Streaming Video Collections
Homeland Security Digital Library - HSDL is a major collection of homeland security policy and strategy related documents. This resource provides quick access to important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources such as theses and research reports from various universities, organizations, local agencies and state agencies.
Oxford Bibliographies - These resources provide excellent topical overviews. Bibliographies are available for Criminology and Sociology as well as a variety of other disciplines.
Key Data Resources
ICPSR is a membership based, non-profit social sciences data archive located at the University of Michigan. Access to datasets and related studies on a wide variety of topics. Create a free MyData account to download materials.
iPoll (Roper Center)
Database of the Roper Center at Cornell University. Provides data from national opinion polls, 1935 to present.
This mapping application enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, health, crime, and marketing data variables.
Data Citation Index (1900 to current)
The Data Citation Index provides a single point of access to research data from repositories across disciplines and around the world.