Digital News Subscriptions
- New York Times via NYTimes.com This link opens in a new windowNortheastern offers current and archival access to the New York Times. Please use the link above to register with a Northeastern email address. Once registered, users can log in directly at https://www.nytimes.com or use the New York Times app on a smartphone or device. Our subscription does not include access to the Cooking, Games, or Athletic sections of nytimes.com.
- Washington PostWashington D.C.'s newspaper, with coverage of the city and region, national events, and coverage of federal government "inside-the-beltway" news. For off-campus access, please create an account and then follow these instructions (Opens in new window) to link our university subscription. Once registered, users can log in directly at www.washingtonpost.com.
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new windowLeading economic, business, finance, and political news, information, commentary and analysis. For historic WSJ content dating back to 1985, please use Factiva (Opens in new window). Individual registration using a Northeastern email address is required.
- Nikkei Asia This link opens in a new windowCoverage of Asia's economic, political, business and technology news in English. Established with a goal to change the way the Asia is covered internationally and to enhance the world’s understanding of pan-Asian affairs.
Also includes data on financial markets and top companies in the region.
- Financial TimesLondon-based and international in scope, with extensive business, marketing, economic, political, news and trends worldwide. Also hosts subject-focused newsletters, podcasts, and live conferences. Access to the Financial Times requires registration with a Northeastern or NU London email address.
Other Digital News Platforms
- AtlanticThe Atlantic covers a broad range of topics including politics, society, the arts, and culture. The site includes content from 1857 to the present and includes audio, video and podcast extras.
- E&E News (Politico Pro) This link opens in a new windowUp-to-date news on energy and the environment. Includes EnergyWire, ClimateWire, GreenWire, E&E Daily, and E&E News.
- Economist This link opens in a new windowWeekly international news and business publication. The online edition features content from 1997 to the present.
- Foreign Affairs This link opens in a new windowFeatures articles and current news covering the political, historical and economic impacts of American foreign policy and global affairs; includes the full archive of Foreign Affairs Magazine 1922-present plus online-only content. Published by the Council on Foreign Relations.
- Foreign Policy This link opens in a new windowGlobal news magazine providing insights and analysis as well as original reporting.
- Project Syndicate This link opens in a new windowA unique source of opinion pages from news outlets around the world. Good for debate and argument essays or to research a range of views on current events.
Find Articles and News
Check out a couple of these quick videos designed to hone your search skills and speed up the research process!! No time for a video? Take a look at the one of our slide presentations.
- How Do I Choose Keywords?No time to watch a video? Flip through these slides.
- How do I narrow my search?No time to watch a video? Flip through these slides.
- How do I find more search results?No time to watch a video? Flip through these slides.
Check out a couple of these quick videos designed to hone your search skills and speed up the research process!!
No time for a video? Take a look at one of our slide presentations.
- How Do I Find Peer-Reviewed Articles?No time to watch a quick video? Flip through these slides!
- Is This Article Peer-Reviewed?No time to watch a quick video? Flip through these slides!
Select one or more of these resources to find articles in criminology, criminal justice, and law enforcement.
- Scholar OneSearchScholar OneSearch provides one-stop searching for books, articles, digital media, government publications, and more. To search the NU library catalogs for books, e-books, and other local resources, select the Library Catalogs option in Scholar OneSearch.
- Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database useful for searching a broad range of topics in the fields of criminology, public policy, and justice. Many full-text articles are available; click the PDF or the check for full-text link to locate them!
- Criminal Justice Abstracts (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts of scholarly, peer-reviewed articles and professional association news and information. Covers criminology; criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections; police and policing; forensic sciences; history of crime; substance abuse; probation and parole. Links to full text.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowOne of the most trusted sources for scholarly books and historical journal backfiles. Beginning in 2023, JSTOR also includes Artstor images of art and primary source artifacts.
- Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive database of books, articles, and dissertations in sociology and related disciplines, from 1952 to the present. International in scope, links to full text.
- Social Sciences Premium Collection (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowScholarly and professional citations and abstracts with full text links in politics and public policy, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, information sciences and education. Professional society databases included.
Use these resources to add a disciplinary perspective different from that of criminology and criminal justice. For example, you might use these tools to investigate the psychological aspects of crime, financial crime, prison privatization, prisoner education, or technology for law enforcement.
Ask about additional search tools that may help!
- Scholar OneSearchScholar OneSearch provides one-stop searching for books, articles, digital media, government publications, and more. To search the NU library catalogs for books, e-books, and other local resources, select the Library Catalogs option in Scholar OneSearch.
- Computers & Applied Sciences Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowHelpful for researching crime prevention and detection technologies - police body cameras, non-lethal methods for stopping car chases, etc.
- Business Source Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowScholarly, peer-reviewed articles and professional association news and information, the majority in full text. Use for business-related topics: prison privatization, transnational financial crime, computer fraud, white collar crime etc.
- ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowCitations to education information, including scholarly articles, professional literature, education dissertations, and books, plus grey literature such as curriculum guides, conference proceedings, government publications, and white papers. Links to full text. 1966 to the present.
See our education research guide for a search box to combine ERIC with PsycInfo and Education Research Complete. - Education Research Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowPeer-reviewed journals in education, most with full text. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline is available courtesy of the Northeastern School of Law Library.
Full text legal documents including regulations and other government publications, reports, Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) and UN Treaty series, and law reviews and journals. - PsycInfo (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowAmerican Psychological Associations flagship PsycINFO database includes citations and abstracts of peer reviewed articles, books, and dissertations. Coverage from 1888 to the present. Use for all aspects of the psychology of crime.
- Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new windowSearch federal and state court cases, statutes and codes as well as European Union laws and regulations. Secondary sources include the American Law Reports and the American Jurisprudence encyclopedia, law reviews, journals, and newspapers.
- Tutorials: Find cases and articles in Westlaw (video) or see a PDF version
Below you'll find links to both contemporary and historical newspapers and newsletters. PressReader is a great resource for anyone planning to travel or study abroad! It provides newspapers and magazines from over 60 countries, many in their original languages (translation of some titles available).
- Access World News Research Collection (Newsbank) This link opens in a new windowInternational and domestic news coverage. Dates vary by title, but some sources go back to the late 1970’s. Older titles are text-only but ,increasingly, newspaper images are available.
- Boston Globe (1872-present) (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowHistorical and current access to the Boston Globe, one of two major daily newspapers in Boston. Link to the most recent issue.
- Homeland Security News WireNot an NU Library subscription publication, but a useful current awareness tool for homeland security broadly defined.
- New York Times via NYTimes.com This link opens in a new windowNortheastern offers current and archival access to the New York Times. Please use the link above to register with a Northeastern email address. Once registered, users can log in directly at https://www.nytimes.com or use the New York Times app on a smartphone or device. Our subscription does not include access to the Cooking, Games, or Athletic sections of nytimes.com.
- PressReader This link opens in a new windowPressReader provides online access to today's newspapers from over 100 countries around the world in over 60 languages in a full-color, full-page format. This is a 90 day archive. PressReader can also be accessed via email registration. Go directly to the home page, click 'Sign In,' then 'Library or Group,' then select Northeastern University from the dropdown menu to create your account.
- Proquest Newsstreams (U.S., Canada, International) This link opens in a new windowLocal, regional and global newspapers, newswires, and blogs. Generally text only. Select "Newspapers" from the options above the search box.
Try these few basic tips and tricks to improve search results. For additional help, check out our Top Ten Search Tips!
- Don't limit search results to full-text articles only! Use the library branded "check for full-text" links
If the article you need is not available at NU, you'll be directed to our ILLIAD interlibrary loan service to request electronic delivery of the article text. - Where available and appropriate, do limit searches to retrieve only peer-reviewed articles.
- Put several similar terms together to increase search results, using the connector "or"...death penalty or capital punishment; guns or firearms.
- Use additional terms to reduce search results; use the connector "and" mass incarceration and drugs or human trafficking and prevention.
- Too many results? Try placing "quotation marks" around phrases. Many search engines, look for the individual words as well as the phrases; these search engines include Scholar OneSearch, Google Scholar, JSTOR, and Social Science Premium among others.
- Use truncation (usually *) to retrieve different word endings global* = global, globally, globalize, globalization, etc.
If the article you need is not available at NU, you'll be directed to our
-
Academic Search CompleteAcademic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database useful for searching a broad range of topics in the fields of criminology, public policy, and justice. Many full-text articles are available; click the PDF or the check for full-text link to locate them!
-
Criminal Justice AbstractsCJ Abstracts is one of the premier research tools in the discipline. To locate articles, click on the NU "check for full-text" link to see what's available!
-
Social Sciences Premium CollectionIncludes Sociological Abstracts, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences, Social Services Abstracts, and a number of full-text journal collections, among them Criminal Justice, Sociology, and Social Sciences. Resources may be searched individually or as a group.
-
Web of ScienceWeb of Science provides access to citation data for approximately 8,700 high-impact journals across the disciplines.
Browse Criminology/Criminal Justice Journals
Need more help?
Please e-mail Roxanne Palmatier, library contact for Criminal Justice.