Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
We are still offering consultation services during the COVID-19 move to online instruction. Please feel free to reach out for virtual appointments! For more information on library services and resources, please click here.
Key Resources: Databases for Environmental Science
Please note: Use of databases from off-campus requires logging in with your myNortheastern account user name and password.
Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE is an informative resource for anyone concerned about our planet. The database contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected titles, and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles as well.
An array of media and information resources about green design. Includes Environmental Building News from 1992 to present, a Green Products directory, and 200 high performance buildings case studies.
Biological Abstracts, the premier database of research in Biology and related disciplines. International coverage of scholarly articles, books and book chapters, meetings and conferences, patents and software. 1969-present, updated weekly.
Not-for-profit collaboration bringing together scientific societies, publishers, and libraries to provide access to critical, peer-reviewed research in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
Web of Science
Web of Science is a database that broadly covers all of the sciences with strengths in natural sciences, health sciences, engineering, computer science, materials sciences. Great for interdisciplinary research, it also includes coverage of social sciences, arts, and humanities. Web of Science contains over 73 million records. See our interactive tutorial
on how to search Web of Science efficiently.
Science Direct is the web site for selected journal titles from the scholarly publisher Elsevier and its affiliates.
Use this link for direct full-text access to Northeastern's resources through PubMed.
PubMed comprises more than 29 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. For tips on searching efficiently and effectively in PubMed, click here
Compendex with Inspec (Engineering Village)
A comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database, including peer reviewed journals, professional literature, conference proceedings, book series, dissertations, and trade publications. A broad view of engineering is included with research information from the fields of nanotechnology, bioengineering, food science, medical devices, and more.
Combining your search with INSPEC adds a comprehensive database of physics, computer science and electrical engineering research and professional literature to your results. On the main search page, use the toggle checkboxes to include or exclude Compendex or Inspec from your search.
Still not having any luck? Make an appointment with your librarian! I am available for either in person or web consults.
Featured resource: JoVE
JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments) is a science video resource that includes a variety of resources for use in the classroom and in the lab. It has two components:
- Science Education Video Collection: Teaching-focused videos including concept animations, ‘scientist in action’ videos to see concepts applied, and lab manual videos that cover preparation procedures for common labs
- Video Journal: A peer-reviewed video methods journal, consisting of video demonstrations and detailed text protocols of new and standard methods in physical and life sciences. Students and researchers can see the details of experiments and concepts, in addition to text-based descriptions.
Below are a few links to components of JoVE relevant for Biology:
Finding journal articles
Includes all journals, print & electronic available at NU
Complete A-Z list of databases
Off-campus access to resources
Using your Northeastern login, you should be able to access resources off campus. Click the above link for help with troubleshooting any issues you may have with off-campus access.
Get started with Scholar OneSearch
Scholar OneSearch can be a great place to start your research. It contains resources provided by Northeastern, but may not include results from specific databases. Search results include books (both print and electronic), articles, videos, data sets, and more. Click here for tips on using Scholar OneSearch
If we don't have access to an article you need...
Try using Northeastern's Interlibrary Loan system to request books, book chapters, or articles not available at NU. Articles can be delivered electronically.