Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Student Worker Manual

IDEAS Student Employee Manual

Who's Who at Snell Library

We wanted to make sure you have a good idea of how IDEAS is organized, so check out our staff and a bit of what we do. Our contact information can all be found in the Library Staff Directory.

Brian Greene is the head of our department. Some things that Brian handles that may come up for student workers include major policy concerns, and, well, anything that is escalated up the chain of command.

Data and Technology:

James Lee is the person to check with if someone is looking for library data or statistics.

Resource Sharing:

Molly Dupere takes care of, among other things, Interlibrary Loan materials we borrow for Northeastern users. If someone is asking about where their requested stuff is (and emails circulation@northeastern.edu or ill@northeastern.edu), Molly is generally the one who will get back to them.

Pamela Diaz supervises the Interlibrary Loan students and handles the lending side of Interlibrary loan, the materials we send to other schools.

Daytime:

Nicole Thomas is the supervisor for daytime staff. She is generally the best contact for things like room/seats reservations, H&I desk issues, and problems with Alma. She is also currently the point person for anything having to do with the Annex (aka remote storage).

Erin Beach is in charge of reserve materials and Leganto (online reserves lists and links), as well as being our contact person for fines and fees, replacing materials, and BLC cards.

Jess Valli is the Help and Information desk coordinator. She supervises the H&I students and is the best contact for H&I issues. 

Evening and Weekend:

Steph Barnaby is our Evening/Weekend librarian. She supervises the evening team and is the point person for service problems or questions that arise during after-hour services. She is also the supervisor for the backup supervisors. 

Sarah Towne is the coordinator and supervisor for the students at the Access Point. Check in with her for access questions, problems, or complaints.

All the customer-facing positions report to their supervisor as well as whoever is supervising the desk at the time they are working. Any student worker, regardless of position, can check with the supervisor at the desk (whether full time staff or a backup supervisor) for direction and assistance. If the desk supervisor gives you different directions than your direct supervisor, follow their instructions but check in with your direct supervisor later. Please check with your direct supervisor for things like scheduling, timesheets, etc.

 

Backup Supervisors: These are (usually) graduate students who have been trained to act as staff when we cannot be there. They are fully trained for both the H&I desk and the Access Point which means if you need a break, they can help! They also take care of alarms, patron concerns, and more advanced issues. 

Resource Sharing Assistants & Leads: They work behind the scenes processing the materials that we lend to other libraries, as well as those that we borrow from other libraries on behalf of our patrons. 

Access Point Proctors, Assistants & Leads: They monitor the entrance and exit gates, assisting patrons with directional questions, signing in guests, and watching for access violations like piggybacking. 

Help and Information Assistants & Leads: They help patrons with circulating materials, lost & found, and room bookings. They help patrons with how to search for materials and basic reference questions. Assistants also assist with circulating course reserves and complete tasks as needed.

The library staff that you'll be working most closely with (and reporting to) are in the IDEAS department, but Snell Library actually employs about 80 staff members who do a variety of different jobs. You can view the complete staff directory, searchable by department, here

 

Archives

The Northeastern Archives and Special Collections are located in the basement of Snell library. They are the home for all of the university archives, like dissertations, as well as a number of special collections documenting local history. During normal operations, the archive is open to the public by appointment, but is currently operating remotely. Questions for the archive can be transferred directly to the Archives queue in LibAnswers, or patrons may be given their contact information: archives@northeastern.edu / (617) 373-2465

DMC Studios

The DMC (Digital Media Commons) recording studio is an A/V creation space available to students, faculty, and staff, located on the library’s second floor. DMC staff are also currently working primarily remotely, offering support and training for home recording, plus a lot more. Questions for the studios can be transferred directly to the DMC Studios queue in LibAnswers, or patrons may be given their contact information: Dmc-studios@northeastern.edu / (617) 373-2351

3D Printing Studio

The 3D Printing Studio is also located on the second floor of the library. It offers a full suite of 3D fabrication and modeling technologies to members of the Northeastern community. Their website offers a thorough breakdown of their services and pricing. The 3D studio is currently operational, but is not accepting walk-ins. Instead, they ask anyone looking for project help to contact them by email first at nu3dprintstudio@gmail.com

Research Data Services

Research Data Services offers help and support for data-driven research projects. Their website lists a breakdown of the kinds of work they do, as well as some handy guides they've built for frequently asked questions. They can be reached at library-RDS@northeastern.edu

Digital Scholarship Group

The DSG supports the full life-cycle of digital scholarship, from initial planning to long-term curation. One of the many services they offer is the Digital Repository Service, a digital archive of over 70,000 items primarily created by members of the Northeastern community, like faculty research and dissertations. 

Research and Instruction 

R&I does the work you're most likely to think of when you imagine a typical "librarian." They offer teaching and learning support for faculty who want a librarian to come into their classrooms, and they offer one-on-one consults for patrons looking for individualized research help. Our librarians are specialists in a variety of subjects and maintain a huge list of subject-specific research guides and tutorials to help you wherever you are in the research process. 

 

 

And that's not all! There are even more staff who do the important jobs behind the scenes of maintaining the library's technology and things like metadata and e-resource management, though you're unlikely to get questions for any of them. As you can see, it takes a huge group of people to keep the library running smoothly!