Citing Your Sources
On this page you will find info about how and why we cite, links to IEEE style guides and resources, citation managers and training, citing with BibTeX and LaTeX, and inclusive citation. You can also explore the Citations and Bibliographies guide for more info.
How and why do we cite?
Why is it important to cite sources?
First, it gives credit to the person who created the idea. Second, it allows your readers to locate the sources you used, so they can read or judge for themselves.
How do I cite my sources?
Citation managers are time-saving tools designed to help you cite while you write. This page provides information on these tools, and resources to help you get started. You'll also need to determine the citation style required for your work. If you are writing a paper or assignment, consult your instructor about the proper style used in your discipline. If you are writing for a publication, check the author guidelines on a publisher's web page for the required style.
IEEE Style Guide & Resources
- IEEE Reference Guide (PDF)Outlines how to cite a variety of references in IEEE style.
- IEEE Editorial Style ManualIEEE webpage, contains the complete guidelines for manuscript presentation and citation referencing for IEEE publications, and related information.
- Purdue OWL IEEE Style OverviewQuick reference for how to cite common types of sources using IEEE style.
Citation Managers
Citation managers are great tools for organizing your references and producing beautifully formatted bibliographies. Below are some commonly used tools supported at Northeastern.
Follow these links to learn more and get the software:
You can also use this comparison guide (Word document) to help decide which of these tools is right for you.
Citing with BibTeX and LaTeX
LaTeX is open source software that allows you to create professionally-rendered files that incorporate mathematical symbols, equations and formulas, which can be difficult to do with standard word processors such as Microsoft Word. BibTeX is an add-on to LaTeX that helps you manage your references. Here are some resources to help you get started with these tools:
- Webinar: Citation Management with BibTeXIn this 30-minute training webinar, learn why and when to use BibTeX, how BibTeX files work, and how to cite your sources and share references using BibTeX.
- How do I get started using BibTeX?This 20-minute Bite Size webinar includes an overview of why and why to use BibTex, the basics of how BibTeX files work, and a live demo of how to add references and cite sources using Overleaf.
- OverleafOverleaf is a free online authoring tool for LaTeX and BibTeX. You can set up a free account and access helpful how-to guides.
- Learn LaTeX in 30 minutesA concise, hands-on overview to help you get started with LaTeX.
- Bibliography Management in LaTeXThis Overleaf guide is a great starting point for learning how to build your bibliography, including the basics of BiblaTeX, the latest version of BibTeX.
- Bibliography Styles GuideExamples and code for common citation styles used in LaTeX.
What is inclusive citation?
Inclusive citation is about whose work you decide to cite.
When you cite, you are situating your own work in the larger scholarly conversation about your topic. When we choose which sources to cite, our decisions influence who is part of that conversation - and who is not. Practicing inclusive citation means making intentional choices to find and cite the work of scholars with varied backgrounds and identities, in order to increase equity and inclusion in your field.
Why does it matter?
Citation counts are considered a metric of success for scholars, and can heavily influence job offers, promotions, tenure decisions and more. However, there is a growing body of evidence showing that women and URMs are consistently cited at lower rates than men, across disciplines. And the more a scholar's work is cited, the more they will continue to be cited over time. This inequity makes it harder for people from underrepresented groups to succeed in their field.
How can we practice more inclusive citation?
- Analyze your reference list and ask yourself, who am I not citing? Are there other perspectives that I should consider?
- Find a leading researcher in your field with a marginalized identity, and follow their work
- Experiment with different search strategies to bring back different (and potentially more diverse) results
- Make diversity of authors and perspectives a factor in prioritizing what research you read
Learn more about these strategies and the research behind them:
- What is inclusive citation?Short tutorial with more info about inclusive citation and strategies.
- The rise of citation justice: how scholars are making references fairerThis article in Nature provides an excellent overview of research on citation inequities, efforts to diversify citations, and critical responses.