Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This European Patent Office (EPO) database has international coverage and includes an excellent Cooperative Patent Classifcation (CPC) search tool. Translations available to multiple languages.
This free and open database of international patents has a modern, easy to use search interface and offers some unique patent searching tools, including gene sequence searching and patent citation analysis so that you can easily find related patents and other scholarly works.
Free Patents Online
Patents available in PDF format. Offers chemical search. Use the SureChem gateway to do a chemical patent search on full text collections for United States, European and world patents.
Google Patent Search
Covers patents made available by the USPTO from the 1790s to the middle of 2006. Search the full text of U.S. patents; use Advanced Patent Search
to search by various criteria including patent number, inventor, and filing date. Does not include patent applications, international patents, or U.S. patents issued over the last few months. Patents can be downloaded as PDF.
PATENTSCOPE® Search Service enables you to do full-text search in over 1.6 million published international patent applications from the first publication in 1978. Includes 'how to use' videos.
WIPO's (World International Property Organization's) Gateway to Patent Services and Activities.
Intellectual Property (IP) Basics
What is Intellectual Property (IP)?
Brief overview of the different types of IP from the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), including patents, trademarks, and industrial designs.
Protecting Intellectual Property Rights