Includes video and audio content we license or own from different vendors. Also includes listings from Northeastern University's Digital Repository Service.
Select Media Streaming Collections
Academic Video Online: PremiumIncludes more than 48,000 video titles spanning essential subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, history, music, film, and more.
Docuseek2An academic streaming source for social issue films and documentaries, with hundreds of titles in all major disciplines. The platform provides exclusive educational streaming access to content from Bullfrog Films, Collective Eye Films, Icarus Films (including The Fanlight Collection and dGenerate Films), Kartemquin Films, the National Film Board of Canada, Scorpion TV Sincerely Films, Terra Nova Films and Villon Films.
Films On Demand14 videos are currently available for streaming. To set up course playlists, or recommend new titles, faculty should contact their subject specialist.
KanopyIncludes titles in Science, Biomedical and Health, Social Sciences, Anthropology, History, Media and Communications, Art and Architecture, Music, Criminal Justice, Business, Education and Philosophy. Films include closed captions and transcripts.
If you live in the Boston area and wish to use Kanopy outside of academic use, the Boston Public Library (BPL)offers Kanopy for free, and one can watch 4 films a month. First obtain and e card: https://www.bpl.org/ecard/. Here is more BPL Kanopy-related info. https://www.bpl.org/faq/online-resources/#kanopy
Film PlatformThis link opens in a new windowShowcases meaningful documentaries of social, political and cultural importance by some of the worlds top international film makers.
Swank Digital CampusThis link opens in a new windowDigital Campus, provided by Swank Motion Pictures, Inc. provides students streaming access to course-related films. These films are licensed for one year and do not come with public performance rights.
Swank Digital Campus may require the latest version of Chrome or Firefox to work properly. Safari and Internet Explorer on older versions of Windows are not supported.
Please note: On mobile devices you will be directed to download the Swank Digital Media Player when attempting to access a video. After you download the app, the link to play the video will open in the Swank Digital Media Player app.
Academy Film Archive of North AmericaAcquires, preserves, documents, and promotes academic film by providing an archive, resource, and forum for continuing scholarly advancement and public exhibition.
AdViewsA Duke University digital archive of vintage tv commercials from the 1950s to 1980s.
The American Archive of Public Broadcastingollaboration of resources between the Library of Congress and the WGBH Educational Foundation to preserve at-risk public media and provide a central web portal for access to unique programming.
British PatheA newsreel archive and treasure trove of 85,000 films with historical and cultural significance. Spanning the years from 1896 to 1976, the collection includes footage from around the globe of major events, famous faces, fashion trends, travel, science and culture.
European Film GatewayGives quick access to hundreds of thousands of film historical documents as preserved in European film archives and cinémathèques: photos, posters, programmes, periodicals, censorship documents, rare feature and documentary films, newsreels and other materials.
Forum NetworkA public media service of WGBH that collects thousands of video and audio lectures from the world's foremost scholars, authors, artists, scientists, policymakers, and community leaders, made available to the public for free.
Hoopla Streaming MediaBoston Public Library offers streaming movies, television episodes, music, and audio books through Hoopla. Popular titles are always available so you can borrow what you like, when you like. You must be a Massachusetts resident and have a BPL card to access. Follow instructions on their website.
Internet Archives-MoviesContains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.
MUBISome free viewing of unique films, most pay for view via subscription.
National Film Board of CanadaFree films from their collection, which includes documentaries, animations, experimental films, fiction and interactive works. We showcase films that take a stand on issues of global importance that matter to Canadians—stories about the environment, human rights, international conflict, the arts and more.
National Film Registry. Library of CongressThe National Film Registry is a list of movies deemed "culturally, historically or aesthetically significant" that are earmarked for preservation by the Library of Congress. They are not selected as the "best" American films of all time, but rather as works of enduring importance to American culture. They reflect who we are as a people and as a nation. The Librarian of Congress makes the annual selections to the Registry after reviewing hundreds of titles nominated by the public and conferring with Library film curators and the distinguished members of the National Film Preservation Board.
This digital collection presents a variety of Registry titles including the World War II documentary Memphis Belle (1944), Master Hands (1936), a beautiful mechanical ballet shot on a General Motors automotive assembly line, and a plea for racial tolerance from Frank Sinatra in The House I Live In (1945).
The majority of movies in Selections from the National Film Registry are freely available as both 5 mb MP4 and ProRes 422 MOV downloads.
Open Video ProjectA repository of digitized video content for the digital media, multimedia retrieval, digital library and other research communities.
Television News of the Civil Rights Era"Television News of the Civil Rights Era, 1950-1970, aims to collect, digitize, and present footage from the period and to make these materials available to scholars, teachers, and students. The current archive contains films from the nightly news from two local television stations in Virginia--WDBJ (CBS) Roanoke and WSLS (NBC) Roanoke.
This database indexes 450,000 foreign language films. Search by title, country, language, genre, etc. If available, will Include information on where to watch online. and where. Connected to 110 streaming viewing sites.