Nursing : Find Sources

Click on the links below to find information on finding specific resources.

Research articles

Articles written by a nurse

Ebooks

Dissertations

Streaming video

Nursing associations

Newspapers

This is a list of additional databases with nursing content. For a complete list of databases at NU, please click here.

Supplemental Search Tools

There are many additional tools available for searching the literature. The tools mentioned below can be valuable in surfacing relevant literature. However, one must keep in mind: many of these tools are built on open access published literature (papers which are not behind paywalls). Search tools which rely only or primarily on open access literature may give an incomplete view of existing research. 

Consider these tools to be additional strategies, rather than replacements for "gold standard" databases such as PubMed.

Semantic Scholar 

Semantic Scholar is a free, AI-powered search and discovery tool. It uses machine learning techniques to extract meaning and identify connections from within papers. Its corpus of papers is considerable, but not comprehensive. Semantic Scholar sources papers from open access journals and a variety of publishing partners. One unique feature of Semantic Scholar is 'Research Feeds', which are an adaptive research recommender that uses AI to quickly learn what papers you care about reading and recommends the latest research to help you stay up to date.

Elicit

When using Elicit, you write your query as a question, and Elicit outputs relevant articles and summarizes key information from the articles. Elicit relies on the same language models which underwrite ChatGPT, with additional models and algorithms unique to Elicit. For its corpus of articles, Elicit relies on Semantic Scholar. Elicit operates on a ‘freemium’ model. So as a free user, one will have a limit on how many times you can search, and you will not have access to every feature by default. That said, even in its free version, one may find Elicit to be useful when reviewing the literature.

Scite.ai

Scite.ai is a subscription product, an AI-assisted tool for discovering, contextualizing, and understanding research. Scite uses deep learning algorithms and natural language processing techniques to analyze the text and citation metadata of scientific papers. Scite's Smart Citations describe the context of individual citations, both where in the article the citation occurs and whether the article provides supporting or contrasting evidence. Scite included a variety of tools including a browser extension, custom dashboards, PDF uploader, and search. Learn more about how Scite was built in this MIT Press article.

Research Rabbit

Research Rabbit is a freely available citation-based literature mapping tool. It uses ‘seed papers’ to locate additional relevant literature via citation and collaboration networks. Read an in-depth review of Research Rabbit. PDF overview and brief tutorial from James Cook University.

LitMaps

LitMaps is another citation-based literature mapping tool, which operates on a 'freemium' model. Like Research Rabbit and Connected Papers, LitMaps uses ‘seed papers’ to locate additional relevant literature via citation and collaboration networks. LitMaps' database uses open access metadata from Semantic Scholar, CrossRef, and OpenAlex.

Connected Papers

Connected Papers is another citation-based literature mapping tool which operates on a 'freemium' model. Like LitMaps and Research Rabbit, LitMaps uses ‘seed papers’ to locate additional relevant literature via citation and collaboration networks. Connected Papers uses the Semantic Scholar database for its corpus. Learn more about Connected Papers.

There are several ways to locate articles written by nurses in CINAHL Complete. See the video tutorial.

1.  CINAHL Complete offers two limiters called "First Aurthor is Nurse" and "Any Author is Nurse". This option narrows search results to articles written from 2009 onwards by authors with RN, BSN, MSN or equivalent foreign credential.  These limiters are found on the main search page under "Search Options".

2.  To locate pre-2009 articles written by a nurse, select the Field Code option "AF Author Affiliation", located in the drop-down box to the right of the main search box on the CINAHL Complete search page. This restricts a search to an author's institution--where the author works, assuming this information has been included in the article. For example, enter "nursing" in the search box and select the field "AF Author Affiliation" from the drop-down "Select a Field" menu.  Your results will include articles written by authors affiliated with an institution that has the word "nursing" in the title, such as "College of Nursing" or "School of Nursing". 

3.  Search by nursing qualification in the "AF Author Affiliation" field. This allows you to search for such qualifications as "DNP", "CRNA", or "FNP". For example in the main search box, enter "FNP" with the "AF Author Affiliation" field specified will return articles with an author who is a family nurse practitioner.

4.  Use the "SO Publication Name" field to restrict search results to journals with the word "nursing" in the title of the journal, such as Journal of Advanced Nursing.  You can increase your search results by entering "nurs*" in the search box instead of "nursing".  The asterisk (*) is a useful technique called truncation, and searching on this term results in journals with nurs in the title, including the word nursing, nurse or nurses.  This technique may also be used when using the "AF Author Affiliation field code.

5.  Use the "Nursing" limiter found in the Journal Subset drop-down box on the "Search Options" page. This restricts search results to journals with a nursing focus. 

NOTE:  Options 2-5 above will limit search results to articles more likely to have a nurse as author, however, you should carefully examine an article to check whether or not there are nursing credentials listed for the author, such as Cindy Smith RN, MSN.

Scholar OneSearch (catalog only) search:

Information about submitting dissertations and theses online is available at the University Archives website.

Northeastern University dissertations online are searchable at Dissertations and Theses at NU

To search for dissertations beyond Northeastern University, use Proquest Dissertations and Theses, Global (PQDT).

Academic Video Online (AVON) 
Offers more than 48,000 videos across a broad range of disciplines. Take look at the Health Sciences videos!

Docuseek2
Docuseek2 is an academic streaming source for social issue films and documentaries, with hundreds of titles in all major disciplines, including health, healthcare, medicine and nursing.

Kanopy Streaming
Kanopy offers a broad range of documentaries across many disciplines. Take a look at the Health videos!