Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sociology : Home

A guide to online and print resources in sociology.

Sociology

Sociology & Anthropology Student Presentations
Thursday, December 8, from 9:00 am -- 1:00 pm in 047 RP

 

DATABASE TRIALS  includes access to the Hindustan Times.  This resource is a part of ProQuest Historical Newspapers  Hindustan Times Historical covers leading issues and events of the time, providing day-to-day news coverage of history in India. The historical newspaper offers coverage of 1924–2010, and is one of the largest newspapers in India.The paper is the second most widely read English newspaper in India (after The Times of India). The trial ends on December 28th 2022. 

Snell Library is currently offering trial access to World Politics Review, a daily online resource for international politics and foreign affairs written by more than 400 contributors from around the world and experts in a variety of disciplines. Full text is included in PDF or HTML format, or both, and the Review contains thousands of articles in its archive. The trial ends on December 31st,  2022.

Please take the time to let us know your thoughts on these resources by taking this short survey. Your input will help us make library resource decisions.

Key Resources

Interdisciplinary Resources

  • Academic Search Complete--can format ciitations
    Use the Citation Format drop down to save your results in Turabian-Author Date, closest format to ASA citation style. 
     
  • Global Issues in Context---helpful in finding a topic--there are almost 700 topics to browse!

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Christine Oka
Contact:
270 Snell Library
(617) 373-3316

Streaming Video Collections

Alexander Street logo and button

Academic Video Online (AVON) offers about 79,000 videos of interest to a broad range of disciplines, including topics such as social class, civil rights, the war in Ukraine.

For sociology research, visit the short (10 minutes) video, "Making Friends with Research Methods."

kanopy logo and button

Kanopy provides a broad range of documentaries across the disciplines.  See especially the Anthropology, Law & Criminal Justice and Sociology areas.

 

Docuseek provides academic streaming source for social issue films and documentaries. Check the Subject list for film topics.