Key Resources
- Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowScholarly, peer-reviewed articles and professional association publications, Abstracts and links to full text, about half are peer reviewed, covering all academic subjects including STEM fields.
Use this link if you want to include video clips (Opens in new window) from the Associated Press in your search results. - International Encyclopedia of Public Health 2nd ed. (Elsevier) This link opens in a new windowScholarly signed and referenced articles with an interdisciplinary approach to public health.
- International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences, 2nd Edition (2015) This link opens in a new windowA source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broad, deep and scholarly. Comprehensive name and subject tagging, signed articles and references.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowIn-depth, authoritative reports on political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature.
- DSM Library This link opens in a new windowIncludes the complete Diagnostic and Statistical Manual, DSM-5-TR, and additional related materials.
- ICD-11 is the 11th revision of the International Classification of Diseases by the World Health Organization
- Encyclopedia of Psychotherapy
- Health Measures is the official information and distribution center for PROMIS®, Neuro-QoL, NIH Toolbox®, and ASCQ-Me®, which were developed and evaluated with National Institutes of Health (NIH) funding. These four precise, flexible, and comprehensive measurement systems assess physical, mental, and social health, symptoms, well-being and life satisfaction; along with sensory, motor, and cognitive function.
- Policy Commons This link opens in a new windowReports, working papers, policy briefs, data, and audio and visual media drawn from a directory of thousands of government, nongovernment, and intergovernmental institutions and research centers.
- Policy File (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowU.S. foreign and domestic policy papers and gray literature, PolicyFile is updated weekly with abstracts and links to the latest reports, papers, and documents from think tanks, research institutes, and agencies.
- PsycInfo (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowAmerican Psychological Associations flagship PsycINFO database includes citations and abstracts of peer reviewed articles, books, and dissertations. Coverage from 1888 to the present. Full text links for Northeastern-subscribed materials.
- PTSDPubs This link opens in a new windowPTSDpubs helps you find information about post-traumatic stress, related effects of trauma, and mental health sequelae. It is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.
- What this includes articles from journals, books, pamphlets, dissertations, and technical reports. 1871 to present.
- Proquest Sociology This link opens in a new windowFull text articles about sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and more.
- Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new windowAn online collection of information for beginning and advanced researchers looking for the best methods to use in their research. Full access to Books & Reference, Cases Part 1, Datasets Part 1, and Video: Practical Research and Academic Skills.
- Social Services Abstracts (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts in social work research. Articles are from 1980 to the present.Links to full text.
For evidence-based research, or the systematic review, one resource for the social sciences is The Campbell Collaboration
Annie E. Casey Foundation website provides links to Publications and Data on well-being.
is link opens
Video Resources
- Counseling and Therapy in Video (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new windowCounseling and Therapy in Video provides video to help train students in counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling.
- Mindscape Commons This link opens in a new windowImmersive and interactive video content related to mental health. For patients and training for practitioners.
- Psychotherapy.net This link opens in a new window100+ videos for teaching, training, self-study and continuing education in psychotherapy, counseling and addiction treatment.
- Symptom Media This link opens in a new windowClinical training vignettes, produced with a multi-disciplinary behavioral health team and professional scriptwriters, filmmakers, and actors.
Course Resources
HUSV 2324 Mindfulness and Mental Health Spring 2023
- mindfulness and mental health Class handout for HUSV 2340 Fall 2022