For my research, I need . . . ...
- International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences, 2nd Edition (2015) This link opens in a new windowA source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broad, deep and scholarly. Comprehensive name and subject tagging, signed articles and references.
Encyclopedia of Community: From the Village to the Virtual World by
Sage Reference is very pleased to announce the Encyclopedia of Community, a major reference work that summarizes everything we know about how we humans come together. Community itself is a concept, an experience, and a central part of being human. The encyclopedia covers communities of the past and present, from 19th century utopians, to the communes of the 1960's, to today's Rotary Club, Amish, and cyber communities. Developed by award winning editors Karen Christensen and David Levinson with a board of leading scholars, the Encyclopedia of Community is essential for history, sociology, psychology, anthropology, economics, and public administration students and the interested public, who will turn to the encyclopedia for inspiration and illumination, stories and strategies.
ISBN: 0761925988Publication Date: 2003
Encyclopedia of Social Psychology: by
The Encyclopedia of Social Psychology is designed as a road map to this rapidly growing and important field and provides individuals with a simple, clear, jargon-free introduction. These two volumes include more than 600 entries chosen by a diverse team of experts to comprise an exhaustive list of the most important concepts. Entries provide brief, clear, and readable explanations to the vast number of ideas and concepts that make up the intellectual and scientific content in the area of social psychology.
ISBN: 1412916704Publication Date: 2007-08-29
Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian Gay Bisexual & Transgender History
"Takes an interdisciplinary approach to the subject, using film, literature, human rights, politics, landmark legislation, activism, the arts, language, sports, and historical events as points of entry into the content"
Publication Date: 2019
The Max Weber Dictionary: Key Words and Central Concepts by
Max Weber is one of the world's most important social scientists, but he is also one of the most notoriously difficult to understand. This revised, updated, and expanded edition of The Max Weber Dictionary reflects up-to-the-moment threads of inquiry and introduces the most recent translations and references. Additionally, the authors include new entries designed to help researchers use Weber's ideas in their own work; they illuminate how Weber himself thought theorizing should occur and how he went about constructing a theory.
ISBN: 9781503600225Publication Date: 2016
Medical Sociology on the Move: New Directions in Theory by
This book provides readers with a single source reviewing and updating sociological theory in medical or health sociology. The book not only addresses the major theoretical approaches in the field today, it also identifies the future directions these theories are likely to take in explaining the social processes affecting health and disease. Many of the chapters are written by leading medical sociologists who feature the use of theory in their everyday work, including contributions from the original theorists of fundamental causes, health lifestyles, and medicalization. Theories focusing on both agency and structure are included to provide a comprehensive account of this important area in medical sociology.
ISBN: 9789400761933Publication Date: 2013
The Oxford Handbook of Cognitive Sociology by
In recent years there has been a growing interest in cognition within sociology and other social sciences. Within sociology this interest cuts across various topical subfields, including culture, social psychology, religion, race, and identity. Scholars within the new subfield of cognitivesociology, also referred to as the sociology of culture and cognition, are contributing to a rapidly developing body of work on how mental and social phenomena are interrelated and often interdependent.In The Oxford Handbook of Cognitive Sociology, Wayne H. Brekhus and Gabe Igantow have gathered some of the most influential scholars working in cognitive sociology to present an accessible introduction to key research areas in a diverse field. While classical sociological and newer interdisciplinaryapproaches have been covered separately by scholars in the past, this volume alternatively presents a broad range of cognitive sociological perspectives. The contributors discuss a range of approaches for theorizing and analyzing the "social mind," including macro-cultural approaches, interactionistapproaches, and research that draws on Pierre Bourdieu's major concepts. Each chapter further investigates a variety of cognitive processes within these three approaches, such as attention and inattention, perception, automatic and deliberate cognition, cognition and social action, stereotypes,categorization, classification, judgment, symbolic boundaries, meaning-making, metaphor, embodied cognition, morality and religion, identity construction, time sequencing, and memory.A comprehensive look at cognitive sociology's main contributions and the central debates within the field, the Handbook will serve as a primary resource for social researchers, faculty, and students interested in how cognitive sociology can contribute to research within their substantive areas offocus.
ISBN: 9780190273385Publication Date: 2019- SAGE Encyclopedia of World Poverty by
The SAGE Encyclopedia of World Poverty, Second Edition addresses the persistence of poverty across the globe while updating and expanding the landmark work, Encyclopedia of World Poverty, originally published in 2006 prior to the economic calamities of 2008.
ISBN: 1483345726Publication Date: 2015
Specialized Sources
- UMass Amherst Guide of Reparations in the United States--Historical Timeline of Reparations Payments Made From 1783 through 2022 by the United States Government, States, Cities, Religious Institutions, Universities, Corporations, and Communities
- EIU Viewpoint and Country Reports (Economist Intelligence Unit) This link opens in a new windowContains Country Reports, Country Finance, and Country Commerce, plus special reports on current international issues. Updated continuously. Terms of service
- Europa World Plus This link opens in a new windowAn encyclopedia with detailed entries covering political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories. Not limited to Europe! Frequently updated.
- Foreign Policy This link opens in a new windowGlobal news magazine providing insights and analysis as well as original reporting.
- Policy Commons This link opens in a new windowReports, working papers, policy briefs, data, and audio and visual media drawn from a directory of thousands of government, nongovernment, and intergovernmental institutions and research centers.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowBrings together data and graphs on every imaginable topic from business to government, surveys, sports, and scientific topics. Under the dropdown menu for Reports are reports on Countries and Regions with demographic data.
Open Resources
- BBC News Country Profiles
Authoritative source for country information, reports, white papers and studies. - Forced Migration Review
- Human Development Reports from the United National Development Programme
- World Development Reports (WDR) from The World Bank
Library Media Collections
- Academic Video Online (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new windowAcademic Video Online Premium provides video content to a broad range of subject areas, including documentaries and journalistic content on topics in business, politics, history, music, public health, education and more. Training videos are also available.
- Docuseek This link opens in a new windowDocumentary films for higher education. Sociology is one of the many topics includes in their extensive subjectx list.
- Kanopy Streaming This link opens in a new windowA curated collection of films for the Northeastern community, including feature films as well as high-interest documentaries. You may use Scholar OneSearch to find out if Northeastern has a particular film. Closed captions and transcripts included. Films provided by HBO and Neon Films cannot be viewed outside of the U.S.
- Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new windowAn online collection of information for beginning and advanced researchers looking for the best methods to use in their research. Full access includes Video: Practical Research and Academic Skills.
Open resource, or free, videos are online. Noteworthy collections include:
Podcasts
Create an account to access current digital editions of these newspapers--
- Financial TimesLondon-based and international in scope, with extensive business, marketing, economic, political, news and trends worldwide. Also hosts subject-focused newsletters, podcasts, and live conferences. Access to the Financial Times requires registration with a Northeastern or NU London email address.
- New York Times via NYTimes.com This link opens in a new windowNortheastern offers current and archival access to the New York Times. Please use the link above to register with a Northeastern email address. Once registered, users can log in directly at https://www.nytimes.com or use the New York Times app on a smartphone or device.
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new windowLeading economic, business, finance, and political news, information, commentary and analysis. For historic WSJ content dating back to 1985, please use Factiva (Opens in new window). Individual registration using a Northeastern email address is required.
- Washington PostWashington D.C.'s newspaper, with coverage of the city and region, national events, and coverage of federal government "inside-the-beltway" news. For off-campus access, please create an account and then follow these instructions (Opens in new window) to link our university subscription. Once registered, users can log in directly at www.washingtonpost.com.
Historical/International News
- Access World News Research Collection (Newsbank) This link opens in a new windowOur largest general news source, with current and complete newspapers, magazines, wire services from around the world. Backfiles sometimes go back to the 1980s. Text only.
- Hindustan Times 1960-2000 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowAccess to the second most widely read English newspaper in India, covering subjects such as colonialism and post-colonialism, British and world history, class and gender issues, international relations, comparative religion, international economics, terrorism, and more.
- Nikkei Asia This link opens in a new windowCoverage of Asia's economic, political, business and technology news in English. Established with a goal to change the way the Asia is covered internationally and to enhance the world’s understanding of pan-Asian affairs.
Also includes data on financial markets and top companies in the region.
- Times of India 1838-2010 (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowBased in Mumbai, the Times of India offers full page and article images with searchable full text.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowOne of the most trusted sources for scholarly books and historical journal backfiles. Beginning in 2023, JSTOR also includes ArtStor images of art and primary source artifacts. Use the Advanced Search option to search journal collections.
- BrowZine Web Edition This link opens in a new windowBrowZine is software that allows you to browse, read, and monitor many of the library's scholarly journals in a format optimized for your iOS or Android device. Scroll down for Social Science and Behavioral Science to see sociology journals.
- Ulrichs Web This link opens in a new windowLists all journals, print and electronic, with publisher information, subscription prices, subject descriptions, web locations, and much more.
- Tutorial: This video tutorial shows how to use Ulrich's to find out if a journal is peer-reviewed. (or see the PDF/slide version)
What are primary sources?
Some examples of Primary Sources:
- Audio recordings of a speech or oral history
- Autobiographies, diaries, or letters
- Certain government documents, such as congressional hearings or agency reports
- Interviews
- Journal articles which report first hand observations
- Newspaper accounts of events
- Photographs or moving images of an event
- Records of an organization, often kept in Archives
Primary Source Collections include:
- Boston Public Schools Desegregation Collection (Northeastern University) This link opens in a new windowThis project was partially funded by the Boston Library Consortium.
Reports, correspondence, memorandum, newsletters, flyers, posters, legal proceedings, newspaper clippings, and photographs documenting the desegregation of the Boston Public Schools and its effect on students, parents, and communities. - Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture, Law This link opens in a new windowThis collection brings together all known legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.
https://storycorps.org/working/ Working collection introduced by Barack Obama