Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
We are still offering consultation services during the COVID-19 move to online instruction. Please feel free to reach out for virtual appointments! For more information on library services and resources, please click here.
Center for Research Libraries
Center for Research Library Middle East Collections: Overview
CRL’s collection of Middle Eastern-related material encompasses significant runs of newspapers from every country, dissertations on the Arab world and Islam, monographs and serials acquired through early deposit, and archival and microform sets of primary source content such as Department of State and British Colonial Office Records.
The NU Libraries are a member of the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), an international group of research libraries that preserves and makes available to scholars critical primary source materials. CRL acquires and preserves newspapers, journals, documents, and records from all over the world. As a member, Northeastern provides you with CRL's vast collection.
Most Middle East materials at CRL are not yet digitized, so they must be ordered in advance to allow for time to ship. Use ILLiad to request CRL materials on loan.
Key CRL Resources in Middle Eastern Studies:
Middle East Microform Project (MEMP)
Since its inception, MEMP has acquired approximately 100 historical newspaper titles in Arabic, Turkish, and English, including a large collection of Sudanese and Turkish papers. Other projects include the microfilming of a large pamphlet file of materials on the Middle East at the Library of Congress and the microfilming of the Cosro Chaqeri Collection of Iranian Left-wing Materials.
Key Digital Collections Online
Digital National Security Archive
Founded by journalists and scholars, the National Security Archive promotes open government by acting as a clearinghouse for declassified information.
The archive consists of primary source information: declassified government documents, chronologies, and images; plus secondary sources like bibliographies and explanatory essays. Covers critical issues in U.S. foreign policy and national security from post-World War II to the present.
ArchNet.org (Aga Khan Trust for Culture/MIT)
Images of architectural monuments and other artifacts of visual culture, urbanism, environmental and landscape design in the Muslim world. Includes individual architects' archives, photography from the Harvard Middle East Collection, and music from the Paul Bowles collection.
This site hosts a downloadable library of hundreds of works of Classical Arabic literature, including works on history, geography, and science, as well as texts on Islamic law, hadeeth, and the Qur'an. The site is intended to be a comprehensive collection of the famous, classical texts of Islamic civilization. A mobile version is available on iTunes.
OpenOttoman (Institute of Advanced Study, Princeton University)
Includes a Gazetteer of the Ottoman Empire, and links to online archives and libraries.
Ottoman History Podcast
Keep up with new developments from researchers in the field of Ottoman studies.
This podcast series is supported by Georgetown University and other U.S., European, and Turkish educational and private institutions.
Perseus Arabic (Tufts University)
Includes several interpretations of the Qur'an, lexicons, and dictionaries.