It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Middle East Studies: Online Archives and Exhibits
A guide to Middle East news sources, web databases, digital libraries, and research tools available at the NU Libraries
CRL’s collection of Middle Eastern-related material encompasses significant runs of newspapers from every country, dissertations on the Arab world and Islam, monographs and serials acquired through early deposit, and archival and microform sets of primary source content such as Department of State and British Colonial Office Records.
The NU Libraries are a member of the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), an international group of research libraries that preserves and makes available to scholars critical primary source materials. CRL acquires and preserves newspapers, journals, documents, and records from all over the world. As a member, Northeastern provides you with CRL's vast collection.
Most Middle East materials at CRL are not yet digitized, so they must be ordered in advance to allow for time to ship. Use ILLiad to request CRL materials on loan.
Since its inception, MEMP has acquired approximately 100 historical newspaper titles in Arabic, Turkish, and English, including a large collection of Sudanese and Turkish papers. Other projects include the microfilming of a large pamphlet file of materials on the Middle East at the Library of Congress and the microfilming of the Cosro Chaqeri Collection of Iranian Left-wing Materials.
Founded by journalists and scholars, the National Security Archive promotes open government by acting as a clearinghouse for declassified information. Primary source materials: declassified government documents, chronologies, images, bibliographies, and explanatory essays on topics related to national security.
There are 42 collections, each with thousands of documents and maps. Each of these collections covers critical world events, countries, and U.S. foreign policy from post-World War II to the present. Primary source information is of value to researchers in international relations.
Information in the DNSA subscription database is updated by materials on the National Security Archive website at George Washington University, which includes the latest FOIA released documents, and documents released pursuant to lawsuits. Also, some subjects like Able Archer 83, the Torture Archive, the Genocide Documentation Project and Cyber Vault are stand-alone projects that are only available on the website.
Overall, the DNSA subscription resource is more comprehensive with 1.000 to 3,000 documents on a subject and each set has a chronology, bibliography, and glossary, as well as an Essay and Sources section. Updated sets are produced periodically, either with newly-released material on an existing topic or with new collections on new topics. In all cases, we suggest searching both the subscription database and the website for a complete record.
Images of architectural monuments and other artifacts of visual culture, urbanism, environmental and landscape design in the Muslim world. Includes individual architects' archives, photography from the Harvard Middle East Collection, and music from the Paul Bowles collection.
This site hosts a downloadable library of hundreds of works of Classical Arabic literature, including works on history, geography, and science, as well as texts on Islamic law, hadeeth, and the Qur'an. The site is intended to be a comprehensive collection of the famous, classical texts of Islamic civilization. A mobile version is available on iTunes.