AI basics
I continue to learn more about how generative AI works, but it also keeps changing!
How does generative AI work? Did you know that GPT stands for: Generative Pre-trained Transformer? That helps actually!
How is it changing and how do we keep up? What should it be used for in regards to research?
These and other questions are just some of what I think about. Maybe you do to. Once I know the name of one version of ChatGPT (just one of the many options) I hear there is a new one! Currently, in July 2024 that is ChatGPT4o-the free version. So what is the difference between free and paid versions!?
- How can generative AI help with research: An NU Library resourceA library guide that describes generative AI with suggestions for when to use it and when other tools might be better.
- How Tech Giants Cut Corners to Harvest Data for A.I.New York Times, April 2024
- Tokens are a big reason today’s generative AI falls shortTech Crunch, July 6, 2024
by Kyle Wiggers
Citing AI generated content?
- Authorship and AI ToolsCOPE Position Statement
The use of artificial intelligence (AI) tools such as ChatGPT or Large Language Models in research publications is expanding rapidly. COPE joins organisations, such as WAME and the JAMA Network among others, to state that AI tools cannot be listed as an author of a paper.
AI tools cannot meet the requirements for authorship as they cannot take responsibility for the submitted work. As non-legal entities, they cannot assert the presence or absence of conflicts of interest nor manage copyright and license agreements.
Authors who use AI tools in the writing of a manuscript, production of images or graphical elements of the paper, or in the collection and analysis of data, must be transparent in disclosing in the Materials and Methods (or similar section) of the paper how the AI tool was used and which tool was used. Authors are fully responsible for the content of their manuscript, even those parts produced by an AI tool, and are thus liable for any breach of publication ethics. - Chatbots, Generative AI, and Scholarly ManuscriptsWorld Association of Medical Authors (WAME)
One section states
2: Authors should be transparent when chatbots are used and provide information about how they were used. - APA Publishing PoliciesOne section states:
When a generative artificial intelligence (AI) model is used in the drafting of a manuscript for an APA publication, the use of AI must be disclosed in the methods section and cited.
NEW AI Resource: Scite.ai
The library licenses Scite.ai in the spring of 2024. It's resources are heavily STEM related. One key feature is the analysis of articles/publications that have cited a particular work. The results will show supporting or refuting the original article. Scite Assistant interfaces with a ChatGPT feature to help answer questions related to the included content.
Try it out and read more from scite.ai by following the links below.
- Scite.ai This link opens in a new windowAn AI-powered research platform that analyzes and provides citation context for scientific papers, helping researchers evaluate the credibility and impact of scholarly articles. Account registration is necessary for some features.
Perspectives on AI: News and Articles
Keeping up with all that is happening with AI, ChatGPT and all the other forms will be ongoing. Listed here are a few selected resources available starting in the fall of 2023.
- Can you trust AI-powered search engines like OpenAI’s SearchGPT? Northeastern expert explains why she’s ‘extremely skeptical’Northeastern Global News, July 26, 2024
by Cesareo Contreras - Two Major Academic Publishers Signed Deals With AI Companies. Some Professors Are Outraged.The Conversation, July 23, 2024
- Why You Should Rethink Your Resistance to ChatGPTChronicle of Higher Education
Advice - By Flower Darby
November 13, 2023 - Science and the new age of AIA website from Springer Nature
This special website looks at how these changes are affecting different areas of science — and how it should respond to the challenges the tools present. It includes selected articles from journalists as well as editorials and comment from Nature, including subscriber-only content. The site will be updated with more content as it is published.
Highlighted sources
AI in healthcare
These are a few highlighted resources but there will be many new publications and discussions on the value, ethical considerations and challenges of AI. A few tips on keeping up are in a separate section.
- Risks and remedies for artificial intelligence in health careBrookings
W. Nicholson Price II
November 14, 2019 - AI could help doctors make better diagnosesNPR
October 25, 20235:12 AM ET
Heard on Morning Edition, By Craig LeMoult - Leveraging artificial intelligence and health care dataSTAT E-BOOKS, will need to download
Publication date: November 2023 - AI Chatbots, Health Privacy, and Challenges to HIPAA ComplianceJAMA viewpoint February 19, 2024
Policies and other thoughts
Journals focused on AI
- NEJM AI - Links to Browzine view--explores the cutting-edge applications of artificial intelligence and machine learning in clinical medicine.
- JMIR AI - links to PubMed CentralA new peer reviewed journal focused on research and applications for the health artificial intelligence (AI) community.
AI Ebooks in our collection
These are here to highlight some of the possible books available in our collection. As more options and uses are discovered, many more will be published.
Future Health Scenarios: AI and digital technoligies in global healthcare systems by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781032131498Publication Date: 2023Focusses on prospective scenarios in health to foresight possible futures Addresses the urgent needs of the key population, socio-technical, and health themes Covers health innovative practices as 3D models for surgeries, big data to treat rare diseases, AI robot for heart treatments Explores telemedicine using big data, deep learning, robotics, mobile and remote applications Reviews public health based on predictive analytics and disease trends
Intelligent Healthcare: Applications of AI in eHealth by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9783030670504Publication Date: 2021This book fosters a scientific debate for sophisticated approaches and cognitive technologies (such as deep learning, machine learning and advanced analytics) for enhanced healthcare services in light of the tremendous scope in the future of intelligent systems for healthcare.
Artificial Intelligence in Medicine by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9789811912221Publication Date: 2022The precision, automation, and potential of AI brings multiple benefits to the way disease is diagnosed, investigated and treated...This book is suited for all readers as it requires no previous knowledge, it walks non-technical clinicians through the complex ideas and concepts in an easy to understand manner.
Search the literature for AI topics
Looking for publications on artificial intelligence is much like any other research strategy. Consider what aspect you are interested in and what it relates to.
- Tip #1: Using acronyms: AI, is a common acronym for Artificial Intelligence but can mean other things, such as "antagonists and inhibitors". Spelling out the word is recommended to be sure. You may want to add another descriptor, such as generative Artificial Intelligence.
- Tip #2: What kind of artificial intelligence are you interested in? Are you interested in a particular tool such as ChatGPT? Identify the search terms that will cover your topic.
- Tip #3: Where would literature be published on the topic area you are interested in related to AI? technology? healthcare? Choose a database based on the primary subject areas it covers.
- Tip #4: Do you know a publication name that is key to your topic? Search it directly.
Look at the database or resource description to ensure you are included all of the voices (authors, journals) covering your interests.
- PubMed (NU customized) This link opens in a new windowUse for articles covering AI in relation to health topics.
- Inspec (EI Village) This link opens in a new windowUse to find journals in engineering and computer science.
Search for additional sources in our online catalog through Scholar OneSearch, limit to Ebooks if that is your preference. The example below used the Boston Campus.
- artificial intelligence AND healthcare (Ebooks)This is an example search for the labeled terms and limited to Ebooks