How can the Library support your course?
The Library can support your course in a number of ways, including and not limited to those listed below:
Develop online learning objects (Canvas modules, videos, tutorials) which meet course or assignment learning objects.
Provide in-class instruction sessions on aspects of information literacy.
Ensure that we have maximal availability in our schedules for student consultations during a particular period of the semester.
Identify and/or purchase texts, tools, and resources for your course.
TIP: It can be important to understand the number of uses that are allowed for each electronic resource. Look for license or use numbers with a collection.
eBooks
The library has millions of Ebooks. Some are in collections or certain vendors may cover specific disciplines. Below are the main vendors for health sciences Ebooks.They come in a variety of formats too.
All of the "Access" databases include core texts for that discipline.
Health sciences core content
- Stat!Ref (TDS Health) This link opens in a new windowA library of health care information, including DSM-IV-TR, Merck Manual, and hundreds of other e-books, handbooks and journals.
- Case Files Collection (McGraw-Hill Medical) This link opens in a new windowMedical case files including topics in medical ethics. Text, images, audio. Some resources such as flash cards may require an individual McGraw Access account. Please register here then return to this page and use the above link for access.
- F. A. Davis PT Collection This link opens in a new windowIncludes 29 of the most important physical therapy textbooks, including Duttons Orthopaedic Examination, Evaluation, and Intervention and OSullivan, Physical Rehabilitation, fully searchable and continuously updated.
- Stahl Online (Cambridge) This link opens in a new windowE-book platform including Stahl's Illustrated series, Stahl's Essential Psychopharmacology, Prescriber's Guide: Drug Interactions, and more.
Broad non-discipline specific but include health sciences.
- Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new windowAn online collection of information for beginning and advanced researchers looking for the best methods to use in their research. Full access to Books & Reference, Cases Part 1, Datasets Part 1, and Video: Practical Research and Academic Skills.
- IET Digital Library This link opens in a new windowE-books from the Institution of Engineering and Technology and SciTech imprints
TIP: When searching for a book in Scholar OneSearch, the link will lead to one of these or another vendor platform. Be sure to read the license information related to how many copies/concurrent uses are available.
Videos: Collections and Selections
We have many available film options. A selection of video sources, in NU Library collections, with health sciences content are listed below.
Documentaries and other films, many of which include health.
- Kanopy Streaming This link opens in a new windowA curated collection of films for the Northeastern community, including feature films as well as high-interest documentaries. You may use Scholar OneSearch to find out if Northeastern has a particular film. Closed captions and transcripts included. Films provided by HBO and Neon Films cannot be viewed outside of the U.S.
- Docuseek This link opens in a new windowDocumentary films for higher education including the Good Docs Collection.
- Films on Demand (FMG) This link opens in a new windowOver 200 films are available. Please let us know if you would like to suggest a film.Films include closed captions and transcripts.
Mental health and behavioral health.
- Mindscape Commons This link opens in a new windowImmersive and interactive video content related to mental health. For patients and training for paractitioners.
- Symptom Media This link opens in a new windowClinical training vignettes, produced with a multi-disciplinary behavioral health team and professional scriptwriters, filmmakers, and actors.
- Counseling and Therapy in Video (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new windowCounseling and Therapy in Video provides video to help train students in counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling.
Course Reserves
Course reserves are library materials that faculty request to be set aside for use in certain courses during a particular semester.
Course reserves may consist of electronic (online) materials, print (hard copy) materials, or a combination of the two.
It is important to plan ahead for your semester titles as some may take longer to make available.
- Learn more about the Library's Course Reserve program.
Recommend Materials
We are interested in your recommendations. Let us know what resources you'd like to see in the library collection.
- Use the form: Recommend a resource,for books, journal, tool, or database. We look forward to hearing from you.
Teaching and Learning Support
We have additional options for you and your students to learn about library resources or other materials.
- Affordable Course MaterialsGet support for evaluating and selecting affordable course materials, including using the library's e-journal and e-book content as course readings.
- Library WorkshopsScheduled throughout the year, they cover citation managers, research strategies and more. All session are Open to all! View a list and register. Some recordings are available later.
- Tutorials from library staffThe library has a series of tutorials available in Canvas as well as a dedicated page on the web. They vary from general tips to ones on specific topics for identified disciplines.
Citation Support
Librarians are often asked to provide support for citing. It might be how to cite in a specific format, such as APA or AMA, or it might be how to use a citation management tool.
We have seen the most use for EndNote, Mendeley and Zotero. Organize citations and share them with your research team using citation management software.
Data Visualization and GIS
Data visualization or information visualization is a very broad term used to describe any visual representation of information. This can be anything from charts and graphs, to sketches and diagrams, to posters and presentations. Anything that help communicate information visually. Here at Snell, we usually help people with things like creating dashboards, maps, and tables of data.
- Data VisualizationKate Kryder is our data visualization expert.
- GIS MappingBahare Sanaie-Movahed is our GIS expert
Map AccessMedicine and AccessPhysiotherapy Content to Your Course
McGraw-Hill offers course content maps to map resources from their digital medical sites to your syllabus. This will save you time from searching through their content. They are constantly being updated. See which programs are mapped with the Content maps link below.
A selection of courses with mapped content includes:
- Advanced Practice Nurses
- Doctor of Nursing Practice
- Doctor of Nurse Anesthesia Practice
- Doctor of Physical Therapy
- Doctor of Pharmacy
- Physician Assistant Program
- Healthcare Professionals During COVID-19
- MSN Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner
- MSN Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner
- Quality and Safety Education for Nurses
- Undergraduate Medical Education.