It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Bioengineering: Getting Started
A guide to Snell Library's Bioengineering resources for students, faculty, and staff.
Interactive ebooks and databases for scientific and engineering information.
View a Quick Start Guide.
or certain properties there are specific chemical equations and digital graphs. Analyze data, sort, filter and export from 'live tables', resolve equations and plot graphs, capture values from existing graphs and perform 'What If' experiments.
Download: Some book chapters and sections are in PDF and may be downloaded.
Printing: Some book chapters and sections are in PDF and may be printed.
A comprehensive interdisciplinary database focused on engineering and computer science. Engineering Village contains the latest academic articles, conference papers and proceedings, dissertations, government reports, book chapters and more.
Coverage: 1969 to present, including some older backfiles, and new articles in press from over 1,000 journals.
Web of Science is an interdisciplinary database that indexes over 11,000 scholarly journals (1975-present). Use for citation tracking, finding seminal literature, data visualizations, author alerts, institutional affiliations, and impact factors.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Science Citation Index
Social Science Citation Index
Book Citation Index (2005-present)
Conference Citation Index
Emerging Sources Citation Index
Current Chemical Reactions Index
More than just medical literature, PubMed was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) and publishers of life sciences literature. PubMed consists of 34 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals and online books. While the database itself is a free web resource, the articles within are not always freely available. This link will prompt you to login with your Northeastern username and password to view articles from Northeastern-subscribed journals.
Tackling a new topic?
Try looking for a review article first. Review articles attempt to summarize the state of research on a scientific topic. While lengthy, & not generally including the very latest research, review articles are a great way to start to get a handle on a topic.
Don't overlook the literature cited at the end of the review - the bibliography contains a wealth of information about the key discoveries & main researchers in the field.
Most databases (including PubMed & Web of Science below) will allow you to limit your search to include only review articles or literature reviews.
A peer-reviewed video methods journal, consisting of video demonstrations and detailed text protocols of new and standard methods in physical and life sciences. Students and researchers can see the details of experiments and concepts, in addition to text-based descriptions.
Below are a few links to components of JoVE relevant for Biology: