Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Key Resources: Databases for Bioengineering
Use this link for direct full-text access to Northeastern's resources through PubMed.
PubMed comprises more than 32 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. For tips on searching efficiently and effectively in PubMed, click here
Combined search of the INSPEC and COMPENDEX databases
Scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics and computer science from journals, conference proceedings, books and dissertations.
Interactive ebooks and databases for scientific and engineering information. For certain properties there are specific chemical equations and digital graphs. Analyze data, sort, filter and export from 'live tables', resolve equations and plot graphs, capture values from existing graphs and perform 'what if' experiments.
Web of Science
Web of Science is a database that broadly covers all of the sciences with strengths in natural sciences, health sciences, engineering, computer science, materials sciences. Great for interdisciplinary research, it also includes coverage of social sciences, arts, and humanities. Web of Science contains over 73 million records.
Science Direct is the web site for selected journal titles from the scholarly publisher Elsevier and its affiliates.
Featured resource: JoVE
JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments) is a science video resource that includes a variety of resources for use in the classroom and in the lab. It has two components:
- Science Education Video Collection: Teaching-focused videos including concept animations, ‘scientist in action’ videos to see concepts applied, and lab manual videos that cover preparation procedures for common labs
- Video Journal: A peer-reviewed video methods journal, consisting of video demonstrations and detailed text protocols of new and standard methods in physical and life sciences. Students and researchers can see the details of experiments and concepts, in addition to text-based descriptions.
Below are a few links to components of JoVE relevant for Biology:
Finding journal articles
A-Z E-Journal Search
Search over 13,000 e-journals available through Northeastern
Search a complete list of databases available through Northeastern. Use the dropdown menus at the top of the page to limit to particular subjects or types of content.
What if Northeastern doesn't have access to an article?
Need a book, book chapter, or article not available at Northeastern? You can request materials that aren't available at Northeastern University Library through ILLIad, our interlibrary loan service.