Southeast Asian Resources
Newspapers & News Sources
Specialized News Sources
-
Boston Globe (1872-present) (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowHistorical and current access to the Boston Globe, one of two major daily newspapers in Boston. Historic content (1872-1990) includes a PDF view of the newspaper including illustrations, charts, and advertisements. After 1990, only text is available. Link to the most recent issue.
-
Ethnic NewsWatch (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) full text newspapers, magazines and journals of American ethnic, minority and indigenous communities. Offers additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Advanced Search option filters to Asian/Pacific Islander population.
-
Los Angeles Times 1881-2012 (Proquest)Fully digitized newspaper Los Angeles Times from 1881 to 2012.
-
Nikkei Asia This link opens in a new windowCoverage of Asia's economic, political, business and technology news in English. Established with a goal to change the way the Asia is covered internationally and to enhance the world’s understanding of pan-Asian affairs.
Also includes data on financial markets and top companies in the region.
-
PressReader This link opens in a new windowPressReader provides online access to today's newspapers from over 100 countries around the world in over 60 languages in a full-color, full-page format. This is a 90 day archive. PressReader can also be accessed via email registration. Go directly to the home page, click 'Sign In,' then 'Library or Group,' then select Northeastern University from the dropdown menu to create your account.
-
South China Morning Post 1903-2001 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowThis historical newspaper provides news coverage of the politics, society and events of China and Hong Kong. In addition to article content, the full-image newspapers offer searchable access to advertisements, editorials, cartoons, and classified ads.
Free Magazines by/about Southeast Asians
-
AARP has links to communities, such as Asian American and Pacific Islander Community and content if you prefer to read in Chinese!
- Alon: journal for Filipinx American and diasporic studies.
- Asian American Feminist Collective
- Brown Girl Magazine
- Character Media: Asian Americans in Entertainment
- Hmong Times
- Hyphen Magazine: Asian American Unabridged.
- Mochi Magazine
- Positively Filipino: Your Window on the Filipino Diaspora
Check your Global Campus Library Portal for local library information.
At the Boston Campus --How to Request books from Remote Annex
Available at School of Law --book may be found at the School of Law Library,
-
Colonial Subjects : essays on the practical history of anthropology
by
It is often forgotten that anthropology -- the scientific study of cultural difference -- arose from situations that required a practical management of cultural differences. Out of the practical contexts of colonial contact -- administration, mission, nationalism, policing, settler cultivation, tourism, warfare -- emerged methods, and images of otherness, that inform anthropological notions of cultural difference to this day. The essays in this volume share the assumption that "ethnography, " far from being the unique purview of anthropology, is a broader field of practice out of which and alongside which anthropology attempted to distinguish itself as a scientific discipline. They explore a variety of situations in colonial South and Southeast Asia and Africa and in the treatment of the indigenous inhabitants of North America and Australia to provide genealogies of present-day anthropological practices, tracing them back to the subjects of colonial ethnography. This book introduces into the history of anthropology many of the insights developed in recent studies in history, cultural studies, and the anthropology of colonialism. It can serve as a course book in the history of anthropology and the anthropology of colonialism, while at the same time addressing a much larger audience of students of colonial history, of the history of science and modernity, and of globalization.
ISBN: 0472110179Publication Date: 1999 -
Endangered Peoples of Southeast and East Asia : struggles to survive and thrive
by
The tremendous cultural diversity and distinct ways of life of many Southeast and East Asian peoples are in serious jeopardy today because of varying combinations of economic, political, and environmental threats, often linked to severe human rights violations. Endangered Peoples of Southeast and East Asia introduces 14 endangered cultures, from the Kubu of Central Sumatra in Indonesia, to the Ainu of Japan. The most pressing issues of these marginalized groups--such as the impact of tourism, prohibition against whaling, or dislocation due to nuclear testing--are brought to light by anthropologists based on their own extensive field work. The cultural and historical information provided here is not available in any other printed source.
Endangered peoples of Southeast and East Asia struggle with inadequate understanding, protection, and enforcement of human rights by state governments and the international community. The volume introduction discusses the diversity, identity, ecology, spirituality, colonial status, conflicts and wars, and finally, hope for the future of people in this region. Subsequent chapters are devoted to fourteen specific cultures, including an overview of their history, housing, subsistence strategies, social and political organization, religion and world view, threats to their survival, and their response to these threats. A section entitled Food for Thought poses questions that encourage a personal engagement with the experience of these peoples, and a resource guide suggests further reading and lists pertinent organizations and web sites. As the curriculum expands to include Asian history, this unique volume will be valuable to students and teachers alike
Publication Date: 2000 -
The Legend of the Golden Boat
by
"This book provides a new approach to the study of South-East Asia's northern borderlands. Based on extensive travel in the upper-Mekong hinterland, it is an account of the lives of the transport operators, traders, entrepreneurs and government officials who are contributing to the contemporary revival in upper-Mekong cross-border connections. This ethnographic study is set against an intriguing background of war, revolution and reform, providing one of the most detailed histories of the region ever written."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
ISBN: 0824822552Publication Date: 1999 -
Music in Mainland Southeast Asia
by
** Music in Mainland Southeast Asia is one of several case-study volumes that can be used along with Thinking Musically, the core book in the Global Music Series. Thinking Musically incorporates music from many diverse cultures and establishes the framework for exploring the practice of musicaround the world. It sets the stage for an array of case-study volumes, each of which focuses on a single area of the world. Each case study uses the contemporary musical situation as a point of departure, covering historical information and traditions as they relate to the present. **Mainland Southeast Asia is a culturally diverse and musically intriguing area, yet the ethnomusicological record lacks coverage of many of its musical and cultural traditions. Placing the music of this region within a social, cultural, and historical context, Music in Mainland Southeast Asia is thefirst brief, stand-alone volume to profile the under-represented musical traditions of Burma, Cambodia, Thailand, and Vietnam. It also contains the first introduction to Burmese music ever presented in a music textbook.Drawing on his extensive fieldwork, author Gavin Douglas frames this survey of Southeast Asian music within three key themes: music and diversity, music and political turmoil, and music and globalization. Each theme lends itself to a discussion of the region's classical musical traditions, folktraditions, and contemporary developments. Uniquely focusing on the people who practice these musical traditions - rather than the locales from which the traditions originate - the text also follows individuals out of their native lands and into diasporic communities throughout the world.A vibrant, thorough introduction, Music in Mainland Southeast Asia is ideal for introductory undergraduate courses in world music or ethnomusicology and for upper-level courses in Southeast Asian music or Southeast Asian culture. Packaged with a 70-minute CD containing musical examples, the textfeatures numerous listening activities that actively engage students with the music and the themes. The companion website includes supplementary materials for instructors.
ISBN: 9780195367829Publication Date: 2009
Ebooks
-
Children of Cambodia's Killing Fields > memoirs by survivors
by
This extraordinary book contains eyewitness accounts of life in Cambodia during Pol Pot's genocidal Khmer Rouge regime from 1975 to 1979, accounts written by survivors who were children at the time. The book has been put together by Dith Pran, whose own experiences in Cambodia were so graphically portrayed in the film The Killing Fields. The testimonies related here bear poignant witness to the slaughter the Khmer Rouge inflicted on the Cambodian people. The contributors--most of them now in the United States and pictured in photographs that accompany their stories--report on life in Democratic Kampuchea as seen through children's eyes. They speak of their bewilderment and pain as Khmer Rouge cadres tore their families apart, subjected them to harsh brainwashing, drove them from their homes to work in forced-labor camps, and executed captives in front of them. Their stories tell of suffering and the loss of innocence, the struggle to survive against all odds, and the ultimate triumph of the human spirit.
ISBN: 9780300133837Publication Date: 2008 -
The English Governess at the Siamese Court : being recollections of six years in the royal palace at Bangkok
by
The English Governess at the Siamese Court: Being Recollections of Six Years in the Royal Palace at Bangkok (1870) vividly recounts the experiences of one Anna Harriette Leonowens as governess for the sixty-plus children of King Mongkut of Siam, English teacher for his entire royal family, and translator and scribe for the King himself. Bright, young, and energetic, Leonowens was well-suited to these roles, and her writings convey a heartfelt interest in the lives, legends, and languages of Siam's rich and poor. She also tells of how she and the King often disagreed on matters domestic. After all, this was the first time King Mongkut had met a woman who dared to contradict him, and the governess found the very idea of male domination intolerable. Overworked and underpaid, Leonowens would eventually resign, but her exchanges with His Majesty--heated and otherwise--on topics like grammar, charity, slavery, politics, and religion add much to her diary's rich, cross-cultural spirit, its East-meets-West appeal. Over the years, that appeal has only increased. Eighty years after it first appeared, this memoir inspired the popular book and film, Anna and the King of Siam, and a few years later the hit musical, The King and I. Now comes yet another version, Anna and the King, the new film starring Jodie Foster and Chow Yun Fat. Here, then, is the original tale, presented with many reproductions of the fine drawings that the King had offered as gifts to Leonowens. The English Governess at the Siamese Court remains engaging as a story of adventure, fascinating as a picture of nineteenth-century Bangkok, and intriguing as an account of life inside King Mongkut's palace.
ISBN: 0195888979Publication Date: 1989 -
Ethnic Chinese As Southeast Asians
by
This book addresses ethnic Chinese issues, as well as ethnic Chinese relations with China and with indigenous groups in the region.
ISBN: 0312175760Publication Date: 1997 -
Head-Hunters about Themselves : an ethnographic report from Irian Jaya, Indonesia
by
Every book has its own personal story and my book on the Jaqaj people is no exception. I collected my initial data at the time when the Dutch government was responsible for what is now lrian Jaya, a province of Indonesia. At the time that I worked in the field and gathered my information, I enjoyed the enduring interest and support of the late Mgr. H. Tillemans, m. s. c. , archbishop of Merauke. I wish to dedicate this book to his memory. my studies, written in Dutch, appeared in 1958 A first summary of under the tide Papoea's aan de Mappi. Further research in the area persuaded me that some of my previous views needed correction and that publication of more data was necessary as weIl. In 1969 I finished the Dutch draft of the present book. For its translation I was very fortuna te to have help of my colleague Mr. M. van Dijck. It appeared that the text was too long and had to be reduced to better, workable my homework for the following years. The final proportions. That was draft was corrected by my friend Dr. W. Beek, former teacher of English at several colleges, and finally retyped by Father A. Bodden, m. s. c. I owe all of these people my sincere thanks for the many hours spent on this work.
ISBN: 9024724988Publication Date: 1981 -
No Time for Dreams
by
Now an expatriate, the author chronicles her fight for personal and political independence in a repressive nation almost completely sealed off from the rest of the world. Born in 1950 to a family with a history of battling for political independence against colonialism, Tin attended university and did what she could to carry on the family tradition, contending with Burmese military repression rather than the British. At age 49, she decided it was time to expose the junta's brutality from a safer place and moved to the United States. She studied at the University of California with Wakeman (Journalism/Berkeley), director of the university's Asia Pacific Project. This text, written by Wakeman but presented as Tin's first-person narrative, relates her story up to the time of her departure from Burma. Accounts of personal and societal horrors alternate with vignettes of bravery, but Tin never manages adequately to explain how an entire population numbering in the millions has allowed relatively few oppressors to remain in power decade after decade. Once prosperous and rich in natural resources, Burma (rechristened Myanmar by the junta in 1989) has become one of the world's most impoverished nations. Tin provides examples of daily deprivations and government repression. The detailed narrative provides a rich education about Burmese life. For those without a prior knowledge of Burmese society, however, the specifics are sometimes overwhelming. Freedom to speak in the United States has not brought Tin unalloyed happiness; she bemoans being labeled a traitor by the government of her homeland and understandably misses the family members she left behind. Educational but relentlessly depressing. Copyright Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.
ISBN: 9780742557031Publication Date: 2009 -
Southeast Asian Anthropologies: National Traditions and Transnational Practices
by
Anthropology is a flourishing discipline in Southeast Asia. This book makes visible the development of national traditions and transnational practices of anthropology across the region. The authors are practising anthropologists with decades of experience in the intellectual traditions and institutions that have taken root in the region. Three overlapping issues are addressed in these pages. First, the historical development of traditions of research, scholarship, and social engagement across diverse anthropological communities of the region, which have adopted and adapted global anthropological trends to their local circumstances. Second, the opportunities and challenges faced by Southeast Asian anthropologists as they practise their craft in different political contexts. Third, the emergence of locally-grounded, intra-regional, transnational linkages and practices. The book contributes to a 21st-century, world anthropologies paradigm from a Southeast Asian perspective. Publisher: Singapore NUS Press
ISBN: 9813250097Publication Date: 2019
Video
Music & Audio
-
Smithsonian Global Sound This link opens in a new windowAn international network of music audio archives grounded in the mission of the Smithsonian's Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage and Smithsonian Folkways Recordings. Offers access to the "smaller voices" of people all over the world via digital downloads. Aims to heighten communication among and about people and cultures. Also notes, images, videos, educational features, and lesson plans.
-
Popular Music Library (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new windowStreaming popular music from around the world, including hundreds of thousands of tracks from major genres in pop music, including alternative, country, electronic, hip-hop, metal, punk, new age, R&B, reggae, rock, soundtracks and many more.
-
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new windowOver 85,000 tracks, emphasizing classical, but also including world music, jazz, folk, and more, available for streaming. Access is limited to 15 users at a time.
Citing AI-generated Content
A variety of guidelines are emerging on how to cite or credit the parts of your work generated by artificial intelligence and large language model tools.
Northeastern offers an Insider's Guide for students (PDF) and an Overview and guide for instructors (PDF) on the responsible use of AI at the University.
Practices and standards for citing and crediting the contribution of AI in your work vary between style guides, so always consult your instructor, advisor, or editor to be sure of expectations for your academic work and research.
-
AMA: Acknowledgement of the use of Artificial Intelligence and Language ModelsGuidance from the American Medical Associaton
-
APA: How to cite ChatGPTFrom the American Psychological Association style blog
-
Chicago: How do you recommend citing content generated by AI?From the Chicago Manual of Style
