Skip to main content

Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies: Home

A guide to online and print resources for research in women's, gender, and sexuality studies.

Key Resources

Genderwatch - Scholarly articles, newsletters, and magazines with a focus on women; full text

Academic OneFile - Broad coverage of journals and magazines covering all subjects; mostly full text

Academic Search Complete - NEW: more full text now available!  Broad coverage of journals and magazines covering all subjects; mostly full text

Web of Science - indexing of high profile scholarly journals covering all subjects; links to full text

​or try:

Articles, proceedings, and digital materials from a variety of licensed and open source databases.

Selected Books

Videos/DVDs

 DVDs and streaming video at Snell Library.

Research Tools

Looking for a specific item for which you know the title? Use these quick search tools:

•  Books

Use the Scholar OneSearch Browse search to find books by title or author.

•  Ejournals

Use the Ejournal finder (search by title, e-only).

Databases

Use the A-Z database list.

FEATURED RESOURCE: Psychotherapy.net

Psychotherapy.net -- Watch expert psychotherapists demonstrate techniques and comment on their work. Includes 100+ videos. Browse this streaming video library:    By Approach  -- By Therapeutic Issue  -- By Expert -- By Population

Featured

ProQuest History Vault: Women’s Rights Collections

focuses on the records of the major women’s rights associations from 1880-1990. Includes the early National American Women’s Suffrage Association (NAWSA), the National Women’s Party (NWP), and the more recent National Organization of Women (NOW).

Jewish Women: A Comprehensive Historical Encyclopedia

free source hosted at the Jewish Women's Archive

News@northeastern

Dr. Who outrage illustrates larger prejudice problem (July 24, 2017, news@northeastern, Professor Moya Bailey) 

Why gender diversity in the judicial system matters (May 23, 2016, news@northeastern, Dana Fabe L'76, justice in the Supreme Court of Alaska)  

Northeastern community reacts to historic Supreme Court ruling on same-​​sex marriage (June 29, 2015, news@northeastern) 

Doctoral Candidate Wins Prestigious Fellowship from Advocacy Group (May 21, 2015, news@northeastern, scholar Oyenike Balogun-​​Mwangi)

Law school alumna to argue landmark Supreme Court same-sex marriage case (April 2, 2015) Mary Bonauto

How gender bias survives at today’s colleges (February 14, 2015)

Men are brilliant, women are bossy: What research tells us about unconscious bias, gender and “genius” (February 10, 2015)

With Equality for All (Winter 2014, Northeastern Magazine) featuring Mary Bonauto

For these Millennials, gender norms have gone out of style (November 30, 2014)

The thinking behind gender stereotypes (August 4, 2014)

Do women talk more than men? It depends (July 15, 2014)

Games the Key to Girls' STEM Education (June 28, 2013, news@northeastern) --and related event: The Gender Gap in STEM is No Game 

3Qs The Changing Nature of Marriage: featuring Suzanna Walters, Director of the Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies Program (Dec 7, 2012, news@northeastern)

Feedback?

About This Guide
Email me any feedback you have about this guide -- tell me what's working and what's not.

About the Collection
Send me suggestions for new titles in this subject area.

About the Library
Use the library's Suggestion Box to send us your comments on anything else library-related.

New books

Featured book