Research Subject Guides: Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies: Find News Sources

Current Issues

Access World News Research Collection (Newsbank) This link opens in a new window
Our largest general news source, with current and complete newspapers, magazines, wire services from around the world. Backfiles sometimes go back to the 1980s. Text only.
View a list of all sources.
Atlantic
The Atlantic covers a broad range of topics including politics, society, the arts, and culture. The site includes content from 1857 to the present and includes audio, video and podcast extras.
Ethnic NewsWatch (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) full text newspapers, magazines and journals of American ethnic, minority and indigenous communities. Offers additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press.
Includes the Bay State Banner, an independent newspaper primarily geared toward the interests of Boston's African-American community, and the Boston Irish Reporter.
London Review of Books This link opens in a new window
The London Review of Books is published twice a month and explores a wide variety of subjects from art and politics to science and technology via history and philosophy, as well as fiction and poetry. Find book reviews, memoir and reportage, poems, reviews of exhibitions and movies.
New York Review of Books, NYRB This link opens in a new window
The New York Review of Books is a semi-monthly magazine with articles on literature, culture, economics, science and current affairs.
New York Times via NYTimes.com This link opens in a new window
Northeastern offers current and archival access to the New York Times. Please use the link above to register with a Northeastern email address. Once registered, users can log in directly at https://www.nytimes.com or use the New York Times app on a smartphone or device.
If you have an existing paid subscription to NYtimes.com, you will need to first cancel it by contacting customercare@nytimes.com or calling 800-591-9233.

Archives go back to 1980. For prior years, there may only be partial access. Please use Proquest New York Times (1851-2014) for archival searching and retrieval.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Leading economic, business, finance, and political news, information, commentary and analysis. For historic WSJ content dating back to 1985, please use Factiva (Opens in new window). Individual registration using a Northeastern email address is required.
Washington Post
Washington D.C.'s newspaper, with coverage of the city and region, national events, and coverage of federal government "inside-the-beltway" news. For off-campus access, please create an account and then follow these instructions (Opens in new window) to link our university subscription. Once registered, users can log in directly at www.washingtonpost.com.

U.S. Historical News Sources

ProQuest Historical Newspapers
A selection of historical newspaper documents from ProQuest, including the Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Boston Globe (1872-1981), Chicago Defender (1910-1975), Chicago Tribune (1849-1988), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), New York Times (1851-2008), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), and Washington Post (1877-1999).
Historical Black Newspapers (ProQuest)
Rich collection important to a full understanding of Unites States history. Includes the Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Defender (1910-1975), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), and the Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002).
Ebony Magazine Archive
Originally published by John H. Johnson in November 1945, Ebony has served as an influential African-American magazine promoting stories important to the black community and focusing on the achievements of African-American leaders. The Ebony Magazine Archive covers civil rights, education, entrepreneurship and other social topics with an African-American focus, including more than 800 issues providing a broad view of African-American culture from its first issue in 1945 through 2014.

19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.
Atlanta Daily World 1931-2003 (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Fully digitized coverage of the African American newspaper Atlanta Daily World from 1931-2003.
Baltimore Afro-American 1893-1988 (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Fully digitized coverage of the African American newspaper Baltimore Afro-American from 1893 to 1988.
Bay State Banner (1965-1979) (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to Boston/New England's African American community paper of record from its inception in 1965 until 1979. The current Banner can be accessed online from the Finding News Articles page.
Boston Globe (1872-present) (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Historical and current access to the Boston Globe.
Includes variations on the title: Daily Boston Globe and Boston Daily Globe. Historic content (1872-1990) includes a PDF view of the newspaper including illustrations, charts, and advertisements. After 1990, only text is available.
Chicago Defender: 1910 - 1975 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Fully digitized African American newspaper Chicago Defender from 1910 to 1975.
Chicago Tribune (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Proquest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune (1849- 1988). The historical Chicago Tribune collection offers both full page and article digital images in PDF format with searchable full text.
Los Angeles Sentinel 1934-2005 (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Fully digitized African American newspaper Los Angeles Sentinel from 1934 to 2005.
New York Amsterdam News: 1922-1993 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
This resource allows researchers to search for full articles in the New York Amsterdam News. Searches provide a PDF of each article as well as an abstract.
New York Times (1851-2020) with Index (1851-1993) (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
The Historical New York Times collection offers both full page and article digital images in PDF format with searchable full text back to the first issue. Magazine and classifieds included. Go to "Advanced Search"--> "Look up citation" to find a specific article by author, title, page, date and more.
Pittsburgh Courier: 1911-2002 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
This resource allows researchers to search for full articles in the Pittsburgh Courier. Searches provide a PDF of each article as well as an abstract.

International Historical News Sources

17th - 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new window
The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media.
The 700 or so bound volumes of newspapers and news pamphlets were published mostly in London, however there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India.
British Library Newspapers (Gale Cengage) This link opens in a new window
Facsimiles of full runs of 48 newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain.
This new collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. The penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also present in the collection. Formerly called 19th Century British Newspapers.
African Newspapers Series I (Readex/Newsbank) This link opens in a new window
This collection of historical African newspapers from the World Newspaper Archive provides coverage of the people, cultures, issues and events that shaped the continent.
Newspaper text is in English, Sotho, German, Portuguese, Xhosa, and more.
Ethnic NewsWatch (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press.
Includes the Bay State Banner, an independent newspaper primarily geared toward the interests of Boston's African-American community, and the Boston Irish Reporter.
Illustrated London News (Gale Cengage) This link opens in a new window
A historical archive of the Illustrated London News, the world's first pictorial weekly newspaper, from 1842-2003. Includes over 260,000 pages in full facsimile, fully searchable.
Jewish Studies Source WITH Index to Jewish Periodicals (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary view into the study of Jewish civilization from its historical origins to the present. Content within the collection is meant to cover all facets of Judaism and multiple areas of study. Over 350 full-text titles including academic journals, abstracts of monographs, newspapers and periodicals, including complete Jewish Telegraphic Agency wire service articles from 1922 to the present.
Latin American Newspapers 1805-1922 (World Newspaper Archive) This link opens in a new window
Latin American Newspapers, Series 1—part of CRL's World Newspaper Archive—features 50+ historical Latin American newspapers. Titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Panama, Peru, Venezuela, and elsewhere offer unprecedented coverage of the people, issues, and events that shaped this vital region between 1805 and 1922.
London Times (Gale Cengage) This link opens in a new window
London Times access *not including the Sunday edition* from 1785 to 1985. Also known as The Times Digital Archive, and published under the name Times of London. An invaluable source for primary historical research.
Get help on this collection and primary source research in Gale (video)
South Asia Newspapers (World Newspaper Archive) (Readex/Newsbank) This link opens in a new window
Searchable 19th and 20th century newspapers from South Asia. Featuring titles from India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

Your Librarian

Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies : Find News Sources

Current Issues

U.S. Historical News Sources

International Historical News Sources

Your Librarian

Article

Bibliography

Call Number

Peer Review

Limiter

Dissertation

Database

Scholarly Source