New! AccessMedicine, AccessPhysiotherapy, AccessPharmacy
![]()
Mobile versions available for AccessMedicine & AccessPharmacy. First, create a My AccessMedicine or MyAccessPharmacy account from an on-site computer by clicking on the link at the top right of the page. Go to AccessMedicine.com on your mobile browser. Enter your My AccessMedicine username/password when prompted.
- AccessMedicinefrom McGraw-Hill Medical is an innovative online resource that provides access to 77 core medical texts, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, USMLE practice questions, case files, time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools, a comprehensive search platform, and the ability to view from and download content to a mobile device. Updated frequently and expanded continuously by world-renowned physicians.
- AccessPhysiotherapya comprehensive full-text online learning tool, featuring 20 core physical therapy texts, 500+ videos and narrated lectures in orthopedics, neurology and sports medicine, demonstrations of examination & treatment techniques. Also includes a cadaver dissection tool, modalities & therapeutic goals, search core topics for interventions, functional limitations, goals, A & A, case studies and more.
- AccessPharmacyAccessPharmacy is an online curricular resource for pharmacy education. The source includes curriculum topics, organ systems, textbooks, drug monographs, lab tests, calculators, videos, case studies, and more.
Snell Library News Summer 2013
New! Check out the Spring 2013 Library Newsletter to learn more about the upcoming changes at the University Libraries.
Read more about Snell Library's new login system.
Library services during Summer 2013 construction.
Links to Basic Library Resources and Services
NuCat (library catalog)
E-journal Finder (search by journal title to see if NU subscribes to an ejournal)
All Databases and Trials (complete A-Z list of databases)
Interlibrary Loan (request books or articles not available at NU)
Citation Guides (includes APA, MLA, CSE and more)
EndNote (software for managing your citations)
RefWorks (software for managing your citations)
Need Help? (email, chat, text us!)
Off-campus Access to Resources
NEJM: Celebrating 200 years in 2012
Throughout the year, NEJM will mark their 200th anniversary with special content and features on its anniversary website.
- View Getting Better, a 45 minute documentary that tells three remarkable stories of medical progress in surgery, leukemia, and HIV/AIDS
- Explore an interactive timline on the history of medical discoveries
- Take the historical image challenge
- Read special anniversary articles
Public/Urban Health in News@Northeastern
- Promoting a Healing Environment
- Institute of Medicine Honors Bouve Leadership
- A First-of-its-kind Study of Transgender Health
- Bouve Simulation Suite Named for Northeastern Alumnus
- Class Project Spurs Health Care Mobility
- Inspired to End Health Disparities
- Bringing the "Human Element" to Engineering
- Preventing Disease and Promoting Wellness
"Top Ten" Most Useful Websites for Health Consumers
From the Medical Library Association:
Cancer.gov
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Familydoctor.org
Healthfinder
HIV InSite
Kidshealth
Mayo Clinic
MedlinePlus
NIH SeniorHealth
NOAH: New York Online Access to Health
The Consumer and Patient Health Information Section (CAPHIS) of MLA evaluates web sites based on the following criteria: credibility, sponsorship/authorship, content, audience, currency, disclosure, purpose, links, design, interactivity, and disclaimers.
NEW! CINAHL Upgrade! CINAHL Plus with Full Text Now Available!
Our CINAHL subscription has recently been upgraded to the more comprehensive CINAHL Plus with Full-Text, which provides access to the literature in nursing and 17 allied health disciplines.
Expanded content includes:
Indexing for 4,995 journals, including virtually all English-language nursing journals and selected titles in biomedicine, consumer health and alternative therapies.
· Full-text for more than 760 journals
· Full-text coverage dating back to 1937
· Full-text for more than 275 books
· Full-text for 360 Research Instruments Records
· Full-text for more than 130 Evidence-Based Care Sheets (2 page PDF summaries of treatment care for many conditions, and includes the latest evidence, statistics, research and references).
· Full-text for almost 170 Quick Lessons (2 page PDF summaries for many diseases and conditions, including cause, clinical presentation, assessment, treatment, and references).
· Full-text for more than 160 Continuing Education Units (CEU’s).
CINAHL Plus with Full-Text continues to index nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals, book chapters, and publications from the American Nurses’ Association and the National League for Nursing.
Welcome to the Snell Library Public Health Research Guide
This page provides quick access to core resources for public health research, new public health books in the library, and links to Snell Library services. Please use the tabs at the top for additional resources.
New Resources!
MD Consult: tap into trusted, evidence-based medical information for quick answers at the point of care. Search First Consult by medical topics, differential diagnoses, procedures. Includes 50 leading medical texts, 80 journals & Clinics, 1000 practice guidelines, 15,000 patient education handouts, latest drug information, 50,000 high quality medical images, weekly medical news.
STAT!Ref -- STAT!Ref is a cross-searchable, full-text healthcare reference that integrates selected core reference titles with evidence-based resources, patient information resources, and innovative tools in one site. Selected titles include DSM-IV-TR 4th ed, Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment, Stedman's Medical Dictionary, Pediatric Injectable Drugs.
Get Help from a Librarian Phone, Text, Chat, Email, Visit
Searching for Public Health Articles by Topic--Best Bets
- Alt-HealthWatchfull text articles for nearly 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports on omplementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
- CINAHL with Full TextCumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health is the most comprehensive source for full text articles in nursing and several allied health fields from 1981-present. Also indexes nursing dissertations, books, systematic reviews, case studies, proceedings.
- Cochrane Library (best with Google Chrome)The Cochrane Library contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes reliable evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more. Full text
- Haz-MapAn occupational toxicology database designed to link jobs to hazardous job tasks. These tasks are linked to occupational diseases and their symptoms.
- Journals @OvidFull-text access to over 400 core nursing, medical & pharmacology journals, along with backfiles of journals from additional publishers.
- LexisNexis AcademicUp-to-date business and legal information is the strength of the LexisNexis Academic service. It allows you to search for newspapers, periodicals, public records, and legal documents, often within 24 hours of publication, and in some cases going back 20 years. Most documents are available in full text.
- LexisNexis Statistical DataSetsLexisNexis Statistical DataSets provides data from licensed and public domain datasets within an easy-to-use interface. Browse contents or search topics and and view your data in tables and charts.
- MedlineMedline is the most comprehensive and authoritative index to worldwide biomedical, nursing, and dentistry journal literature from 1966 - present. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
- PAISBroad coverage of the social sciences, 1972 to present. International in scope. No full-text; abstracts of books, journal articles, conference proceedings, and government publications.
- POPLINE POPLINEĀ®(POPulation information onLINE) contains citations with abstracts to scientific articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports in the field of population, family planning, and related health issues. POPLINE is maintained by the K4Health Project at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health/Center for Communication Programs and is funded by the United States Agency for International Development.
- PsycINFOPsycINFO is the most comprehensive index to journal articles, book chapters, technical reports in psychology, and psychological aspects of related disciplines such as nursing, pharmacology, physiology, sociology.
- PubMedOpen-access version of Medline, the health information clearinghouse from the National Library of Medicine. Includes links to full text for authorized NU affiliates.
- Sage Premier Journals OnlineSage is a respected publisher with a strong collection of social and health science journals in both print and electronic format. We subscribe to over 550 titles; in most instance, online coverage begins in 1999.
- SimplyMapA mapping application that enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, health, crime, and marketing data variables including Mediamark and Simmons Consumer Data. Data from the year 2000.
- Social Services AbstractsSocial work research is indexed and abstracted in this service, including the family, human services, social welfare, gerontology, support groups, poverty and homelessness and community development. Major areas of coverage include community and mental health services. Articles are from 1980 to the present.
- Sociological AbstractsNote: Off-campus? Access the Sociological Abstracts here, (QuikBib citation formatting is not available off-campus). CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences, including health, medicine and law.
- TOXNETA cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals and related areas.
- Web of ScienceCitation information and analysis, as well as author abstracts, are available in this multidisciplinary database covering 10,000 high impact research journals. Cited reference searching allows you to track prior research, see who is citing your work. Coverage: 1975 to the present.
- Wiley Interscience
Contact Sandy |
Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: nursing, nutrition, physical therapy, physician assistant, speech language pathology, audiology Education: MS Library & Information Science, Simmons College BA Marietta College Associations: ACRLl/New England Chapter |
Featured Website
TEDMed Talks
TedMed is a community of people who are passionate about imagining the future of health and medicine.



Loading...
