Key Resources for Psychology
Literature Databases
Welcome to literature searching! As your psychology librarian, I'm here to help. I encourage you to approach your search by thinking of it as an iterative, ongoing discovery process. You will get better with practice. If you need help or have questions, send me an email or set up an online consultation.
To get familiar with searching the psychology literature, I suggest one of the following two databases: PsycInfo if you need to do a comprehensive search, PsycArticles if you need to find a few articles. Both are scholarly and research-based. PsycInfo searches a larger universe of psychology literature. PsycArticles searches a smaller one, but is a bit easier to use; it pulls up fewer results, and all will be full text. More databases are listed on the Find Articles page.
- PsycInfo (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowAmerican Psychological Associations flagship PsycINFO database includes citations and abstracts of peer reviewed articles, books, and dissertations. Coverage from 1888 to the present. Full text links for Northeastern-subscribed materials.
- PsycARTICLES (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowFull text articles in psychology and related fields
Background information
- International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences, 2nd Edition (2015) This link opens in a new windowThis resource is recommended for background information.For example:Search Executive Functioning for a definition and brief summary of research on this topic.You will find a brief (8-10 page) overview of each topic, tracing major developments in the research over time.
Videos
- Counseling and Therapy in Video (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new windowVideos for students in counseling, social work, psychology, and psychiatric counseling.
- Psychotherapy.net This link opens in a new window100+ videos for teaching, training, self-study and continuing education in psychotherapy, counseling and addiction treatment.
ebook collection
In addition to the collection of DSM texts, we have other titles available here.
- APA PsycNet (American Psychological Associaton) This link opens in a new windowEbook collection from APA PsycNet
NEW RESOURCES
- Mindscape Commons This link opens in a new windowImmersive and interactive content in mental health.
Online Access to DSM 5
- DSM Library This link opens in a new windowIncludes the complete Diagnostic and Statistical Manual, DSM-5-TR, and additional related materials.
- DSM-5 TR
(Opens in new window)"This revised manual integrates the original published DSM-5 diagnostic criteria with modifications (mostly for clarity) for over 70 disorders, comprehensively updated descriptive text accompanying each of the DSM disorders based on reviews of the literature since the publication of DSM-5."Tell me, more specifically: how does the DSM-5 TR differ from the DSM-5, aside from being a revised edition?
Encyclopedias
Comprehensive Clinical Psychology by Comprehensive Clinical Psychology, Second Edition (2022) covers foundational history, professional and training issues, clinical research considerations and methods, assessments and treatments for clinical conditions experienced across the lifespan, clinical considerations for diverse populations, and emerging trends and future directions. Updated to include all recent advances in the field.
Encyclopedia of Mental Health by Encyclopedia of Mental Health, Third Edition (2023) comprises 260 comprehensive chapters by experts in the field on various disorders and therapies, topics such as PTSD, divorce, burn-out, grief, COVID-19, behavioral medicine, health psychology, physical health, the validity of psychiatric diagnosis, and positive aspects of mental health.FOR A PEEK INSIDE: for example, see these revised sections on Awe and the Natural Environment (Opens in new window) and Eating Disorders (Opens in new window)
Brain Mapping by Broad overview of neuroimaging concepts with applications across the neurosciences and biomedical research. Fully annotated color images and videos for best comprehension of concepts. Layered content for readers of different levels of expertise. Offers foundational information for students and researchers across neuroscience. Edited and authored by the leading experts in the field, this work offers reputable, easily searchable content with cross referencing.
Encyclopedia of Behavioral Neuroscience by Interdisciplinary major reference work on how the brain and its disorders influence behavior. Comprehensive and authoritative articles on all aspects of behavioral neuroscience written by leading experts in neuroscience across the globe. Encyclopedia of Behavioral Neuroscience, 2nd edition (2021) is a newly updated, comprehensive, multidisciplinary work written by the best experts in the field, addressing the relationship between the neurological and biological basis of behavior and models of cognition, spanning from perception to memory and covering phenomena that occur in human and other animals.
Orientation for Applied Psychology
- Presentation Sept 3, 2024Applied Psychology new grad students
Session for Cognition Sept 12, 2024
- Presentation Sept 12, 2024Dr. Reyyan Bilge's Cognition class-- search strategies for library databases
AWD 3307 Bunting
- AWD 3307 BuntingPresentation Sept 23