Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies : Find Academic Sources

• Academic Search Ultimate: Scholarly, peer-reviewed articles and professional association publications, abstracts and links to full text.
• Alt-Healthwatch: International, often peer-reviewed journals and reports on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. 
• Criminal Justice Database: Scholarly, peer-reviewed articles and professional association news and information, correctional and law enforcement trade publications, dissertations and crime reports.
• Ethnic NewsWatch: Interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
• Genderwatch: Scholarly articles, newsletters, and magazines with a focus on women.
• Google Scholar @ Northeastern: Useful for up-to-date article searching, forward citation, including articles and some books and e-books. Links to Northeastern full text.
• Web of Science: Indexing of high profile scholarly journals covering all subjects; links to full text.

• American Periodicals: Digitized images of the pages of 1000 American magazines and journals published between 1741 and 1805. Titles include Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine, the first American professional journals, and several consumer magazines still in publication, such as Vanity Fair, Harper's Magazine, and Ladies' Home Journal.

• Archives of Sexuality and Gender: Digital books on historical and social topics related to sexuality and gender, covering the 16th through 20th centuries.

• Boston's LGBTQIA History: A collection of materials from the Northeastern University Special Collections & Archives illustrating a diverse range of individuals, activism, and networks in the Boston LGBTQA community from the 1970s onwards.

• Children's Literature and Childhood: Primary sources related to the experience of childhood in Britain and the United States in the nineteenth century.

• Digital Transgender Archive: Online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings relating to trans history.

• Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive: US and UK trade magazines (1880-2000) covering the vaudeville era to the internet era. Includes Billboard, Variety, Broadcasting, Melody Maker and more.

• LGBT Magazine Archive: Full text of 26 magazines, chiefly from the US, covering LGBT (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender) interests. Covers more than six decades of the history and culture of the LGBT community.

• North American Women's Letters and Diaries: A full-text primary source database that includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters.

• Women at Work During World War II (Rosie the Riveter and the Women's Army Corps): Consists of the records of the Women's Bureau of the U.S. Department of Labor and the Correspondence of the Director of the Women's Army Corps.

• Women's Rights Collections 1880-1990 in ProQuest History Vault: Primary source materials that tell the story of the women and voting rights and reproductive rights at national, regional and local levels.

• Women Working, 1800-1930: Digital exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression.  Women Working is part of the Harvard University Library Open Collections Program.

• Women Writers Online: Women Writers Online is a full-text collection of early women’s writing in English, published by the Women Writers Project at Northeastern University. It includes full transcriptions of texts published between 1526 and 1850, focusing on materials that are rare or inaccessible.

See all databases available to the current NU community.

• Biography in Context: Biographies with related full-text articles from hundreds of magazines and newspapers. Search for people by name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, as well as keyword and full text.
• International Encyclopedia of Political Science
• International Encyclopedia of Revolution and Protest: This encyclopedia covers the history of protest and revolution over the past 500 years through the modern era of mass movements. Updated annually.
• International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences
• Power to the People! Counterculture, Social Movements & Alternative Press, 1960-2015: Covers a range of ideas, initiatives, and social movements devoted to people-powered politics and organizing from the nineteenth through twenty-first centuries. Includes events and topics from around the globe.
• Sage Encyclopedia of Trans Studies: An interdisciplinary and intersectional approach to trans studies. Entries address broad concepts, and specific subjects, and key historical figures, events, and organizations.

If Northeastern does not own the book, article, journal or other material you're looking for, you can request a copy for free through Interlibrary Loan.

If you think we should own a book, article, journal or other material, you can Recommend a Purchase! The subject librarian will review your recommendation. Please note that the library is generally not in a position to purchase textbooks.