Find books in the catalog
Search for print books and/or e-books in Scholar OneSearch. There are four views in Scholar OneSearch to convey more clearly what is available domestically and internationally online, and in person at Snell Library in Boston, MA and at F. W. Olin Library at Mills in Oakland, CA.
- Boston Campus (Snell Library) Scholar OneSearch
Includes online materials and print books available at Snell Library on the Boston, MA campus.
- Oakland Campus (F. W. Olin Library) Scholar OneSearch
Includes online materials and print books available at the F. W. Olin Library on the Oakland, CA campus.
- International Campuses Scholar OneSearch
Includes online materials available to users studying at international campuses in Canada and England.
- United States Campuses Scholar OneSearch
Includes online materials available to users studying at campuses in the United States other than Boston, MA and Oakland, CA.
Print book collections
On the Boston campus
High-use print materials are shelved on the lower level of Snell Library and are organized by Library of Congress call number. To borrow books from the Snell Library stacks, please visit the library in person, find your book, and take it to the self-checkout machine on the lower level or the Help & Information Desk on the first floor to borrow. Library staff do not retrieve books from the stacks for patrons.
Low-use print materials are stored in the remote annex, which is located off-campus. Items in the annex can be requested by patrons on the Boston campus.
Need help requesting items from the annex?
Check out the step-by-step tutorials below:
Video: How to request materials from the Snell Library Remote Annex 
PDF slides: How to request materials from the Snell Library Remote Annex 
PowerPoint slides: How to request materials from the Snell Library Remote Annex
On the Oakland campus
Print materials are located on all levels of F.W. Olin Library and are organized by Dewey Decimal System call number.
E-book collections
- ACLS Humanities E-BooksFull-text, fully searchable, high-quality books in the Humanities from 19 learned societies, nearly 100 contributing publishers, and the University of Michigan's Scholarly Publishing Office.
- American Psychological Association E-BooksAPA Books E-collection contains the full text of 80 books having to do with the behavioral sciences from the American Psychological Association.
- Archives of Sexuality & Gender: Sex & Sexuality in the 16th through 20th CenturiesA collection of digital books on historical and social topics related to sexuality and gender.
- Elgar Online LawRecently published ebooks published by Edward Elgar in their Law collection.
- Gale Virtual Reference LibraryA collection of encyclopedias covering topics in the Arts, Biography, Business, Environment, History, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Science and Social Sciences.
- Women Writers OnlnieEarly modern women's writings from 1400 to 1850. Includes searchable full-text of books, poetry, and speeches as well as browse by date, author, and title. Exhibits and teaching tools also available.
Don't see what you need?
If Northeastern does not own the book, article, journal or other material you're looking for, you can request a copy for free through Interlibrary Loan.
If you think we should own a book, article, journal or other material, you can Recommend a Purchase! The subject librarian will review your recommendation. Please note that the library is generally not in a position to purchase textbooks.