Selected Books 2011 and earlier
PSY 9996-17First Year Writing
This is the "Home" page of the "Psychology Research at Northeastern University Libraries" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Psychology Research at Northeastern University Libraries  

Suggested resources in psychology.
Last Updated: May 13, 2013 URL: http://subjectguides.lib.neu.edu/psychology Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Featured books

Cover Art
Vision and Brain: How We Perceive the World - James V. Stone
ISBN: 9780262517737
Publication Date: 2012
In this accessible and engaging introduction to modern vision science, James Stone uses visual illusions to explore how the brain sees the world. Understanding vision, Stone argues, is not simply a question of knowing which neurons respond to particular visual features, but also requires a computational theory of vision. Stone draws together results from David Marr's computational framework, Barlow's efficient coding hypothesis, Bayesian inference, Shannon's information theory, and signal processing to construct a coherent account of vision that explains not only how the brain is fooled by particular visual illusions, but also why any biological or computer vision system should also be fooled by these illusions. This short text provides a coherent account of vision, and includes chapters on the eye and its evolution, how and why visual neurons from different species encode the retinal image in the same way, how information theory explains color aftereffects, how different visual cues provide depth information, how the imperfect visual information received by the eye and brain can be rescued by Bayesian inference, how different brain regions process visual information, and the bizarre perceptual consequences that result from damage to these brain regions. The tutorial style emphasizes key conceptual insights, rather than mathematical details, making the book accessible to the nonscientist and suitable for undergraduate or postgraduate study.


Cover Art
The Oxford Handbook of Comparative Evolutionary Psychology - Jennifer Vonk (Editor); Todd K. Shackelford (Editor)
ISBN: 9780199738182
Publication Date: 2012
The Oxford Handbook of Comparative Evolutionary Psychologyambitiously brings together an eclectic and provocative body of work from some of the brightest minds in comparative psychology and evolutionary psychology, highlighting the strengths and insights of each field. Across chapters, readers will come to appreciate the new field of "comparative evolutionary psychology," which successfully combines laboratory and field approaches, drawing on diverse methodologies and theoretical viewpoints to elucidate the mysteries of animal behavior and cognition. This comprehensive volume includes coverage of: - Unique specializations in a wide range of taxa from insects, cephalopods, reptiles, corvids, canines, cetaceans, and primates - Communication, cooperation, social learning, memory and cognitition in different species - Controversial theories about the evolution of sometimes surprising abilities in species, both phylogenetically close to and distant from humans. Suitable for seasoned researchers and graduate students alike, this volume reflects a range of views on human and non-human behavior and cognition, and advances these topics in a wide range of species.

Cover Art
Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can't Stop Talking - Susan Cain
ISBN: 9780307352149
Publication Date: 2012
At least one-third of the people we know are introverts. They are the ones who prefer listening to speaking, reading to partying; who innovate and create but dislike self-promotion; who favor working on their own over brainstorming in teams. Although they are often labeled "quiet," it is to introverts that we owe many of the great contributions to society--from van Gogh's sunflowers to the invention of the personal computer. Passionately argued, impressively researched, and filled with indelible stories of real people, Quiet shows how dramatically we undervalue introverts, and how much we lose in doing so. Taking the reader on a journey from Dale Carnegie's birthplace to Harvard Business School, from a Tony Robbins seminar to an evangelical megachurch, Susan Cain charts the rise of the Extrovert Ideal in the twentieth century and explores its far-reaching effects. She talks to Asian-American students who feel alienated from the brash, backslapping atmosphere of American schools. She questions the dominant values of American business culture, where forced collaboration can stand in the way of innovation, and where the leadership potential of introverts is often overlooked. And she draws on cutting-edge research in psychology and neuroscience to reveal the surprising differences between extroverts and introverts. Perhaps most inspiring, she introduces us to successful introverts--from a witty, high-octane public speaker who recharges in solitude after his talks, to a record-breaking salesman who quietly taps into the power of questions. Finally, she offers invaluable advice on everything from how to better negotiate differences in introvert-extrovert relationships to how to empower an introverted child to when it makes sense to be a "pretend extrovert." This extraordinary book has the power to permanently change how we see introverts and, equally important, how introverts see themselves.

 

Selected Books at Snell Library

 Available online: (current NU only)

Cover Art
Kaplan and Sadock's Comprehensive Textbook of Psychiatry

Throughout eight prior editions, "CTP" has been established as the cornerstone text in the field of psychiatry and mental health. This Ninth Edition provides a wealth of new and updated information in neural science, genetics, neuropsychiatry, psychopharmacotherapy, and other key areas. A distinguished new co-editor, Pedro Ruiz, MD, has joined Drs. Benjamin and Virginia Sadock for this edition, and over 500 contributors provide the most up-to-date information in every area of psychiatry and mental health. The book includes case histories, the most current DSM-IV-TR criteria and tables, and up-to-date comparative classification codes from ICD-10.

Acompanion Websitewill offer the fully searchable text.


Cover Art
Handbook of Theories of Social Psychology - Arie W. Kruglanski (Editor); E. Tory Higgins (Editor); Paul A. M. Van Lange (Editor)
ISBN: 9780857029607
Publication Date: 2011-09-09

The first volume in this innovative two-volume set provides a comprehensive exploration of the major developments of social psychological theories that have taken place over the past half century, culminating in a state of the art overview of the primary theories and models that have been developed in this vast and fascinating field. Volume One covers Biological/Evolutionary Level of Analysis, Cognitive Level of Analysis, Content Model and Motivational and Affective Level of Analysis.

Authored by leading international experts, each chapter represents a personal and historical narrative of the theory’s development including the inspirations, critical junctures, and problem-solving efforts that effected theoretical choices and determined the theory’s impact and its evolution. Unique to this handbook, these narratives provide a rich background for understanding how theories are created, nurtured, and shaped over time, and examining their unique contribution to the field as a whole. To examine its societal impact, each theory is evaluated in terms of its applicability to better understanding and solving critical social issues and problems.

The Handbook of Theories of Social Psychology, Volume One is an essential resource for researchers and students of social psychology and related disciplines.


Cover Art
Promoting Psychological Resilience in the U. S. Military - Lisa S. Meredith; Sarah J. Sherbourne; Sarah J. Gaillot; Hans V. Ritschard; Lydia Hansell; Cathy D. Sherbourne
ISBN: 9780833050632
Publication Date: 2011-08-16
As U.S. service members deploy for extended periods on a repeated basis, their ability to cope with the stress of deployment may be challenged. Many programs are available to encourage and support psychological resilience among service members and families. However, little is known about these programs effectiveness. This report reviews resilience literature and programs to identify evidence-informed factors for promoting resilience.






 

Announcements

The Library subscribes to Counseling and Therapy in Video from Alexander Street Press

 

Changes to Book Catalog and Borrowing

Are you are frequent user of interlibrary loan for books?  Please read the following announcement: Streamlining our Services: Interlibrary Loan

NuCat changes will be coming in July.  You will still be able to search for books/ebooks and all the other library holdings, but the search interface will be quite different; it will be similar to the large search box on the library homepage. Watch this space for details.

 

Core Resources

  • PsycINFO (Current NU Only, no walk-in use)
    The American Psychological Association's flagship database of 2.4 million articles, books and other international documents in psychology going back over a century. 98% peer-reviewed!
  • Mental Measurements Yearbook (Current NU Only)
    Produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Allows for evaluation of test products in psychology, education, business, and leadership. This online service covers from Volume 9 to the present. Eight simultaneous users; if you are unable to access the resource, wait and try again.
  • DSM-IV-TR 4th ed (Current NU only)

For more suggested databases, see the Comprehensive list of databases for psychology and behavioral sciences.

 

Welcome

Welcome to the NU Libraries guide to resources in Psychology and Behavioral Sciences!

Browse psychology books: ebooks (current NU only) and print books 

Not sure where to start? Bookmark this page for easy access to databases, ejournals, books and other resources in psychology. See the box above, "Core Resources," and note the tabs along the top which lead to specialized resources. 

See a comprehensive list of psychology databases

If your question isn't specifically addressed on these pages, please send me an email.  During weekends and evenings, if you need immediate assistance, call the research assistance desk at 617-373-2356 or use other available methods to contact a librarian.  I am available for research consultations.

 

New Books

Cover Art
Addiction Neuroethics - Adrian Carter (Editor); Wayne Hall (Editor); Judy Illes (Editor)
ISBN: 9780123859730
Publication Date: 2011-10-17
Addiction to alcohol, tobacco and illicit drugs air significant social problems and major causes of premature death and disability globally. Neuroscience research on addiction promises to provide ways to identify people who are vulnerable to addiction, effective interventions, and even personalized treatments. Academic scholars, clinicians, and members of society alike hope that the outcomes of research will lead humane social policies that acknowledge addiction as a neuropsychiatric disorder.

 

NU Authors

Out of Char­acter: The Sur­prising Truths About the Liar, Cheat, Sinner (and Saint) Lurking in All of Us

by Northeastern University Professor David DeSteno and Piercarlo Valdesolo

LOCATION: Available at Snell The Hub, 1st floor (BF818 .D43 2011)

Emotion and Consciousness

edited by Northeastern University Professor Lisa Feldman Barrett with Paula M. Niedenthal, and Piotr Winkielman

LOCATION: Available in Snell Stacks, 3rd floor (BF311 .E4855 2005)

 

Feedback?

About This Guide
Email me any feedback you have about this guide -- tell me what's working and what's not.

About the Collection
Send me suggestions for new titles in this subject area.

About the Library
Use the library's Suggestion Box to send us your comments on anything else library-related.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Kathy Herrlich
Contact Info
617-373-5305
Send Email
Education:
BA History, University of Vermont; MLIS Simmons College
 

Dictionaries

There are specialized dictionaries that explain terminology in psychology and related disciplines.  The print dictionaries in the library supplement the e-resource International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences, which has longer explanatory articles.

 

Psychology News from the APA

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Health research news from the New York Times

Loading Loading...
blank padding
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip