Reference Shelf
Searching PubMedImpact Factor & JCRH-index
This is the "Home" page of the "Physician Assistant Research at Northeastern University Libraries" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Physician Assistant Research at Northeastern University Libraries  

Last Updated: Jun 19, 2013 URL: http://subjectguides.lib.neu.edu/physician_assistant Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

New! AccessMedicine, AccessPhysiotherapy, AccessPharmacy

 

Mobile versions available for AccessMedicine & AccessPharmacy.  First, create a My AccessMedicine or MyAccessPharmacy account from an on-site computer by clicking on the link at the top right of the page. Go to AccessMedicine.com on your mobile browser. Enter your My AccessMedicine username/password when prompted.

  • AccessMedicine
    from McGraw-Hill Medical is an innovative online resource that provides access to 77 core medical texts, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, USMLE practice questions, case files, time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools, a comprehensive search platform, and the ability to view from and download content to a mobile device. Updated frequently and expanded continuously by world-renowned physicians.
  • AccessPhysiotherapy
    a comprehensive full-text online learning tool, featuring 20 core physical therapy texts, 500+ videos and narrated lectures in orthopedics, neurology and sports medicine, demonstrations of examination & treatment techniques. Also includes a cadaver dissection tool, modalities & therapeutic goals, search core topics for interventions, functional limitations, goals, A & A, case studies and more.
  • AccessPharmacy
    AccessPharmacy is an online curricular resource for pharmacy education. The source includes curriculum topics, organ systems, textbooks, drug monographs, lab tests, calculators, videos, case studies, and more.
 

Snell Library News Summer 2013

New!  Check out the Spring 2013 Library Newsletter to learn more about the upcoming changes at the University Libraries.

Read more about Snell Library's new login system.

Library services during Summer 2013 construction.

 

Links to Basic Library Resources and Services

NuCat (library catalog)

E-journal Listing (includes a list of all e-journals at NU)

All Databases and Trials  (complete A-Z list of databases)

Interlibrary Loan  (request books or articles not available at NU)

Citation Guides  (includes APA, MLA, CSE and more)

EndNote  (software for managing your citations)

RefWorks  (software for managing your citations)

Online Help  (email, chat, texting)

Off-campus Access to Resources

PA in News@Northeastern

 

NEW! CINAHL Upgrade! CINAHL Plus with Full Text Now Available!

Our CINAHL subscription has recently been upgraded to the more comprehensive CINAHL Plus with Full-Text, which provides access to the literature in nursing and 17 allied health disciplines.

Expanded content includes:

        Indexing for 4,995 journals, including virtually all English-language nursing journals and selected titles in biomedicine, consumer health and alternative therapies.

·        Full-text for more than 760 journals

·        Full-text coverage dating back to 1937

·        Full-text for more than 275 books

·        Full-text for 360 Research Instruments Records

·        Full-text for more than 130 Evidence-Based Care Sheets (2 page PDF summaries of treatment care for many conditions, and includes the latest evidence, statistics, research and references).

·        Full-text for almost 170 Quick Lessons (2 page PDF summaries for many diseases and conditions, including cause, clinical presentation, assessment, treatment, and references).

·        Full-text for more than 160 Continuing Education Units (CEU’s).

CINAHL Plus with Full-Text continues to index nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals, book chapters, and publications from the American Nurses’ Association and the National League for Nursing.

 

Welcome to the Snell Library Physician Assistant Research Guide

Welcome!  This page provides quick access to the most important databases for medical research, new health sciences books in the library, and links to Snell Library services.  Please use the tabs at the top for additional resources.             

Get Help from a Librarian   Phone, Text, Chat, Email, Visit

 

FEATURED RESOURCES!

Micromedex: Evidence based information which includes all the unbiased, referenced information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine you need to make informed clinical diagnosis and treatment decisions.    Please note: This resource is NOT to be used in Clinical settings due to licensing restrictions.  For mobile device options, see mobileMicromedex_solutions and Drug Information and Drug Interactions mobile apps

Anatomy TV Primal Picturesmultimedia suite of interactive modules featuring 3D anatomical models of the human body. Modules include systemic and regional anatomy, sports and therapy, surgery and specialty titles including Speech language pathology and more.

MD Consult
authoritative evidence-based medical information. Includes 80 full-text medical journals, Clinics Review Articles, 50 leading medical texts, 1000 practice guidelines, 15,000 patient education handouts, current drug information, 50,000 medical imagesmedical news.  Search within First Consult for information on medical topics, differential diagnoses, procedures. For mobile access, first access MD Consult through the Snell Library website. Click on "Create an Account". Complete the registration form and create your username/password, and log out.  Log into MD Consult by visiting http://m.mdconsult.com from your mobile browser. Log in using your new personal login.


Henry Stewart Talks: Biomedical & Life Sciencesonline biomedical topics, including audio lectures & supplemental materials such as slides & notes, by faculty members & researchers from around the world.

JAMA & Archives Journals Backfiles Collection:  rich digital archive includes every issue of JAMA and Archives Journals published from 1883 to 1997.

Encyclopedia of Global Health
  covers all aspects of global health, including physical/mental health. Includes public policy topics, biographies, profiles of medical institutions, organizations and corporations.


Facts & Comparisons Clinical eAnswers: authoritative & comprehensive drug information. Includes a drug/disease indications database, dosage, body measurement, and general pharmacology calculators, patient handouts.

 

New Books @ Snell Library

Cover Art
Physician Assistants: policy & practice - Roderick S. Hooker
Call Number: Snell Stacks R697 P45 H66 2010
ISBN: 0803618123

Cover Art
Physician Assistant Review Guide - David Paulk
Call Number: Snell Reference R697 P45 P486 2010
ISBN: 0763752665

Cover Art
Health Care USA: understanding its organization & delivery - Harry A. Sultz
Call Number: Snell Stacks RA395 A3 S897 2009
ISBN: 0763749745

Cover Art
Learning Clinical Reasoning - Jerome P. Kassirer
Call Number: Snell Stacks R723 K38 2010
ISBN: 078179515X

 

NEJM: Celebrating 200 years in 2012

Throughout the year, NEJM will mark their 200th anniversary with special content and features on its anniversary website

Contact Sandy

Profile Image
Sandy Dunphy
Contact Info
270 Snell Library
617-373-5322
Send Email
Education:
MS Library & Information Science, Simmons College

BA Marietta College

Associations:
ACRL/New England Chapter
 

Locate Books & Media at Other Libraries

If you're looking for a book, periodical or media item, and NU doesn't have it, WorldCat shows you which libraries do.  Most North American and public libraries are included.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip