On this page
You may want something other than articles published in journals or magazines. News sources, reports, videos, etc. may provide insights and information on your topic of interest. This page offers a few possibilities.
- newspaper articles,
- videos
- other forms of information sources beyond journal articles.
It can be a challenge to keep up with all of the ongoing public health initiatives, crises and activities. Included below are a few sources where you can receive updates on government activities, from the National Institutes of Health, or public health challenges and approaches to dealing with them from the CDC, Visit each site to subscribe to receive messages in your email or check back frequently.
A few News sources
News sources covering health topics.
- Stat PlusRequires registration with your Northeastern email.
Provides in-depth biotech, pharma, policy, and life science coverage and analysis. Coverage includes Wall Street news, policy developments in Washington, early science breakthroughs, clinical trial results, and health care disruption... - Kaiser Health NewsKHN (Kaiser Health News) is a national newsroom that produces in-depth journalism about health issues. KFF is an endowed nonprofit organization providing information on health issues to the nation. KHN reports on how the health care system — hospitals, doctors, nurses, insurers, governments, consumers — works.
- MedPage TodayMedPage Today is a trusted source for clinical news coverage across the medical specialties. MedPageToday covers clinical news, findings, and announcements that will directly affect the lives and practices of health care professionals throughout the U.S.
Newspapers:
Available United States papers include Boston Globe, New York Times and Wall Street Journal. Archives and collections of smaller and special are also available through Northeastern Library subscriptions.
- Find more NewspapersFind all of the newspapers Northeastern University Library subscribes to.
Government News
- NIH News and EventsBrowse current and past posts
Mapping and Visualization
- Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME) Data VisualizationsThe Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME) is an independent global health research center at the University of Washington that provides rigorous and comparable measurement of the world's most important health problems and evaluates the strategies used to address them.
- WHO: Global Health Observatory Map GalleryThe GHO map gallery includes an extensive list of maps on major health topics, such as child health, environmental health, HIV/AIDS, mortality & global burden of disease, tobacco control, violence prevention & more.
- HealthMap: Global Disease Alert MapReal time infectious disease surveillance
Grey Literature: Government Sources
Grey literature simply defined is items like government reports, white papers, documents and reports from organizations. Essentially, they are not in a formal structured publication like a journal.
- Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)Access to publications, data & statistics.
- Evidence Search/NICE-National Institute for Health and Care ExcellenceProvides access to selected and authoritative evidence in health, social care and public health.
- NHS Knowledge and Library Hub (UK)connects healthcare staff and learners to high quality, NHS-funded, knowledge and evidence resources in one place, using a single search.
Videos
- Kanopy Streaming This link opens in a new windowA curated collection of films for the Northeastern community, including feature films as well as high-interest documentaries. You may use Scholar OneSearch to find out if Northeastern has a particular film. Closed captions and transcripts included. Films provided by HBO and Neon Films cannot be viewed outside of the U.S.
- Academic Video Online (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new windowAcademic Video Online Premium provides video content to a broad range of subject areas, including documentaries and journalistic content on topics in business, politics, history, music, public health, education and more. Training videos are also available.
