On this page
This page covers policy related resources. Healthcare has many levels where policy plays a role. It can be local, regional or national. There are a few sources highlighted here. If you have any recommendations for this page, please let me know.
Health Policy Sources
These resources, some subscription based, some free contain information related to policies across a variety of topics and organizations.
When possible, used advanced search strategies, learn about the features and categorizations in the database.
- Policy Commons This link opens in a new windowReports, working papers, policy briefs, data sources, and media drawn from a directory of more than 21,000 IGOs, NGOs, think tanks, and research centers.
Search Help
- Coherent Digital Search TipsLinks to a downloadable pdf.
Policy Commons is one of Coherent Digital databases.
- PolicyFile This link opens in a new windowU.S. foreign and domestic policy papers and gray literature, PolicyFile is updated weekly with abstracts and links to the latest reports, papers, and documents from think tanks, research institutes, and agencies.
- Policy AtlasHarvard Catalyst
A comprehensive database of policy and public health data for researchers, policymakers, and community advocates. - CDC Public Health Law Program (PHLP)PHLP works to improve the health of the public by developing law-related tools and providing legal technical assistance to public health practitioners and policymakers.
Health Care Reform
The Affordable Care Act was passed by Congress and then signed into law by the President on March 23, 2010.
On June 28, 2012 the Supreme Court rendered a final decision to uphold the health care law.
- Supreme Court Decisionsearch or browse the site for rulings, link here goes to items on the :affordable care act"
- Kaiser Family Foundation (KFF) AboutKFF (Kaiser Family Foundation) is a nonprofit organization focusing on national health issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy. KFF develops and runs its own policy analysis, journalism and communications programs, sometimes in partnership with major news organizations.
Read more...
Public Health Law Sites
- Public Health Law Watcha resource for academics, scholars, experts, the public, the media, and policymakers.
- Center for Health Policy and LawNortheastern University School of Law
- Center for Public Health Law ResearchTemple University
Use these databases to search for specific legislation and laws. View tutorials or ask a librarian for help if you need additional search help.
- HeinOnline contains many databases within it. Click to the right of the search box to view and select what fits your inquiry best.
- WestLaw defaults the search Federal United States. Choose specifics from the boxes displayed below.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline is available courtesy of the Northeastern School of Law Library.
Full text legal documents including regulations and other government publications, reports, Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) and UN Treaty series, and law reviews and journals. - Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new windowSearch federal and state court cases, statutes and codes as well as European Union laws and regulations. Secondary sources include the American Law Reports and the American Jurisprudence encyclopedia, law reviews, journals, and newspapers.
- Tutorials: Find cases and articles in Westlaw (video) or see a PDF version