Books are another important resource for research. How you use them, and how you cite them, will depend on the type of book.
- A Monograph is a detailed book on a subject. The entire book is written by either a single person, or a team working together. When you find a monograph on your topic, consult the table of contents to see where to start.
- An Anthology or an edited book are books with chapters on distinct topics related to a central theme. Each chapter is written by different authors and the volume is overseen by an editor. These books have a specific citation format that includes the editor and chapter authors.
- Reference books include encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference material. They often include many short articles intended to introduce readers to a topic.
e-Book Databases
- Cambridge Core This link opens in a new windowA selection of the journals and reference works from Cambridge University Press. If you don't see a title you think would be important for our collections, please recommend it using our suggestion form.
- eBook collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowRegistration for an ebscohost account and Adobe Digital Editions are required if you wish to download complete eBooks to your computer or reading device.
- Lecture Notes in Computer Science This link opens in a new windowThe famous Springer series of texts and proceedings in computer science and related fields.
- O'Reilly for Higher Education Ebooks This link opens in a new windowSafari includes more than 35,000 book titles from industry-leading publishers such as Sam's, O'Reilly, Peachpit, and Que plus 30,000 hours of video, proven learning paths, case studies, interactive tutorials, audio books, and videos from O’Reilly's global conferences.
Access to this resource requires registration with a Northeastern or NCH email address. - Springer Nature Link This link opens in a new windowOnline access to full text of 50,000 books and book series from Springer Publishing. While the strength of Springer publishing is in the sciences, including biomedical and health sciences, many disciplines are represented: business, economics, chemistry, computer science, earth and environmental science, engineering, law, mathematics, physics and astronomy, and the social sciences. English and German content is included.
- Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new windoweBooks in a number of fields spanning technology, engineering, medicine, and social science
Scholar OneSearch
Using Scholar OneSearch
To find books or e-books, you'll want to use Scholar OneSearch. Scholar OneSearch searches many of the library's databases, including e-book databases and the library catalog.
Once you've searched for the topic you're interested in Scholar OneSearch will return a list of as many materials as possible related to your topic. This will include books and e-books, as well as some articles, videos, dissertations, and more.
The easiest way to search Scholar OneSearch is to limit your search to a particular material type, such as books or e-books. To do this, use the filter on the left hand side of the screen to select the material type(s) you're interested in and click 'Apply'. You can also exclude material types from your search by hovering over the material type and clicking the red check box on the right hand side of the material type.
For more information, view Scholar OneSearch Tutorials.
Interlibrary Loan
Try using Northeastern's Interlibrary Loan system to request books, book chapters, or articles not available at NU. Articles can be delivered electronically.