Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Belonging

Suggestions for research and links to resources on campus related to diversity and anti-racism

Welcome

This page serves as an introduction to resources on Disability and Neurodiversity.  To find more information and research tips explore these guides: 

Defining Neurodiversity - according to Stanford's Neurodiversity Project, neurodiversity is a concept that regards individuals with differences in brain function and behavioral traits as part of normal variation in the human population. The movement of Neurodiversity is about uncovering the strengths of neurodivergent individuals and utilizing their talents to increase innovation and productivity of the society as a whole.

Defining Disability - according to the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), "a physical or mental impairment that substantially limits one or more major life activities, a person who has a history or record of such an impairment, or a person who is perceived by others as having such an impairment. The ADA does not specifically name all of the impairments that are covered."

Research

These tabs offer a small selection of resources on disability and neurodiversity. To view more recommendations click here or explore the Snell Library website

 

Explore these databases to find articles and other resources: 

  • PsycArticles - A database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.
  • Psychology and Behavioral Science Collection - A select collection of full-text articles in psychology from chiefly peer-reviewed journals.
  • ScienceDirect - Scholarly journal articles in the sciences, all full text, mostly from the publisher Elsevier.
  • Social Sciences Premium Collection -- international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, education.

Looking for a topic? 

Consider one of these:

  • cultural norms and variation within the disability community
  • strategies for inclusion (personal, political, societal) 
  • how people with a specific identity (e.g., autism spectrum) experience life differently in one country compared to another
  • media representation of neurodivergent individuals
  • The psychological effect of bullying

Northeastern & Beyond Resources

We invite you to explore different organizations available at Northeastern University and in our surrounding communities: 

Disability Resource Center 

The DRC is dedicated to partnering with the diverse population of students, staff, and faculty who we serve at Northeastern and in the surrounding community. We strive to provide exemplary service, education, and resources in the work that we do. Our guiding principles are informed by federal law regarding disability and privacy, by the University’s policies on equal opportunity, non-discrimination, and the Student Code of Conduct, and also by the rights and the individual needs of the people who we serve.