Skip to main content
We are still offering consultation services during the COVID-19 move to online instruction. Please feel free to reach out for virtual appointments! For more information on library services and resources, please click here.
Pedagogy Guide and Resources for Racial Justice
Welcome to the University Libraries
Guide to Talking About Race
Talking about Race-- a guide from the National Museum of African American History & Culture, covering why talking about race matters; links to educational materials about historical foundations of race, with a crash course on slavery; whiteness; racial identity; and more.
The Archives and Special Collections at the University Libraries has a collection of historically significant records of the University. Its Documenting Diversity initiative has focused on underdocumented communities in Boston-- specifically the at-risk historical records of Boston's African American, Chinese, gay and lesbian, and Latino communities. View online exhibits featuring photographs, documents, and more.
SEE ALSO: related guides
Need research help? Take a look at one of the more specific, more extensive subject guides below. Each is maintained by a librarian at Northeastern. Contact the librarian for help with research or any questions about your topic.
Below is a small number of frequently-requested titles; search Scholar Onesearch for our full collection of ebooks, films, and more.
Publication Date: 2020-02-14
How marginalized groups use Twitter to advance counter-narratives, preempt political spin, and build diverse networks of dissent.
Alchemy of Race and Rights by
Publication Date: 1991-04-18
Looks at racism in the United States and its implications for the practice and teaching of law.
Publication Date: 2016
Beyond Blaxploitation is a much-needed pedagogical tool, informing film scholars, critics, and fans alike, about blaxploitation's richness and complexity.
Black Children in Hollywood Cinema by
Publication Date: 2017
This book explores cultural conceptions of the child and the connections between historical imagery and beliefs about Africans, and the cinematic absence of black children from contemporary Hollywood film.
Have Black Lives Ever Mattered? by
Publication Date: 2017-05-15
In December 1981, Mumia Abu Jamal was shot and beaten into unconsciousness by Philadelphia police. He awoke to find himself shackled to a hospital bed, accused of killing a cop. He was convicted and sentenced to death in a trial that Amnesty International has denounced as failing to meet the minimum standards of judicial fairness. Here he gives voice to the many people of color who have fallen to police bullets or racist abuse, and offers the post-Ferguson generation advice on how to address police abuse in the United States. Published in 2017, the book provides a righteously angry and calmly principled radical black perspective on how racist violence is tearing our country apart and what must be done to turn things around.
How to Be an Antiracist by
Publication Date: 2019-08-13
Antiracism is a transformative concept that reorients and reenergizes the conversation about racism--and, even more fundamentally, points us toward liberating new ways of thinking about ourselves and each other. Kendi takes readers through a widening circle of antiracist ideas and weaves an electrifying combination of ethics, history, law, and science with his own personal story of awakening to antiracism. This is an essential work for anyone who wants to go beyond the awareness of racism to the next step: contributing to the formation of a just and equitable society.
Laying Claim: African American Cultural Memory and Southern Identity by
Publication Date: 2016
Davis traces how the increasing participation of black public voices in the realms of Civil War memory--battlefields, museums, online communities--has dispelled the mirage of "southernness" as a stolid cairn of white culture and has begun to create a more fluid sense of southernness that includes all of the region's peoples.
My Life, My Love, My Legacy by
Publication Date: 2017
New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice. "Born in 1927 to daringly enterprising black parents in the Deep South, Coretta Scott had always felt called to a special purpose. One of the first black scholarship students recruited to Antioch College, a committed pacifist, and a civil rights activist, she was an avowed feminist--a graduate student determined to pursue her own career--when she met Martin Luther King Jr., a Baptist minister insistent that his wife stay home with the children. But in love and devoted to shared Christian beliefs and racial justice goals, she married King, and events promptly thrust her into a maelstrom of history throughout which she was a strategic partner, a standard bearer, a marcher, a negotiator, and a crucial fundraiser in support of world-changing achievements." - from the publisher
The New Jim Crow by
Publication Date: 2012-01-16
This bold 2012 book directly challenges the notion that the election of Barack Obama signals a new era of colorblindness. Legal scholar Michelle Alexander argues that "we have not ended racial caste in America; we have merely redesigned it." By targeting black men through the War on Drugs and decimating communities of color, the U.S. criminal justice system functions as a contemporary system of racial control—relegating millions to a permanent second-class status—even as it formally adheres to the principle of colorblindness.
Toward an Intellectual History of Black Women
Publication Date: 2015
Mia E. Bay, Farah J. Griffin, Martha S. Jones, and Barbara D. Savage. This collection of essays by fifteen scholars of history and literature establishes black women's places in intellectual history by engaging the work of writers, educators, activists, religious leaders, and social reformers in the United States, Africa, and the Caribbean.
Check out these items in the library's streaming video collections.