Why Cite and How Do I Cite?
Why cite?
- Citations acknowledge authorship or creation of a work. Cite when you use a direct quote from a work and when you paraphrase or summarize an idea in your own words.
- Citations allow readers to locate the sources you used in the course of your research. They can then read and assess your conclusions as well as those of your sources.
- Citations document your research process.
How do I cite?
- if you are writing for publication, check the author guidelines on a publisher's web page for the required style. For example, most journals provide detailed instructions for authors.\
- If you are writing a paper or assignment, consult your instructor about the citation style required for a particular assignment or generally used by writers in your discipline.
Selected Resources:
- Need a particular style guide? Visit our Citations and Bibliographies Guide.
- Check our PDF slides on Citation Fundamentals.
- Visit the Purdue OWL which is an excellent resource for all aspects of writing, including citation and bibliography. The Site Map is a good place to begin.
- RECOMMENDED! Consider using one of the Library-supported citation management software packages.
Citation Styles and Citation Management Software
The Library supports EndNote, RefWorks, Mendeley, Zotero, and BibTeX citation management software. BibTeX and LaTeX are most commonly used in mathematics.
Citations and Bibliographies Guide - Visit this site to learn more about citation management software as well as different citation styles.
- Citation management software comparison chartView a chart which shows compares features of the software packages supported by library staff.
Background information on Chicago/Turabian style;
- Turabian is part of the Chicago style family and is frequently used by students.
- The Chicago Manual is oriented toward researchers, professional writers, and graduate students, although it is used by students at all levels.
- There are two forms of Chicago style: Notes/Bibliography and Author/Date
- Notes/Bibliography uses footnotes and end notes and is most frequently used in the Humanities (literature, art, and history)
- Author/Date style frequently uses in-text citations as opposed to notes and is generally used in the social sciences and sciences.
- Chicago Manual of Style This link opens in a new windowProvides information on manuscript preparation, punctuation, spelling, quotations, captions, tables, abbreviations, references, bibliographies, notes, and indexes.
- Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition (Purdue OWL)Greater focus on ChicagoNumbers/Bibliography style. Sample papers are provided for both Author/Date and Numbers/Bibliography.
- Turabian Style (also included in the Chicago Manual linked above)Turabian is a Chicago-based style frequently used by student writers.
- APA siteFor a quick answer, use the search tool at the top right of the screen (magnifying glass).
- APA Style ReferencesSample citations with explanations included. Icons indicate new guidance, expanded guidance, changes from APA 6, etc.
- APA Instructional AidsProvides tutorials, webinars, guides, handouts, and sample papers.
- APA BlogGreat place to read about what's trending in APA style...a recent post covers citing ChatGPT.
- APA Style Workshop (Purdue OWL)Scroll down to the section called APA Citations and Reference List for sample citations.
Slides 19 through 36 are most relevant for the average writing assignment. Links/materials used courtesy of the Purdue Writing Center.
- Harvard Citation Format (from Mendeley)This is the recommended guide for Northeastern-London/NCH students.
- Quick tips for ASA StyleFrom the American Sociological Association.
Most major citation styles rely on The Bluebook for complex legal citations. Here are some online guides for your use.
- Cornell University Legal Information Institute (LII)Use the links to the left of the screen to retrieve sample citations.
- Georgetown University Guide to the BluebookIncludes some helpful video tutorials.
Writing Assistance
For help with writing projects, consider a visit to Northeastern's Writing Center. Hours and services vary by term; please check the website for current information. Online consulting is also available (all appointments in EST).
The Purdue OWL is an excellent resource for all aspects of paper writing, including citation and bibliography. The Site Map is a good place to begin.
Recording Studios
- Recording StudiosThe Recording Studios is currently closed as part of the Snell renovation project. The Studios will reopen in the Fall Semester 2024. Studio staff remain available to assist you with your recording and post-production questions.
For more helpful information, visit the Digital Media Toolkit.
Digital Repository Service
The Digital Repository Service (DRS) was developed by Northeastern University Library as a tool for University faculty and staff to protect the valuable information and data that has been created as part of the University’s research and instructional mission.
Anyone is welcome to use the DRS to discover publicly available content, like theses and dissertations or the University Archives and Special Collections Digital Collections. Members of the Northeastern community are encouraged to sign in to access additional content that is not available to the general public, like photographs from the Office of Marketing and Communications or certain research materials.
- DRS User GuideThe DRS User Guide contains helpful information about various DRS functions, like downloading and uploading files, as well as information about how the DRS operates, like how communities and collections are structured.
- DRS FAQFrequently asked questions about the DRS
Research Data Services - Support & Tools PDF
Data Analysis and Programming
Support for cleaning, manipulating, and analyzing data. Also learning how to code.
Excel
Python
R / RStudio
Data Visualization
Support for creating and improving data visualizations such as graphs.
D3.js
Flourish
Tableau
Posters, Presentations, and Diagrams
Support for creating and refining posters, presentations, diagrams and other graphics.
Adobe Illustrator
Adobe InDesign
PowerPointGeospatial Analysis and GIS
Support for creating maps, conducting geospatial analysis, and learning GIS tools.
ArcGIS / ESRI Suite
QGIS
Simply Analytics- Research Data Services Support & Tools (PDF)Click for downloadable PDF of RDS' services with embedded links. For more info see the Research Data Services website.
Finding Dissertations
The video and the alternative PowerPoint slides below show you how to find dissertations: in general, written at NU, written in my program, supervised by my advisor, and written using a particular theoretical framework.
Dissertation finding database links are provided below the video and slides.
- How Do I Find DissertationsNo time to watch a video? Flip through these slides!
- Submit your completed dissertation or thesisScroll down to read about the submission process by collelge.
- Dissertations and Theses @ Northeastern (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowNortheastern University Masters and PhD degree candidates' dissertations, submitted to ProQuest's national thesis clearinghouse, most but not all full text.
- Dissertations and Theses Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowWith over 2.7 million entries, Proquest Dissertations is the authoritative resource for searching doctoral dissertations and master's theses from around the world, from 1861 to the present. Full text PDFs are usually available to download for theses published since 1997. Beginning in 2008, Northeastern University Masters and PhD students submit their completed dissertations to this "database of record" for graduate research.
- Digital Repository Service (Northeastern University) This link opens in a new windowA secure repository system, designed to store and share scholarly, administrative, and archival materials from the Northeastern University community.
View Terms of Service
Need more help?
Please contact Roxanne Palmatier library contact for Criminal Justice.