Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Latin American and Caribbean Studies: Home

This guide provides a starting point for research in Latin America and Caribbean studies and related disciplines

Software

DATABASE TRIALS  includes access to the Hindustan Times.  This resource is a part of ProQuest Historical Newspapers  Hindustan Times Historical covers leading issues and events of the time, providing day-to-day news coverage of history in India. The historical newspaper offers coverage of 1924–2010, and is one of the largest newspapers in India.The paper is the second most widely read English newspaper in India (after The Times of India). The trial ends on December 28th 2022. 

Snell Library is currently offering trial access to World Politics Review, a daily online resource for international politics and foreign affairs written by more than 400 contributors from around the world and experts in a variety of disciplines. Full text is included in PDF or HTML format, or both, and the Review contains thousands of articles in its archive.

Please take the time to let us know your thoughts on these resources by taking this short survey. Your input will help us make library resource decisions.

Is there software to help manage my citations?

Yes! EndNote and RefWorks are licensed for use by current NU faculty, staff, and students. The open source product Zotero and the free version of Mendeley are two other options that the library supports. Any of these programs can help you collect and manage your references, and auto-format citations and bibliographies in your papers. (Choose just one; they are not meant to be used at the same time.)

For more details on each program, see the introductory pages for EndNote, RefWorksZotero, or Mendeley or watch a short video on Choosing a citation manager.

Key Resources

  • Scholar OneSearch
    Use Scholar One to search for books, articles, streaming video, streaming music, government publications, and more. To search only for books, e-books, and other local resources, select the Library Catalogs option.

  • .CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
    Contains major academic journals in international affairs along with policy papers, reports, commentary and analysis.
     
  • The Economist
    International news and business weekly publication with reporting, commentary and analysis on world current affairs, business, finance, science and technology, culture, society, media and the arts. The online edition features content from 1997 to the present. (Audio and Apps sections are not included in our subscription.)
     
  • Empire Online
    A searchable collection of original primary source documents relating to Empire Studies, from libraries and archives around the world. Sources date from 1492!
     
  • Ethnic NewsWatch contains news and research by and about ethnic groups. If you want to focus on a specific group, use Advanced Search to select your group, such African American/Caribbean/Africa, or Hispanic, or Multi-Ethnic or Native People. from the drop-down menu.
     
  • Foreign Policy
    Magazine for source for global news and analysis with information on contemporary politics and economics in the context of foreign policy-making worldwide.
     
  • Global Issues in Context
    Offers selected country reports, along with background information on a broad range of global issues, topics and current events. NOTE: use the Browse Issues to see the list of almost 700 topics, including recently updated information about BRICS Countries.
     
  • International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Science, 2nd edition
    Authoritative source of almost 40,000 signed articles on topics ranging from economics, education, genetics, health, labor studies, and politics as some of the Subject Classifications. Articles include bibliographical references.
     
  • JSTOR -- Use Advanced Search to focus your search in the collection of journals for Latin American Studies. The JSTOR collection has expended to include books and images.
     
  • Literature Resource Center (LRC)
    International in scope, LRC provides biographical and critical overviews of most authors, together with critical reactions to their works and bibliographies for further research--see MLA International Bibliography below.
     
  • MLA International Bibliography
    This searchable database is essential for research in language and literature.
     
  • PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) Index|
    International in scope, the index includes reports, government documents, books and gray literature along with academic, peer-reviewed journal articles. Some of the indexed materials are published in other languages.
     
  • Project MUSE -- collection of humanities and social science journals. NOTE: use the Research Area feature to focus your search on Area and Ethnic Studies-- Latin America and Caribbean
     
  • Project Syndicate
    Content covers a wide range of topics, such as Politics, Economics, Development, Culture, and written by international experts in the field. NOTE: articles available in a number of languages.
     
  • Social Sciences Premium Collection
    This collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including economics, politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.
     
  • Web of Science
    The Web of Science is multidisciplinary resource to a large collection of peer-reviewed articles and other materials. Valuable for tracing related publications and citations.

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Christine Oka
Contact:
270 Snell Library
(617) 373-3316

Country Studies and Reports

Not peer-reviewed, but authoritative sources for country information, reports, white papers and studies.

  • EIU Viewpoint (Economist Intelligent Unit)
  • Europa World Plus with in-depth country and regional information/
  • BBC News Country Profiles
     
  • Policy Commons
    Looking for studies,reports or white papers? Use this resource to access gray literature from IGOs, NGOs, think tanks, government agencies, and academic research centers.
  • Policy File
    Use PolicyFile to locate reports from over 350 public policy think tanks, non-governmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups, and other entities. U.S. and international coverage.