Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Get started with Scholar OneSearch
Scholar OneSearch can be a great place to start your research. Search results include books (both print and electronic), articles, videos, data sets, and more.
E-Books and E-Reference Sources for Mechanical and Industrial Engineering
Business Plans Handbook
A compilation of actual business plans developed by small businesses throughout North America. Detroit, MI : Gale Research, Inc., c1995- 01/01/1995 v. ; Language: English
Encyclopedia of Materials: Science and Technology This link opens in a new window
Around 1,800 articles written by experts in their fields, resulting in a comprehensive coverage focusing on the following areas: * Functional Phenomena * Structural Phenomena * Fundamental Core Theory * Structural Materials * Polymers and Materials Chemistry * Functional Materials
Encyclopedia of Smart Materials
Smart materials have properties that react to changes in their environment. This means that one of their properties can be changed by an external condition, such as temperature, light, pressure or electricity. This change is reversible and can be repeated many times.
Self-healing material - Shape-memory alloy - Ferrofluid - Dielectric elastomers.
How stuff works
HowStuffWorks explains thousands of topics, from engines to lock-picking to ESP, with video and illustrations so you can learn how everything works.
IET Digital Library
A global repository of science, engineering and technology focused content produced by The Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET). Includes access to 600+ e-books.
Interactive ebooks and databases for scientific and engineering information.
Open Textbooks for Engineering
This guide aggregates links to open (freely available) textbooks from ~20 different open educational resource websites and organizes it by engineering discipline.
O'Reilly (previously Safari Tech Books Online)
A fully-searchable e-reference library that houses a vast collection of online technical books from industry-leading publishers. Note: from the dropdown menu, select 'Institution not listed' from the dropdown menu, then follow the instructions to register or use your personal account.
Oxford Handbooks for Physical Science
Online access to reputable handbooks on topics like nanoscience and technology, planning for climate change, small super conductors, the history of physics and cosmology, and more.
Using Scholar OneSearch
To find books or e-books, you'll want to use Scholar OneSearch - the Northeastern Library Catalog.
Once you've searched for the topic you're interested in (ex. 'bioengineering and stem cells'), Scholar OneSearch will return a list of as many materials as possible related to your topic. This will include books and e-books, as well as some articles, videos, dissertations, and more.
The easiest way to search Scholar OneSearch is to limit your search to a particular material type, such as books or e-books. To do this, use the filter on the left hand side of the screen to select the material type(s) you're interested in and click 'Apply'. You can also exclude material types from your search by hovering over the material type and clicking the red check box on the right hand side of the material type.
Tips for using Scholar OneSearch
- Try using the advanced search to specify a subject and author you are interested in at the same time.
- Sign in to Scholar OneSearch to see additional results. Some databases, such as Web of Science, won't allow their results to populate Scholar OneSearch for anyone who is not signed in.
- Use the filters on the left hand side of the search results page. Some of the most popular filters are material type (to limit to a specific type of research such as an e-book or e-journal), author/creator (to see who is prominently publishing in the field), and year (to limit to research in a particular time period).