Clinical Resources
Use the links below to find clinical resources:
Point of Care Resources Physical Exam
Differential Diagnosis Practice Guidelines
Diagnostic Tests Drug Information
Anatomy and Medical Images
Point of Care Resources
- UpToDate (Wolters Kluwer) This link opens in a new windowEvidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource. It offers expert reviews of topics in health care to assist practitioners.
Access to UpToDate requires registration with a Northeastern email address. - AccessMedicine (McGraw Hill Medical) This link opens in a new windowFrom the basics to specialty-specific content,with more than 50 medical books, including manuals and handbooks which can be downloaded to a mobile device. Some resources such as flash cards may require an individual McGraw Access account. Please register here then return to this page and use the above link for access.
- What this includes: Textbooks, self-assessments, practice guidelines, videos, a drug database, patient cases.
- AccessPharmacy (McGraw Hill Medical) This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive online reference with materials for pharmaceutical education, from McGraw-Hill. Some resources such as flash cards may require an individual McGraw Access account. Please register here then return to this page and use the above link for access.
- What this includes: Textbooks, cases, study guides, herb supplement and drug references
- ClinicalKey (Elsevier) This link opens in a new windowClinical overviews, e-books, drug classification overviews and patient education and guidelines.
- Micromedex This link opens in a new windowEvidence based information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine to support informed research. These products are intended solely for demonstration purposes, for the purpose of training students in the use of the Databases, and for clinical or emergency response services if the user is not compensated in any way for providing such services. The resources are to be used under the supervision of Northeastern’s teaching staff. These resources cannot be used for productive use within a hospital facility.
- AccessAnesthesiology (McGraw Hill Medical) This link opens in a new windowAccessAnesthesiology covers the entire spectrum of anesthesiology from the basics to specialty-specific content. Some resources such as flash cards may require an individual McGraw Access account. Please register here then return to this page and use the above link for access.
- What this includes: Textbooks, cases, self-assessments, practice guidelines, and a drug database.
Drug Information
Physical Exam
- AccessMedicineClick on the Multimedia tab, select Videos by Category, select Physical Exam.
- Practical Guide to Clinical MedicineA comprehensive physical examination and clinical education site for medical students and other health care professionals. Includes physical exam checklists, lecture series and more.
Diagnostic Tests
- Lab Tests OnlineA to Z list of tests; by disease; screening recommendations by age.
Practice Guidelines
Databases are a rich source of guidelines. Select a database and conduct a search on the specific condition, for example, migraine
- ClinicalKey: Click the "Guidelines" link, or search by topic and use the "Guidelines" filter.
- Medline and CINAHL Complete: look to the left of your results, click on "Show More" under the date limit slider, select "Practice Guideline" under the Publication Type filter, click "Search".
- PubMed: look under the "Article Types" section to the left of your results, click on "Customize", select "Practice Guideline", click "Show", then click on the "Practice Guideline" option that is displayed under Article Types.
- TRIP: look to the right of your results, select the "Guidelines" by evidence type.
Anatomy & Medical Images
Anatomy.tv is a comprehensive multimedia suite of interactive modules featuring highly accurate 3D models of the human body. Animations illustrate function, biomechanics and movement, as well as treatments and surgical procedures. Modules include systemic anatomy, regional anatomy, sports & therapy, surgery and specialty titles.
Within Anatomy.tv you can:
- Demonstrate muscle function in 3D with interactive animations that illustrate the interaction of muscles, ligaments and bones
- Review clinical videos to gain a better understanding of procedures and treatments
- Peel away layers, zoom, rotate anatomical models 360 degrees, and reconstruct layers back to their original structure
- Export images, text, movies, and animations to use in presentations and patient handouts