Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
We are still offering consultation services during the COVID-19 move to online instruction. Please feel free to reach out for virtual appointments! For more information on library services and resources, please click here.
Additional Databases, Interlibrary Loan, Tutorials
This is a list of additional databases with nursing content. For the "best bets" nursing databases, please click here. For a complete list of databases at NU, please click here.
The world's most comprehensive index for nursing & allied health journals, indexes 5,300 journals; providing full text for more than 1,400 journals. Covers 1937-present.
Web of Science
Citation information and analysis, as well as author abstracts, are available in this multidisciplinary database covering over 10,000 high impact research journals. Cited reference searching allows you to track prior research, see who is citing your work, measure the influence of someone's work, and navigate forward, backward and through the literature of your discipline.Covers 1975-present.
Social Sciences Premium Collection
This collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. Featured databases include IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more, including deep indexing and full text from over 500 important social science journals.
Covers the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day with more than 32+ million records from 8,200 journals and ‘grey literature’ from over 2.4 million conference abstracts. Embase includes unique non-English content and coverage of the most important types of evidence, such as randomized controlled trials, controlled clinical trials, Cochrane reviews and meta-analyses.
AgeLine focuses on those aged 50+ and issues of aging. Useful for searching for the literature of social gerontology and includes aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy.
Full text articles for nearly 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
High quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies.
Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)
nformation about behavioral measurement instruments, abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences.
Computers and Applied Sciences Complete
Abstracts for more than 1,800 academic journals (730 in full text), professional publications, and other reference sources from a diverse collection relating to computer science.
Business Source Complete
Indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. Search by industry, company, topic. Includes marketing, management, MIS, accounting, finance and economics.
PolicyFile is a unique resource for U.S. public policy research, and includes timely, updated information from over 350 public policy think tanks, non-governmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups, and other entities. Health administration, Native American Studies, Medicine, Psychology, Gerontology, biomedical engineering and more.
medRxiv is a free onlline archive of complete but unpublished manuscripts in the medical, clinical and related health sciences. med Rxiv facilitates early dissemination of new findings by allowing researchers to share manuscripts before they are peer-reviewed and published in academic journals. Hosted by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory and Yale University.
Health and Wellness Resource Center
Access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works and multimedia. This consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices. Covers diseases and conditions, diagnostics and tests, drugs, therapies, treatments and surgeries.
Looking for a Specific E-journal?
Find Articles Written by a Nurse
How to Choose Keywords for Your Search
5 Ways to Improve Your Search Results
Have an Article Citation? Here's How to Find the Full-Text Article
If We Don't Have Access to an Article You Need...
Request articles or books not available at NU through ILLiad our interlibrary loan service. Articles are delivered electronically.
One-time registration is required to request articles not available at NU Libraries.