Academic Articles
Academic articles are a mainstay of scholarly research. This page includes databases of articles you can search and helpful information using them. For more information on finding specific kinds of articles, explore the following pages:
Business Article Databases
- O'Reilly for Higher Education Ebooks This link opens in a new windowE-books from leading publishers such as Sam's, O'Reilly, Peachpit, and Que plus video, learning paths, case studies, interactive tutorials, audio books and more. Access requires registration with a Northeastern or NCH email address, see instructions here.
- Business Source Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowIndexing for 2,300 periodicals covering a full range of business topics; includes peer reviewed plus trade and industry publications. Useful for researching business-related aspects of computers and information technology.
- Web of Science, Core Collection 1975-present This link opens in a new windowCitation information and analysis, as well as author abstracts, are available in this multidisciplinary database covering 8,500 high impact research journals.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowJointly funded by the University Libraries and the DAmore-McKim School of Business
Includes access to text-only versions of Barron's, the Wall Street Journal, and hundreds of other international newspapers. Factiva is to be used for academic research. Using the content for analytics or text mining is prohibited. Access is limited to 5 users at a time.
Other Article Databases
- IEEEXplore (IEEE/IET Electronic Library) This link opens in a new windowAccess to the Now Publishers Foundations and Trends Technology eBooks Engineering and Energy Library as well as citations and full text from IEEE journals, conference proceedings, and standards.
IEEE Spectrum Magazine - ACM Digital Library (Association for Computing Machinery) This link opens in a new windowThe ACM Digital Library contains full-text access to most ACM periodicals and conference proceedings from 1985 to the present, including proceedings and publications of affiliated societies. It replaces the library's suite of print ACM subscriptions.
- Business Source Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowIndexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. Detailed author profiles for the 40,000 most-cited authors. Searchable by company and industry also. Includes marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
- ABI/Inform (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowThe ABI/INFORM Collection features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
- Gartner IT Library This link opens in a new windowThe Gartner IT Library provides access to more than 110,000 documents on more than 1,200 topics, including technology products, services, and trends, global IT industry perspectives, IT management and organizations, IT strategies and governance, business-IT issues, and real-world case studies.