Skip to main content
Social Science Statistics
Search this Guide
Social Science Statistics: Business/Economics
FRASER (Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research)
FRASER provides scanned copies of historical economic statistical publications.
FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data)
Database of economic time series data.
ALFRED (Archival Federal Reserve Economic Data)
As described by the Federal Reserve, ALFRED "allows you to retrieve vintage version of economic data that were available on specific dates in history."
Company filings from the Securities and Exchange Commission.
BLS Databases, Tables, and Calculators by Subject
Includes materials on employment, unemployment, prices and inflation, productivity, and pay and benefits, and workplace injuries. Also international comparative data.
Bureau of Economic Analysis Interactive Data Tables
Legacy data tables also available at the same site.
LABORSTA Internet (International Labour Office)
International Monetary Fund (IMF)
Look for the free data sets and statistics. We don't currently have access to all resources listed on this site.
World Bank, Data and Research
The Misery Index
For updates and searching the index by year, month, president, etc. go to the
U.S. Misery Index
Sources of Business/Economics Statistics
Center for Labor Market Studies (Northeastern University)
Board of Governors, Federal Reserve System
Provides links to the Federal Reserve Bulletin as well as a broad range of research and economic data.
Bureau of Economic Analysis
Provides economic accounts data at the national, international, industrial, and regional level.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
An extensive site providing links to publications, databases, statistics, calculators, and economic releases.
Subjects covered include: inflation and prices, spending and time use, unemployment, employment, pay and benefits, productivity, workplace injuries, and international labor materials.
Department of Commerce
Department of Labor
Economics and Statistics Administration
Federal Reserve Bank of Boston
Federal Reserve Economic Data
Download, graph, and track 61,000 economic time series from 47 sources.
International Trade Administration (ITA)
Securities and Exchange Commission
Small Business Administration (SBA)
Extensive documentation on the "how-to's" of starting and financing a small business.
e-EDGE (Economic Data Global Express)
Newsletter published by the LAEDC (Los Angeles Country Economic Development Corporation) e-EDGE provides statistics and news on global, national, California, and local levels.
Economic Report of the President, 1947 to present
Available through FRASER, the Federal Reserve Archive.
Economic Report of the President, 1995 to present
Available through FDsys, the Government Publishing Office permanent archive.
Economic Indicators, April 1995 to present
Prepared for the use of the Joint Economic Committee by the Council of Economic Advisors.
Budget of the United States Government, FY 1996 to present
Monthly Labor Review online
Includes articles as well as current labor statistics and historical data.
Employment and Earnings online
Archival data available.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Standard work for exploring occupations and their characteristics and training requirements.
Survey of Current Business
Articles and data.
New England Economic Indicators
Sep 12, 2017 10:52 AM
Login to LibApps
Business and Management
Social Sciences and Education
Library Staff Directory
Tel: (617) 373-8778 © 2015 Northeastern University Libraries
Find Faculty & Staff
360 Huntington Ave., Boston, Massachusetts 02115 · 617.373.2000 · TTY 617.373.3768
© 2015 Northeastern University