Skip to main content

Nursing: Data/Statistics & Visualization

A guide to online and print resources in nursing & nurse anesthesia.

Mapping and Visualization

Massachusetts Statistics

Community Prevenitve Services Initiatives

Guide to Community Preventive Services

A free resource to help you choose programs and policies to improve health and prevent disease in your community. Systematic reviews are used to answer these questions:

  • Which program and policy interventions have been proven effective?
  • Are there effective interventions that are right for my community?
  • What might effective interventions cost; what is the likely return on investment?

U.S. Health Data Sets

Data Resources

Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce

A collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations, and health sciences libraries.

Data Resources

ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research)  ICPSR is a non-profit membership-based data archive based at University of Michigan. ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction.

ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

Selected Health and Mental Health-related data collections include:
Center for Population Research in LGBT Health -- data on access to quality health services, cancer, injury & violence prevention, mental health & mental disorders, nutrition & overweight, physical activity & fitness, substance abuse, tobacco use.

Collaborative Psychiatric Epidemiology Surveys data on the distributions, correlates, and risk factors of mental disorders among the general population, with special emphasis on minority groups.

Health & Medical Care Archive (HMCA) -- data archive of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. Includes data on health care providers, cost/access to health care, substance abuse & health, chronic health conditions.

Integrated Fertility Survey Series -- IFSS provides access to ten individual national studies of fertility encompassing the Growth of American Families (GAF), National Fertility Surveys (NFS), and National Surveys of Family Growth (NSFG) as well as a single dataset composed of harmonized variables across all ten surveys.

National Addiction & HIV Data Archive Program (NAHDAP)-- data on crime, drug use, HIV, mental health, program evaluation, sexual behavior, youth.

Substance Abuse & Mental Health Data Archive (SAMHDA)-- Are you interested in determining the average age at which men begin smoking compared to women? What if you need to know about differences in marijuana use based on age, gender, education, or race? These and countless other questions can be answered by studies in the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive (SAMHDA) data holdings.

National Archive of Computerized Data on Aging (NACDA) -- data on aging includes health care needs, utilization and financing, demographic, social, economic, psychological, physical health & functioning characteristics. 

CDC: 500 Cities Project: Local Data for Better Health
The 500 Cities project is a collaboration between CDC, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, and the CDC Foundation. The purpose of the 500 Cities Project is to provide city- and census tract-level small area estimates for chronic disease risk factors, health outcomes, and clinical preventive service use for the largest 500 cities in the United States.

Global Statistics