Key Resources for Researching Literature
- MLA International Bibliography (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowCore index for literature, folklore, language, and linguistics, with good coverage of many additional cultural forms like film, music, and theater. Includes listings for journal articles, books, proceedings, book chapters, and dissertations back to 1926.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowArchive of scholarly articles in the humanities, social sciences, and other disciplines.
- Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary database useful for researching a broad range of topics. Includes newspaper, magazine, and academic peer-reviewed articles.
- Humanities International Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, books, and other published humanities sources from around the world.
- Literature Resource Center (Gale Cengage) This link opens in a new windowA basic reference source that includes critical overviews and selected criticism on a particular author, giving a grounding in who the author is and what they were known for.
Key Resources for Researching Languages and Language Learning
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts: LLBA (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowScholarly articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers from the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences.
- Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary database useful for researching a broad range of topics. Includes newspaper, magazine, and academic peer-reviewed articles.
- Communications & Mass Media Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowScholarly articles covering communication, mass media, rhetoric, and other closely related fields.
- Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowScholarly articles, book reviews, and more from the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- Education Research Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowScholarly articles and more related to topics in education.
- ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowContains citations to journal articles and documents related to education.
- Web of Science, All Databases This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary database with citation information from high impact research journals.
- PsycInfo (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowIncludes articles, journals, books, and more for psychology and related disciplines. Published by the American Psychological Association.
Filter Search Results by Language
In most databases, there is a filter you can select to narrow your results by the language of a source. Note that this may not mean the entire article or source is written or spoken in that language; sometimes it means that sections, quotes, excerpts, etc. are in that filtered language, while the rest of the source is in another language.
Research Tutorials
Interested in improving your searching or search results? Need to find peer-reviewed articles?
Consult the Research Tutorials guide for videos, handouts, and more.
Interlibrary Loan
Need an article not available through the NU Library? You can request articles through interlibrary loan.
- ILLiadUse ILLiad to request articles and other items not available at NU. Free, first-time user registration required.