Articles and News
Use the links below to access digital news resources and article finding databases.
Digital Newspaper Subscriptions
- Financial TimesLondon-based and international in scope, with extensive business, marketing, economic, political, news and trends worldwide. Also hosts subject-focused newsletters, podcasts, and live conferences. Access to the Financial Times requires registration with a Northeastern or NU Boston email address.
- New York Times via NYTimes.com This link opens in a new windowNortheastern offers current and archival access to the New York Times. Please use the link above to register with a Northeastern email address. Once registered, users can log in directly at https://www.nytimes.com or use the New York Times app on a smartphone or device.
- Nikkei Asia This link opens in a new windowCoverage of Asia's economic, political, business and technology news in English. Established with a goal to change the way the Asia is covered internationally and to enhance the world’s understanding of pan-Asian affairs.
Also includes data on financial markets and top companies in the region.
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new windowLeading economic, business, finance, and political news, information, commentary and analysis. For historic WSJ content dating back to 1985, please use Factiva (Opens in new window). Individual registration using a Northeastern email address is required.
- Washington PostWashington D.C.'s newspaper, with coverage of the city and region, national events, and coverage of federal government "inside-the-beltway" news. For off-campus access, please create an account and then follow these instructions (Opens in new window) to link our university subscription. Once registered, users can log in directly at www.washingtonpost.com.
Other Digital News Platforms
- AtlanticThe Atlantic covers a broad range of topics including politics, society, the arts, and culture. The site includes content from 1857 to the present and includes audio, video and podcast extras.
- E&E News (Politico Pro) This link opens in a new windowUp-to-date news on energy and the environment. Includes EnergyWire, ClimateWire, GreenWire, E&E Daily, and E&E News.
- Economist This link opens in a new windowWeekly international news and business publication. The online edition features content from 1997 to the present.
- Foreign Affairs This link opens in a new windowFeatures articles and current news covering the political, historical and economic impacts of American foreign policy and global affairs; includes the full archive of Foreign Affairs Magazine 1922-present plus online-only content. Published by the Council on Foreign Relations.
- Foreign Policy This link opens in a new windowGlobal news magazine providing insights and analysis as well as original reporting.
- Project Syndicate This link opens in a new windowA unique source of opinion pages from news outlets around the world. Good for debate and argument essays or to research a range of views on current events.
Articles by Topic
Use these databases to find materials on international affairs, policy, and politics. Although these search tools are multidisciplinary, check the other tabs on this page for focused search tools in the areas of law, business, development, education, health, and the environment.
Related Research Guides include: International Affairs, Political Science, Public Policy, and Federal Government.
- Scholar OneSearchScholar OneSearch is unique among our databases because it provides access to the Library catalog. To search the catalog for books, e-books, digital media, archival materials, and other local resources, select the Library Catalogs option in Scholar OneSearch. To include peer-reviewed, newspaper, and other kinds of articles in your search, select the Library Catalog and Articles option.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR archives full-text scholarly articles in a number of disciplines, including security studies, international relations, political science and area studies. The collection is now being updated to include articles published in recent years. If additional current content is needed, Academic Search Complete and Scholar OneSearch are excellent resources for identifying current scholarly articles.
- Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database useful for searching a broad range of topics in the fields of security, criminology international affairs, political science, and public policy. Many full-text articles are available; click the PDF or the check for full-text link to locate them!
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to selected journal titles in the social sciences and digital humanities. Currently provides access to a number of political science, security, area studies, human rights, and public policy journal titles. Generally from 1994 to the present (dates covered in individual titles may vary).
- PAIS International plus Archive (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowPAIS is international in scope and indexes articles, books, and government publications in the social sciences. The database covers materials from 1914 to the present. May be searched individually or in conjunction with PAIS, Political Science full-text, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences and a variety of other research tools.
- Social Sciences Premium Collection (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowExtensive collection of social sciences literature in the field of criminology, education, political science. and public policy. Individual databases may be search separately as noted below.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowPart of the Social Sciences Premium Collection. May be searched individually or in conjunction with PAIS, Political Science full-text, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences and a variety of other research tools.
- PubMed (NU customized)Although primarily a medical database, PubMed provides a number of articles at the intersection of medicine and public policy, including disaster, preparedness, trauma, and resilience.
- Web of Science, Core Collection 1975-present This link opens in a new windowThe Web of Science provides access to articles and citation data for peer-reviewed journal articles across the disciplines. An associated resource is Journal Citation Reports (JCR) which ranks journals within disciplines on a variety of criteria.
Use these databases to find materials on economics, development, sustainability, and business. Check the other tabs on this page for focused search tools in the areas of international affairs, public policy, security, law, development, education, health, and the environment.
- Scholar OneSearchScholar OneSearch is unique among our databases because it provides access to the Library catalog. To search the catalog for books, e-books, digital media, archival materials, and other local resources, select the Library Catalogs option in Scholar OneSearch. To include peer-reviewed, newspaper, and other kinds of articles in your search, select the Library Catalog and Articles option.
- ABI/Inform (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowProfessional and scholarly business and economics articles and reports. Business news and company, market, and brand information.
- Business Source Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowOne of the most inclusive and versatile of all business databases. Useful for most aspects of business, including materials on sustainability and development.
- EconLit (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts to scholarly and professional literature in economics. 1969 to present. Links to full text. Useful for political economy, public finance, and budgetary policy as well as materials on development and globalization.
- GreenFILE (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowMaterials on sustainability and its connection to health, policy, law, and the environment.
- ScienceDirect Books and Journals (Elsevier) This link opens in a new windowScience Direct is the web site for selected journal titles from the scholarly publisher Elsevier and its affiliates.
- Social Sciences Premium Collection (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowScholarly and professional citations and abstracts with full text links in politics and public policy, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, information sciences and education. Professional society databases included.
Use these databases to find materials on education, social welfare, and public health. Check the other tabs on this page for focused search tools in the areas of international affairs, public policy, security, law, development, education, and the environment.
Related Research Guides include: Education and Public Health.
- Scholar OneSearchScholar OneSearch is unique among our databases because it provides access to the Library catalog. To search the catalog for books, e-books, digital media, archival materials, and other local resources, select the Library Catalogs option in Scholar OneSearch. To include peer-reviewed, newspaper, and other kinds of articles in your search, select the Library Catalog and Articles option.
- Education Research Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowPeer-reviewed journals in education, most with full text. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
- Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database useful for searching a broad range of topics in the fields of international affairs, security, political science, public policy, and public administration. Many full-text articles are available; click the PDF or the check for full-text link to locate them!
- ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowCitations to education information, including scholarly articles, professional literature, education dissertations, and books, plus grey literature such as curriculum guides, conference proceedings, government publications, and white papers. Links to full text. 1966 to the present.
See our education research guide for a search box to combine ERIC with PsycInfo and Education Research Complete. - CINAHL Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts of scholarly, peer-reviewed articles and professional association news and information for thousands of publications. Covers nursing and 17 allied health disciplines, going as far back as 1937. Links to PDFs or full text for Northeastern-subscribed journals.
- PubMed (NU customized)Although primarily a medical database, PubMed provides a number of articles at the intersection of medicine and public policy, including disaster, preparedness, trauma, and resilience.
- Social Sciences Premium Collection (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowScholarly and professional citations and abstracts with full text links in politics and public policy, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, information sciences and education. Professional society databases included.
Use these databases to find materials on the environment and sustainability. Check the other tabs on this page for focused search tools in the areas of international affairs, public policy, security, law, development, education, health, and the environment.
Many of the databases listed on the International Affairs and Security tab also include articles on sustainability and environmental research.
Related Research Guides include: Environmental Sciences and Environmental Research across Disciplines.
- Scholar OneSearchScholar OneSearch is unique among our databases because it provides access to the Library catalog. To search the catalog for books, e-books, digital media, archival materials, and other local resources, select the Library Catalogs option in Scholar OneSearch. To include peer-reviewed, newspaper, and other kinds of articles in your search, select the Library Catalog and Articles option.
- GreenFILE (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowMaterials on sustainability and its connection to health, policy, law, and the environment.
- ScienceDirect Books and Journals (Elsevier) This link opens in a new windowAccess to Elsevier ebooks and select scholarly journals covering biomedical science and medicine, pharmacology, neuroscience, psychology, social sciences and more.
- Web of Science, Core Collection 1975-present This link opens in a new windowUse for citation tracking, finding seminal literature, data visualizations, author alerts, institutional affiliations, and impact factors. LInks to full text for Northeastern-subscribed journals.
- PubMed (NU customized)A comprehensive source of journal literature in the life sciences and biomedicine from the National Library of Medicine. Includes selected full text from PubMed Central, and NCBI Bookshelf. PubMed is a free web resource, however this version contains links to Northeastern-subscribed journals that require a login.
- Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new windowSearch federal and state court cases, statutes and codes as well as European Union laws and regulations. Secondary sources include the American Law Reports and the American Jurisprudence encyclopedia, law reviews, journals, and newspapers.
- Tutorials: Find cases and articles in Westlaw (video) or see a PDF version
- Law Journal Library (HeinOnline)In addition to law reviews and journals, this collection includes some related disciplines like criminal justice, human rights, and political science.
Legal and law review articles are also covered in a number of interdisciplinary databases as noted below. Related Research Guides include Legal Studies.
- Scholar OneSearchUse the "Library Catalog and Articles" search to locate law review and legal articles.
- Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database useful for searching a broad range of topics in the fields of security, international affairs, public policy, and politics. Many full-text articles are available; click the PDF or the check for full-text link to locate them!
- Social Sciences Premium Collection (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowScholarly and professional citations and abstracts with full text links to materials in government, politics and public policy, international affairs, criminology, and sociology. Professional society databases included.
New to the NU Library? Create your personal login for access to digital editions of the New York Times, Financial Times, and Wall Street Journal. Nikkei Asia is also available.
Hover over the titles below for registration instructions.
- Access World NewsInternational and domestic news coverage. Dates vary by title, but some sources go back to the late 1970’s. On the Access World News homepage, you’ll find an International Studies portal.
- Boston Globe, Current and Historical, 1872-Use for current or historical research (Boston Strangler, Jack the Ripper, Sacco and Vanzetti, etc.)
- EconomistThe Economist is a weekly international news and business publication, offering clear reporting, commentary and analysis on world current affairs, business, finance, science and technology, culture, society, media and the arts. The online edition features content from 1997 to the present. (Audio and Apps sections are not included in our subscription.)
- Financial TimesIndividuals must register with a Northeastern or @nchlondon.ac.uk email address to create a personal account.
- ForeignPolicy.comExcellent source for keeping up with events around the world. Current issues and an archive.
- MERIP (Middle East Research and Information Project)Information and analysis of the Middle East including the Middle East Report, which provides news and analysis not generally found in mainstream sources.
- Mideast WireProvides daily English-language summaries of key political, cultural, economic, and opinion pieces produced by the media in 22 Arab countries, Iran, and the Arab Diaspora.
- New York TimesCurrent and archival access to the New York Times. Access requires registration with a Northeastern email address. Once registered, users can log in directly at https://www.nytimes.com.
- PressReaderNewspapers and magazines from over 60 countries, many in their original languages (translation of some titles available). Great resource for anyone planning to travel or study abroad!
- Project Syndicate: The World's Opinion PageProject Syndicate describes itself as a "leading provider of expert commentary and analysis on a range of global issues - economics, politics, international affairs, education, global health and development, science, society, and culture." Current coverage is supported by an archive which covers materials from 1997 onwards.
- Wall Street JournalThe Wall Street Journal provides leading news, information, commentary and analysis focused on business, finance, and political economy. INDIVIDUAL REGISTRATION USING AN NU EMAIL ADDRESS IS REQUIRED! For historic WSJ content dating back to 1985, please use Factiva.
- Try these few basic tips and tricks to improve search results. For additional help, check out our Tutorials on searching!
- Don't limit search results to full-text articles only! Use the library branded "check for full-text" links to locate texts.
- Where available and appropriate, do limit searches to retrieve only peer-reviewed articles.
- Put several similar terms together to increase search results, using the connector "or"...displaced person or refugee; human trafficking or forced labor.
- Use additional terms to reduce search results; use the connector "and" micro-finance and development or human trafficking and prevention.
- Too many results? Try placing "quotation marks" around phrases. Many search engines, look for the individual words as well as the phrases; these search engines include Scholar OneSearch, Google Scholar, JSTOR, and Social Science Premium among others.
- Use truncation (usually *) to retrieve different word endings global* = global, globally, globalize, globalization, globalisation, etc.
Need more help?
Please e-mail Roxanne Palmatier, library contact for Political Science, Security and Resilience, Security and Intelligence Studies, International Affairs, and the Policy School.