Systematic/Evidence Synthesis
There are many types of reviews. It can be challenging to decide which fits your research best. A few of the more common ones are described below. Links to the referenced articles are included at the bottom and contain more information about additional typesl
Literature (Narrative) Review:
- "Generic term: published materials that provide examination of recent or current literature. Can cover wide range of subjects at various levels of completeness and comprehensiveness. May include research findings map" (Grant, 2009)
Rapid Review:
- "A form of knowledge synthesis in which components of the systematic review process are simplified or omitted to produce information in a timely manner" (Tricco, 2015). Rapid reviews first emerged as a tool for health policy decision-makers.
Scoping Review:
- "Preliminary assessment of potential size and scope of available research literature. Aims to identify nature and extent of research evidence (usually including ongoing research)" (Grant, 2009)
Systematic Review:
- Seeks to systematically search for, appraise and synthesis research evidence, often adhering to guidelines on the conduct of a review
- A typology of reviews: an analysis of 14 review types and associated methodologiesMaria J. Grant, Andrew Booth, 2009
- A scoping review of rapid review methodsAndrea C. Tricco et al, 2015
Tools for Conducting Reviews
Are you considering conducting a type of systematic review but not sure which one fits?
If you are a student, you may find that some types will not fit the time frame you have. There are tools to help you decide as well as resources to guide you through the process.
Get Started: Plan, Prepare, Organize
- Right Review Tool
Questions help determine which review is right for you. Choose Quantitative or Qualitative, then answer the questions.
Preferred Reporting Items for Systematic reviews and Meta-Analyses (PRISMA)
- PRISMA reporting and guidelineschecklists, flow diagrams and guidance
see extensions for Scoping Reviews and other types instead of the formal Systematic Review - PRISMA-ScR for Scoping ReviewsTip Sheets
The checklist contains 20 essential reporting items and 2 optional items to include when completing a scoping review.
Support for resource criteria and selection
- CovidenceCovidence is a web-based evidence synthesis support tool. Covidence assists in screening references, data extraction, and keeping track of your work. It is particularly useful for researchers conducting systematic reviews, scoping reviews, and other evidence syntheses. Covidence requires registration with a Northeastern email address. If you already have an account, please Sign In.
Database Selection
Choosing which database to search is dependent on a few things.
- What field or subject area is the primary focus, align that with database coverage.
- What databases do you have access to? Unfortunately, much of the literature is behind a paywall. Institutions do not all have the same subscriptions. It is important to know, however, that publications can be found in many different ones.
Commonly used databases for health sciences topics.
- PubMed (NU customized) This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive source of journal literature in the life sciences and biomedicine from the National Library of Medicine. Includes selected full text from PubMed Central, and NCBI Bookshelf. PubMed is a free web resource, however this version contains links to Northeastern-subscribed journals that require a login.
- CINAHL Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts of scholarly, peer-reviewed articles and professional association news and information for thousands of publications. Covers nursing and 17 allied health disciplines, going as far back as 1937. Links to PDFs or full text for Northeastern-subscribed journals.
- Embase (Elsevier) This link opens in a new windowAn up-to-date biomedical research database covering the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day. Structured and natural language searching.
- Full Database Options through NU LIbrariesYou may need to look in academic, legal or other subject areas depending on your topic. Explore the full list of available databases.